Author Topic: Changing km/tile value  (Read 516 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline killwater

Changing km/tile value
« on: December 16, 2016, 09:32:53 PM »
Hello
I would like to play with a setting 45m/tile. Unfortunately I cannot find the setting. I plan to play the precompiled experimental and pak128ex. Will it brake the balance (especially physics? as I will be mostly playing with public player, but I do not want the buses to crawl up the hills)?

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 15348
  • Total likes: 368
  • Helpful: 164
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Changing km/tile value
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2016, 11:23:39 PM »
The setting is meters_per_tile = 125 (where 125 is the default value which can be changed). Changing the meters_per_tile value will indeed affect the balance in many ways (e.g. with respect to passenger generation), so do this with caution (although I do not think that it should affect physics, save that vehicles will take more tiles in which to accelerate, as the acceleration is calibrated by meters).

Note that this setting can only be changed for new games, and cannot be changed once a game has been started.
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline Vladki

Re: Changing km/tile value
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2016, 11:24:10 AM »
Is there a way to find the setting for current game. E.g. if I find some old savegame and want to play it?

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 15348
  • Total likes: 368
  • Helpful: 164
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Changing km/tile value
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2016, 11:26:36 AM »
To display the current scale value, go to the minimap and select "Show map scale".
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline killwater

Re: Changing km/tile value
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2016, 10:34:39 PM »
Thank you for the information. I did not however anticipated how huge task is making a 'realistic' map. Creating the rivers, lakes and sea would take tens of hours by itself.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 15348
  • Total likes: 368
  • Helpful: 164
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Changing km/tile value
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2016, 10:36:14 PM »
Thank you for the information. I did not however anticipated how huge task is making a 'realistic' map. Creating the rivers, lakes and sea would take tens of hours by itself.

Yes - sadly, the in-built river system does not work very well with heightmaps so as to put rivers in sensible places.
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.