Author Topic: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe  (Read 1560 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline fam621

James, how can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe for the latest development builds? :)

Offline Vladki

Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2017, 10:03:02 PM »
Linux server binary is available at server.exp.simutrans.org. I don't know about any server builds for windows




Offline fam621

Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2017, 06:06:04 PM »
I am using windows, will linux software work with Windows 10? Also can you link me it, because I cant find it when I go on the website.

Offline Vladki

Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2017, 06:40:06 PM »
It will not work in Windows.




Offline Ves

Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2017, 09:13:55 PM »
Which vcxproj file is the server version (not home so cannot check)?

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 15369
  • Total likes: 368
  • Helpful: 165
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2017, 01:31:57 PM »
They all use the same vcxproj file, but they use different build configurations for debug/release/command line server.

And, Fam621, you can run a server without using a special build: just add a shortcut with the "-server" flag set. The command line server is for running unattended on remotely hosted servers that have no graphical interface (and also saves CPU time by not displaying any graphics).
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline fam621

Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #6 on: February 04, 2017, 05:46:09 PM »
How do I do that?

Offline yorkeiser

Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2017, 06:23:55 PM »
- Open a dos prompt (start button -> run -> type "cmd")
- From there go to simutrans' path (e.g. if you installed simutrans in c:\games\simutrans, type "cd c:\games\simutrans"
- Run simutrans with server option flag. e.g type: "simutrans -server 1234" where "1234" is the port on which you want your server listen for connections

You'll probably have to add an exception for simutrans.exe on your windows firewall, otherwise it will block incoming connections

Offline fam621

Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #8 on: February 04, 2017, 08:58:33 PM »
I am having trouble doing so.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 15369
  • Total likes: 368
  • Helpful: 165
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #9 on: February 04, 2017, 10:00:18 PM »
That is unfortunate.

(If you would like anyone to help you with this trouble, incidentally, you will need to give full details; otherwise, we can do no more than sympathise).
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline fam621

Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #10 on: February 04, 2017, 10:04:26 PM »
- Open a dos prompt (start button -> run -> type "cmd")
- From there go to simutrans' path (e.g. if you installed simutrans in c:\games\simutrans, type "cd c:\games\simutrans"
- Run simutrans with server option flag. e.g type: "simutrans -server 1234" where "1234" is the port on which you want your server listen for connections

You'll probably have to add an exception for simutrans.exe on your windows firewall, otherwise it will block incoming connections

The instructions above are quite hard to follow. Also, I do not know how to make shortcuts too. A third factor is that overall, I am not very good at these type of things. Question: Is there one that I could have please? :)

Offline Vladki

Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #11 on: February 04, 2017, 11:00:35 PM »
Omg, the instructions are just fine. Perhaps you should go and ask you IT teacher to give you extra lesson. 😎




Offline yorkeiser

Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #12 on: February 05, 2017, 11:19:45 AM »
The instructions above are quite hard to follow. Also, I do not know how to make shortcuts too. A third factor is that overall, I am not very good at these type of things. Question: Is there one that I could have please? :)

Sorry i don't know how to put it simpler... I'll try to let you create a .bat:
- Take note of the path where you "installed" simutrans (=where simutrans.exe is located on your hard drive, e.g. c:\users\fam621\simutrans)
- Create a new empty file on your desktop (right button -> create .txt file or something similar)
- Open that file with a text editor (notepad is ok)
- Write following line inside the file:
     c:\users\fam621\simutrans\simutrans.exe -server 54545
- This will open a simutrans server on port 54545, you can change the port number according to your needs
- Save the file and rename it with .bat extension (replace .txt by .bat)
- Double click and run the file
- Maybe when it starts, windows will prompt that a program is trying to open a port blocked by windows firewall: click the option to allow simutrans.exe bypass firewall

Offline fam621

Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #13 on: February 05, 2017, 03:28:56 PM »
Tried.
« Last Edit: February 05, 2017, 03:40:08 PM by fam621 »

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 15369
  • Total likes: 368
  • Helpful: 165
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #14 on: February 05, 2017, 03:35:06 PM »
Can you not just create a shortcut using Windows Explorer?
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline fam621

Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #15 on: February 05, 2017, 03:40:03 PM »
I created a shortcut, now what do I do? :)

Offline Ves

Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #16 on: February 05, 2017, 06:40:37 PM »
Fam might have done the right thing already, but I guess the name of the file (simutrans-experimental.exe) must match an existing file in the directory?
As I suspect Fam downloads my builds, they usually contains some additional characters at the end of the file (ie: Simutrans-Experimental_170203_37569a4.exe). Fam, if you do not rename them locally, make sure that the filename are the same in your batchfile as the actual files.

Offline fam621

Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #17 on: February 05, 2017, 06:58:13 PM »
Yes, I do have the builds with additional characters, BUT has you can see, it says it can not find the system specified, Ves. I have the .dll what it is crying about.

Offline Ves

Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #18 on: February 05, 2017, 07:02:20 PM »
Can you copy in the content of the batch file here in the forum?

Offline fam621

Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #19 on: February 05, 2017, 07:02:48 PM »
Whats the batch file?

Offline Ves

Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #20 on: February 05, 2017, 07:19:11 PM »
The file you made following the previous post that created the black window you showed the picture of. The file ends with .bat
Right click the file, press "edit" and copy in here the text.

Offline fam621

Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #21 on: February 05, 2017, 07:19:53 PM »
Which one do I change into a bat file?
« Last Edit: February 05, 2017, 08:07:01 PM by fam621 »

Offline Ves

Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #22 on: February 05, 2017, 07:30:30 PM »
Quote
- Take note of the path where you "installed" simutrans (=where simutrans.exe is located on your hard drive, e.g. c:\users\fam621\simutrans)
- Create a new empty file on your desktop (right button -> create .txt file or something similar)
- Open that file with a text editor (notepad is ok)
- Write following line inside the file:
     c:\users\fam621\simutrans\simutrans.exe -server 54545
- This will open a simutrans server on port 54545, you can change the port number according to your needs
- Save the file and rename it with .bat extension (replace .txt by .bat)
- Double click and run the file
- Maybe when it starts, windows will prompt that a program is trying to open a port blocked by windows firewall: click the option to allow simutrans.exe bypass firewall

I suppose you followed the above tutorial? If so, then you created a file which ended with .bat (which by the way is called a batch file). I am asking for a copy of what you wrote into that file, as that might give a hint of why it did not work.

Offline fam621

Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #23 on: February 05, 2017, 08:07:25 PM »
I dont know which file to make a .bat file.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 15369
  • Total likes: 368
  • Helpful: 165
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #24 on: February 05, 2017, 10:43:12 PM »
I created a shortcut, now what do I do? :)

You need to edit the properties of the shortcut to add "-server" after the filename in the "target" box under the "shortcut" tab (assuming that Windows 10 is the same as Windows 7 in this respect).
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline fam621

Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #25 on: February 06, 2017, 05:03:30 PM »
I am in the properties now, where do I put the -server command?

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 15369
  • Total likes: 368
  • Helpful: 165
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Where can you find Simutrans-Experimental-command-line-server.exe
« Reply #26 on: February 06, 2017, 09:34:00 PM »
Quote from: The last post
...after the filename in the "target" box under the "shortcut" tab (assuming that Windows 10 is the same as Windows 7 in this respect).
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.