News:

Use the "Forum Search"
It may help you to find anything in the forum ;).

Blender 2.8

Started by jamespetts, January 15, 2020, 11:51:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jamespetts

I notice that Blender 2.8 has been released. This is a major upgrade to Blender. One of the particular changes is the removal of the internal rendering engine and its replacement with Eevee.

So far, I have been unable to get the Simutrans automatic rendering scripts working with Eevee, although I am no expert in Blender scripting. I have posted a message about this on the Blender forums here.

Has anyone who uses Blender for rendering Simutrans objects been able to use 2.8? I could simply continue using 2.7, but I fear that there will eventually come a time when this is no longer compatible with modern computers and I should rather not be left behind if possible.
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Matthew

I looked into this last year and my heart sank. My understanding is that not only the Blender Internal scripts, but also the models themselves (particularly materials and textures) are incompatible with Eevee. So switching to Eevee (or Cycles) would mean that we couldn't re-use anything from the existing Blend files. We are indeed stuck in a dead end.

It's a shame, because the Blender 2.80 GUI appears to be a great improvement over earlier versions. It even selects with left-click by default!

Ever since I came across Blender, I have had the impression that it's run like a cult by someone with narcissistic personality disorder. I know that's harsh, but it's not just me who finds it difficult:

The "Why is Blender so easy to learn" thread is sarcasm, of course.