Author Topic: announce server down?  (Read 7424 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 5045

announce server down?
« on: January 23, 2016, 02:52:25 PM »
Seems that the announce server is down since yesterday.

Offline DrSuperGood

Re: announce server down?
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2016, 07:30:20 PM »
Link appears broken for me as well.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8764
  • Total likes: 307
  • Helpful: 229
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: announce server down?
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2016, 10:22:19 PM »
Not sure what happened, but after restart things are back to working order.

Offline Yona-TYT

Re: announce server down?
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2016, 02:08:48 AM »
I think down again. ???

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 15553
  • Total likes: 382
  • Helpful: 172
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: announce server down?
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2016, 06:03:11 PM »
It is down for me, too: "server not found" error.
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8764
  • Total likes: 307
  • Helpful: 229
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: announce server down?
« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2016, 09:29:27 PM »
The listserver (on 5.135.125.166) is up an running uninterrupted since 23rd Jan. I think the DNS is again messed up.

Offline Isaac.Eiland-Hall

  • Benevolent Dictator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3418
  • Total likes: 292
  • Helpful: 90
  • PanamaCityPC.com/support/
    • Facebook Profile
  • Languages: EN
Re: announce server down?
« Reply #6 on: June 13, 2016, 02:35:16 AM »
Timothy is listed as sole contact. Nameservers point to something that's not hosted by me. I'm not sure where it's pointing.

Simutrans.org is live but blank.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8764
  • Total likes: 307
  • Helpful: 229
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: announce server down?
« Reply #7 on: June 13, 2016, 08:47:05 PM »
I host the serverlist. BUt I have no DNS, simutrasn.org just points to n11.mesqui... as simutrasn.com

Offline Isaac.Eiland-Hall

  • Benevolent Dictator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3418
  • Total likes: 292
  • Helpful: 90
  • PanamaCityPC.com/support/
    • Facebook Profile
  • Languages: EN
Re: announce server down?
« Reply #8 on: June 14, 2016, 09:55:26 AM »
Huh. That implies that something happened to the zone somewhere. I'm sorry. :(

Well, let me recreate it then — what IP should it point to, and which subdomains? I assume simutrans.org, www.simutrans.org, servers.simutrans.org — anything else?

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 15553
  • Total likes: 382
  • Helpful: 172
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: announce server down?
« Reply #9 on: June 14, 2016, 10:00:59 AM »
It seems to be back online in any event now.
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline River

Re: announce server down?
« Reply #10 on: July 29, 2016, 08:55:38 PM »
the server seems to be down again

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8764
  • Total likes: 307
  • Helpful: 229
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: announce server down?
« Reply #11 on: July 29, 2016, 11:38:19 PM »
There was an unscheduled server mainenance running through the datacentre announce for last Saturday. Maybe they tool longer. In any case, restarted.

Offline DrSuperGood

Re: announce server down?
« Reply #12 on: August 30, 2016, 01:57:57 AM »
Announcement server is down for me. Simutrans forums also seem to have periodic outage periods. Can someone confirm?

Offline Isaac.Eiland-Hall

  • Benevolent Dictator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3418
  • Total likes: 292
  • Helpful: 90
  • PanamaCityPC.com/support/
    • Facebook Profile
  • Languages: EN
Re: announce server down?
« Reply #13 on: August 30, 2016, 03:17:37 AM »
Simutrans forums also seem to have periodic outage periods. Can someone confirm?

Something is periodically causing high load across the entire server. Have the server management company monitoring it (in theory) to try and help figure out WTF.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 15553
  • Total likes: 382
  • Helpful: 172
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: announce server down?
« Reply #14 on: August 31, 2016, 10:13:02 PM »
I have noticed the outages. Overall usage seems to have increased in recent months, which seems to correlate with the Steam release, although I am not sure whether that accounts for the high loading.
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline Isaac.Eiland-Hall

  • Benevolent Dictator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3418
  • Total likes: 292
  • Helpful: 90
  • PanamaCityPC.com/support/
    • Facebook Profile
  • Languages: EN
Re: announce server down?
« Reply #15 on: September 05, 2016, 01:11:39 AM »
The load issues were apparently due to images being uploaded and manipulated on other sites hosted on the server.

Meanwhile, we are now on a new dedicated server, and hopefully that will all be resolved.

I have yet to have any simutrans site be the source of any problems (at least not that I recall). :)

Offline DrSuperGood

Re: announce server down?
« Reply #16 on: September 06, 2016, 12:06:09 AM »
Announcement server for multiplayer still seems down. Both forum link and in game.

Offline Isaac.Eiland-Hall

  • Benevolent Dictator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3418
  • Total likes: 292
  • Helpful: 90
  • PanamaCityPC.com/support/
    • Facebook Profile
  • Languages: EN
Re: announce server down?
« Reply #17 on: September 06, 2016, 03:06:42 AM »
It looks to me like DNS on the server is set up correctly: http://i.imgur.com/NakVX9R.png

Is the announcement server itself down?

Offline DrSuperGood

Re: announce server down?
« Reply #18 on: September 06, 2016, 04:49:09 AM »
The forum link to it gives a "cannot reach this page" error. This is different from the recent DNS error since that produced a domain does not exist error from the DNS.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2016, 02:59:07 PM by DrSuperGood »

Offline TurfIt

Re: announce server down?
« Reply #19 on: September 06, 2016, 09:42:13 AM »
Standard listing works for me. Experminental gives a heroku error as it's not been rehosted yet.

Offline DrSuperGood

Re: announce server down?
« Reply #20 on: September 06, 2016, 03:04:06 PM »
Standard list still gives me "cannot reach this page" error and stalls loading the lobby list until the connection times out (and no games are found as the list could not be reached). Experimental gives me the heroku error.

Offline TurfIt

Re: announce server down?
« Reply #21 on: September 06, 2016, 07:31:05 PM »
Still working here. Is it pingable for you?
I believe prissi mentioned his provider disabled IPv6 (since they're apparently incompetent...) so IPv4 only, and http only, not https.
Code: [Select]
Tracing route to servers.simutrans.org [5.135.125.166] over a maximum of 30 hops
...
 12    96 ms    95 ms    95 ms  rdb-1-f10.routers.chtix.eu [91.121.128.6]
 13     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 14    97 ms    97 ms   309 ms  be50-7.gra-3a-a9.fr.eu [37.187.231.88]
 15    96 ms    94 ms    95 ms  pm2-host.1awww.com [149.202.91.7]
 16    94 ms    94 ms    94 ms  5.135.125.166

Offline DrSuperGood

Re: announce server down?
« Reply #22 on: September 06, 2016, 09:16:55 PM »
Code: [Select]
C:\WINDOWS\system32>tracert servers.simutrans.org
Tracing route to servers.simutrans.org [5.135.125.166]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  *PRIVATE*
  2     2 ms     1 ms     2 ms  *PRIVATE*
  3     7 ms     6 ms     6 ms  217.32.142.101
  4     7 ms     7 ms     6 ms  217.32.142.126
  5    13 ms    13 ms    13 ms  213.120.158.226
  6    13 ms    13 ms    13 ms  213.120.162.65
  7    15 ms    15 ms    15 ms  31.55.165.107
  8    14 ms    13 ms    12 ms  acc1-10GigE-7-2-0.mr.21cn-ipp.bt.net [109.159.250.96]
  9    22 ms    23 ms    21 ms  109.159.255.219
 10    23 ms    21 ms    21 ms  peer5-te0-0-0-12.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.254.245]
 11     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 12    24 ms    24 ms    24 ms  be10-1193.gra-g1-a9.fr.eu [91.121.128.90]
 13    23 ms    23 ms    23 ms  vac4-0-a9.fr.eu [37.187.36.209]
 14    22 ms    23 ms    22 ms  vac4-1-n9.fr.eu.firewall [37.187.36.169]
 15    23 ms    23 ms    23 ms  vac4-2-n9.fr.eu.tilera [37.187.36.231]
 16    24 ms    23 ms    23 ms  vac4-3-n9.fr.eu [37.187.36.233]
 17    22 ms    23 ms    23 ms  po16.gra-g1-a75.fr.eu [91.121.131.245]
 18    26 ms    24 ms    24 ms  be50-5.gra-3a-a9.fr.eu [37.187.231.86]
 19    23 ms    23 ms    23 ms  pm2-host.1awww.com [149.202.91.7]
 20     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 21     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 22     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 23     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 24     *        *        *     Request timed out.
...
The server seems to be refusing my connection?

I only have IPv4 due to BT still not having rolled out the service to consumers or activated their IPv6 bridge.

I will try to rule out if it is this computer or my local network.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2016, 11:20:15 PM by DrSuperGood »

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8764
  • Total likes: 307
  • Helpful: 229
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: announce server down?
« Reply #23 on: September 07, 2016, 06:06:47 AM »
The serverlist server is on very cheap (around 12€ a year) and I am not sure the code can handle IPv6 (it has not tested, I think). I can enable IPv6 if desired. Given that the forum and most download sources are not reachable by IPv6 either, I did not bothered yet.

And yes, it worked fine for me for fro UK, finland and Japan (just traveling).

Offline DrSuperGood

Re: announce server down?
« Reply #24 on: September 07, 2016, 03:22:28 PM »
Quote
I can enable IPv6 if desired.
My ISP has no IPv6 support. All the hardware they role out apparently does support it, but they never turned any of it on for now so IPv6 is disabled and IPv4 is used.

Quote
And yes, it worked fine for me for fro UK, finland and Japan (just traveling).
Could it be a possible blocked IP address? I will try getting a new IP address by restarting my router later. If that fails then this would have to be a blanket block of BT IP addresses.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8764
  • Total likes: 307
  • Helpful: 229
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: announce server down?
« Reply #25 on: September 08, 2016, 07:50:16 AM »
Ok, in UK it worked from Cambridge University (Janet) and talktalk.

Offline DrSuperGood

Re: announce server down?
« Reply #26 on: September 09, 2016, 05:22:35 AM »
I tried with a different BT IP address to no success.
I tried when directly connected to the router with no success.
I tried using a different computer with no success.

I actually managed to get a response back from the server... After 2 imaginary hops?!
Code: [Select]
Tracing route to servers.simutrans.org [5.135.125.166]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  home.gateway.home.gateway [PRIVATE]
  2     2 ms     1 ms     1 ms  BThomehub.home [PRIVATE]
  3     6 ms     6 ms     7 ms  217.32.142.101
  4     6 ms     6 ms     6 ms  217.32.142.126
  5    13 ms    13 ms    13 ms  213.120.158.226
  6    13 ms    12 ms    13 ms  31.55.165.59
  7    13 ms    13 ms    14 ms  31.55.165.107
  8    12 ms    12 ms    12 ms  acc1-10GigE-3-2-0.mr.21cn-ipp.bt.net [109.159.250.104]
  9    23 ms    21 ms    22 ms  core2-te0-3-0-14.ilford.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.250.30]
 10    20 ms    20 ms    20 ms  peer5-te0-10-0-13.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net [62.172.102.37]
 11     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 12    23 ms    24 ms    24 ms  be10-1193.gra-g1-a9.fr.eu [91.121.128.90]
 13    24 ms    24 ms    23 ms  vac4-0-a9.fr.eu [37.187.36.209]
 14    23 ms    23 ms    23 ms  vac4-1-n9.fr.eu.firewall [37.187.36.169]
 15    26 ms    26 ms    25 ms  vac4-2-n9.fr.eu.tilera [37.187.36.231]
 16    22 ms    22 ms    22 ms  vac4-3-n9.fr.eu [37.187.36.233]
 17    22 ms    23 ms    23 ms  po16.gra-g1-a75.fr.eu [91.121.131.245]
 18    25 ms    24 ms    23 ms  be50-5.gra-3a-a9.fr.eu [37.187.231.86]
 19    23 ms    23 ms    23 ms  pm2-host.1awww.com [149.202.91.7] <- according to other traces this should be last stop before server
 20     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 21     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 22    24 ms    23 ms    23 ms  5.135.125.166

Trace complete.
This means that during the tests for 20 and 21 the server was not responding, then when test 22 started it suddenly responded.

I then immediately reran the trace and got this...
Code: [Select]
Tracing route to servers.simutrans.org [5.135.125.166]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  home.gateway.home.gateway [PRIVATE]
  2     2 ms     1 ms     1 ms  BThomehub.home [PRIVATE]
  3     6 ms     6 ms     6 ms  217.32.142.101
  4     7 ms     6 ms     6 ms  217.32.142.126
  5    13 ms    13 ms    13 ms  213.120.158.226
  6    13 ms    13 ms    12 ms  31.55.165.59
  7    13 ms    12 ms    13 ms  31.55.165.107
  8    12 ms    12 ms    12 ms  acc1-10GigE-3-2-0.mr.21cn-ipp.bt.net [109.159.250.104]
  9    21 ms    22 ms    21 ms  core2-te0-3-0-14.ilford.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.250.30]
 10    21 ms    20 ms    21 ms  peer5-te0-10-0-13.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net [62.172.102.37]
 11     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 12    28 ms    24 ms    24 ms  be10-1193.gra-g1-a9.fr.eu [91.121.128.90]
 13    24 ms    23 ms    24 ms  vac4-0-a9.fr.eu [37.187.36.209]
 14    23 ms    23 ms    23 ms  vac4-1-n9.fr.eu.firewall [37.187.36.169]
 15    25 ms    25 ms    25 ms  vac4-2-n9.fr.eu.tilera [37.187.36.231]
 16    22 ms    22 ms    22 ms  vac4-3-n9.fr.eu [37.187.36.233]
 17    22 ms    22 ms    22 ms  po16.gra-g1-a75.fr.eu [91.121.131.245]
 18    23 ms    24 ms    23 ms  be50-5.gra-3a-a9.fr.eu [37.187.231.86]
 19    23 ms    22 ms    22 ms  pm2-host.1awww.com [149.202.91.7]
 20     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 21     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 22     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 23     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 24     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 25     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 26     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 27     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 28     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 29     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 30     *        *        *     Request timed out.

Trace complete.
Which means the server stopped responding again. Something is not quite right here.

Edit:
I ran yet more tracert tests and once again it randomly responded, and then immediately stopped responding when the test was rerun.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2016, 02:28:10 PM by DrSuperGood »

Offline benjad

Re: announce server down?
« Reply #27 on: November 06, 2016, 09:16:14 PM »
Any updates?   

Check in with 120.1.3, and still no response from the server listing. 

Offline DrSuperGood

Re: announce server down?
« Reply #28 on: November 06, 2016, 09:31:06 PM »
Quote
Any updates?   
Turns out BT ISP got all its customers banned by the server centre that hosts the listing server due to a persistent DOS attack from botneted users without any response. This has been resolved and it works perfectly for me now, and hopefully all other users of BT ISP.

If it does not work for you then it is likely something similar. Either your local firewall/ISP is blocking, or your IP/IP range is banned.

Offline benjad

Re: announce server down?
« Reply #29 on: November 07, 2016, 02:15:17 AM »
If it is of any help:

Code: [Select]
Tracing route to 5.135.125.166 over a maximum of 30 hops

  1   118 ms    81 ms    56 ms  local
  2   176 ms    58 ms    30 ms  local
  3    17 ms    11 ms    10 ms  xe-1-1-0-sur01.oceancity.md.bad.comcast.net [68.85.170.233]
  4    89 ms    20 ms    32 ms  ae-44-0-ar01.capitolhghts.md.bad.comcast.net [69.139.175.249]
  5    18 ms    35 ms    20 ms  be-33657-cr02.ashburn.va.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.90.57]
  6    23 ms    23 ms    22 ms  be-10102-cr01.newark.nj.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.85.162]
  7    60 ms    56 ms    30 ms  be-10249-pe03.newark.nj.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.85.90]
  8    20 ms    32 ms    20 ms  be100-153.nwk-5-a9.nj.us [192.99.146.53]
  9    48 ms    44 ms    61 ms  be10-1018.bhs-g2-a9.qc.ca [192.99.146.101]
 10    51 ms   130 ms    45 ms  vac3-0-a9.qc.ca.vaccum [198.27.73.241]
 11    44 ms    46 ms    47 ms  vac3-1-n7.qc.ca.firewall [198.27.73.242]
 12    43 ms    53 ms    53 ms  vac3-2-n7.qc.ca.tilera [198.27.73.247]
 13    47 ms    51 ms    53 ms  vac3-3-n7.qc.ca [198.27.73.237]
 14     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 15    99 ms    98 ms   102 ms  rdb-1-f10.routers.chtix.eu [91.121.128.6]
 16     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 17   131 ms   104 ms    98 ms  be50-5.gra-3a-a9.fr.eu [37.187.231.86]
 18   117 ms   154 ms   107 ms  pm2-host.1awww.com [149.202.91.7]
 19     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 20     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 21     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 22     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 23     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 24     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 25     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 26     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 27     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 28     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 29     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 30     *        *        *     Request timed out.

Trace complete.

Offline DrSuperGood

Re: announce server down?
« Reply #30 on: November 07, 2016, 03:26:29 AM »
Quote
If it is of any help:
Similar to the one I got when blocked. As such unfortunately you might be on an IP that is blacklisted by the server.

I wonder if looking into proxy support within Simutrans would be worth it. At least for connecting to the server listing server via something like Tor.
« Last Edit: November 07, 2016, 06:16:24 AM by DrSuperGood »

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8764
  • Total likes: 307
  • Helpful: 229
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: announce server down?
« Reply #31 on: November 08, 2016, 09:56:46 PM »
The blackliste IPs are found here: http://www.anti-attacks.com/download/black_list.txt The IP the server recorded of banjad (which is apparently from comcast) is not on this list.

Offline DrSuperGood

Re: announce server down?
« Reply #32 on: November 08, 2016, 10:27:03 PM »
Then maybe a firewall somewhere else? Because the server should return pings...

Code: [Select]
Tracing route to 5.135.125.166 over a maximum of 30 hops

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  home.gateway.home.gateway [192.168.2.254]
  2     2 ms     1 ms     1 ms  BThomehub.home [192.168.1.254]
  3     7 ms     6 ms     6 ms  217.32.142.101
  4     7 ms     6 ms     7 ms  217.32.142.126
  5    13 ms    12 ms    12 ms  213.120.158.226
  6    14 ms    13 ms    13 ms  213.120.162.65
  7    13 ms    13 ms    13 ms  31.55.165.107
  8    13 ms    12 ms    13 ms  acc1-10GigE-7-2-0.mr.21cn-ipp.bt.net [109.159.250.96]
  9    25 ms    21 ms    22 ms  core1-te0-0-0-17.ealing.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.250.24]
 10    23 ms    22 ms    23 ms  peer5-te0-0-0-10.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.254.239]
 11     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 12    30 ms    26 ms    25 ms  be10-1193.gra-g1-a9.fr.eu [91.121.128.90]
 13    26 ms    26 ms    26 ms  vac4-0-a9.fr.eu [37.187.36.209]
 14    26 ms    26 ms    26 ms  vac4-1-n9.fr.eu.firewall [37.187.36.169]
 15    29 ms    29 ms    29 ms  vac4-2-n9.fr.eu.tilera [37.187.36.231]
 16    25 ms    25 ms    25 ms  vac4-3-n9.fr.eu [37.187.36.233]
 17    25 ms    25 ms    25 ms  po16.gra-g2-a75.fr.eu [91.121.131.247]
 18    25 ms    25 ms    25 ms  be50-7.gra-3a-a9.fr.eu [37.187.231.88]
 19    25 ms    25 ms    25 ms  pm2-host.1awww.com [149.202.91.7]
 20    25 ms    25 ms    26 ms  5.135.125.166

Trace complete.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8764
  • Total likes: 307
  • Helpful: 229
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: announce server down?
« Reply #33 on: November 08, 2016, 11:16:34 PM »
Well I need the exact IP number because the one this forum registered is not blocked. Ping may be blocked by certain ISPs, i.e. does only work inside their net.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8764
  • Total likes: 307
  • Helpful: 229
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: announce server down?
« Reply #34 on: November 10, 2016, 11:56:21 PM »
Ok, I have for tests an IPv6 for the serverlist: 2001:41d0:1004:b07::0234 Please test it, if you are IPv6 enabled (I am not, unfourtunately).