Author Topic: pak128.Britain blend repositories  (Read 10882 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline The Hood

pak128.Britain blend repositories
« on: September 02, 2011, 10:28:48 AM »
I am in the process of uploading my blend files to github.  You can now get most blend files for pak128.Britain here:

https://github.com/JamesHood/pak128.Britain-blend-files

trains and lorries are with James Petts:

https://github.com/jamespetts/Pak128.Britain-blends

Hopefully this will be of use for anyone wanting to use blender to create more addons for pak128.Britain

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 15689
  • Total likes: 395
  • Helpful: 174
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: pak128.Britain blend repositories
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2012, 07:36:32 PM »
I cannot seem to find the .blends for signals here - "simple semaphore" appears to be just a red disc on a pole. Would you be able to upload them? I am hoping to produce left-handed signals and some tunnel signals.
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline The Hood

Re: pak128.Britain blend repositories
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2012, 09:03:08 PM »
Signals were drawn by hand in Gimp using fabio's pak128 ones as the starting point.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 15689
  • Total likes: 395
  • Helpful: 174
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: pak128.Britain blend repositories
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2012, 09:39:48 PM »
Ahh, I see - any tips as to how to make them left hand efficiently?
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline The Hood

Re: pak128.Britain blend repositories
« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2012, 05:06:01 PM »
There's not too many so it's probably not that big a job. The main things I would suggest are using layers and templates on different layers in GIMP.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8795
  • Total likes: 319
  • Helpful: 229
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: pak128.Britain blend repositories
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2012, 11:26:46 AM »
What was the reason for seperating the sources of of pak128.britain? You can access the sf archive also via git?

Offline neroden

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 831
  • Total likes: 0
  • Helpful: 28
  • Nathanael Nerode
Re: pak128.Britain blend repositories
« Reply #6 on: May 13, 2012, 09:39:26 PM »
I can't speak for TheHood, but doing it this way would make it easier for TheHood to incorporate other people's blends into his blend repository, since he can now do this with 'git pull'.

Offline The Hood

Re: pak128.Britain blend repositories
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2012, 09:38:38 PM »
What was the reason for seperating the sources of of pak128.britain? You can access the sf archive also via git?
Firstly, I understood that github had a greater filespace allowance for the large blend files. Secondly I thought (but may well be incorrect here) that you or someone else on the Dev Team had said some time when I started uploading pak128.Britain to Sourceforge that blend files shouldn't be included there. Is there any particular reason I should be using one or the other? It happened this way almost by accident...


I can't speak for TheHood, but doing it this way would make it easier for TheHood to incorporate other people's blends into his blend repository, since he can now do this with 'git pull'.
That would imply I know what I'm doing with Git. I don't! But it would be good to have a single place with my blends (which include all of keirongreen's that we still have the files for), jamespetts, and Milko's (and anyone else in future). I think that's possible, but I don't know how.

Offline Junna

Re: pak128.Britain blend repositories
« Reply #8 on: June 29, 2013, 09:13:13 PM »
The SR-cor-b.g.blend crashes blender when trying to load the file in latest version (2.67b)(I assume this is the middle car for the 4-COR). The 4-SUB seems to be missing windows and details appear out of their proper place.

Also, a few questions that I hope are not too out of place here: the images output from Blender, at least in the latest version, have the train/unit being far too large and close to the camera in the template (it's perhaps twice the size it ought to be.) The tutorial on how to make graphics does not specify particular camera settings, so I'm not sure how one would go ahead in this regard.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 15689
  • Total likes: 395
  • Helpful: 174
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: pak128.Britain blend repositories
« Reply #9 on: June 29, 2013, 09:33:35 PM »
Hmm - that's odd. They are normally set up correctly by default. Do you have this problem with all of the .blend files?
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline kierongreen

  • Dev Team, Coder/patcher
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2249
  • Total likes: 46
  • Helpful: 90
Re: pak128.Britain blend repositories
« Reply #10 on: June 29, 2013, 09:39:50 PM »
Strange, I run 2.63 here. I also get a crash with SR-cor-b.g. But the original files I have on this computer for SR-cor are much smaller than the ones from the repository, but appear identical and don't crash...

The 4-sub looks fine here? Regarding the cameraand render settings they are fine here - if it's an individual pak you should be able to copy camera and render settings from another file.

Offline Junna

Re: pak128.Britain blend repositories
« Reply #11 on: June 29, 2013, 09:48:01 PM »
Strange, I run 2.63 here. I also get a crash with SR-cor-b.g. But the original files I have on this computer for SR-cor are much smaller than the ones from the repository, but appear identical and don't crash...

The 4-sub looks fine here? Regarding the cameraand render settings they are fine here - if it's an individual pak you should be able to copy camera and render settings from another file.

I'm trying to set up for some recolouration/liveries. We got the recolouration done eventually, but the output was too large (128x128 size image, but the trains almost fill the entire image and thus do not conform to the pak128.britain scale.) I don't rightly know well what I'm doing, but how should I configure it to get the right size on the output?

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 15689
  • Total likes: 395
  • Helpful: 174
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: pak128.Britain blend repositories
« Reply #12 on: June 29, 2013, 10:00:08 PM »
Hmm - just checked: I also get that crash, using 2.65. Have you tried previewing using the F12 key? Do the vehicles appear to be the correct size there?
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline Junna

Re: pak128.Britain blend repositories
« Reply #13 on: June 29, 2013, 10:12:01 PM »
Hmm - just checked: I also get that crash, using 2.65. Have you tried previewing using the F12 key? Do the vehicles appear to be the correct size there?

F12 is the render key, but would it not be very hard to make sure it gets the exact same proportions just manually fiddling with the camera view? Is there no way to get a consistent setting for a model?

Offline kierongreen

  • Dev Team, Coder/patcher
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2249
  • Total likes: 46
  • Helpful: 90
Re: pak128.Britain blend repositories
« Reply #14 on: June 29, 2013, 10:19:13 PM »

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 15689
  • Total likes: 395
  • Helpful: 174
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: pak128.Britain blend repositories
« Reply #15 on: June 29, 2013, 10:31:53 PM »
Kieron - thank you. I have uploaded your version to the repository.

Junna - it is already a constant size for me. Do you render manually with F12/F3, or do you use the render scripts? I only use F12 for a render preview. Are all the vehicles that you load the wrong size?
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline Junna

Re: pak128.Britain blend repositories
« Reply #16 on: June 29, 2013, 11:12:11 PM »

Junna - it is already a constant size for me. Do you render manually with F12/F3, or do you use the render scripts? I only use F12 for a render preview. Are all the vehicles that you load the wrong size?

Just been using manual savings of images. Happens to all, too. Don't know what render scripts are or now they work.

Camera location is: X: 10.00000 Y: 10.00000 and Z: 11.60000

Looking like this in render:


Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 15689
  • Total likes: 395
  • Helpful: 174
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: pak128.Britain blend repositories
« Reply #17 on: June 29, 2013, 11:25:48 PM »
That is extremely odd. I wonder whether it's an issue of compatibility with the newer version of Blender? Can you see if you can get hold of 2.65 and see whether it works with that?

Incidentally, you can download the render script here.

Are you using the same yellow/blue colour as in other BR liveried vehicles? You might also want to put a small white square plane on the bodyside to give the impression of the BR logo.

It is lovely to see people work on additional liveries, however!
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline kierongreen

  • Dev Team, Coder/patcher
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2249
  • Total likes: 46
  • Helpful: 90
Re: pak128.Britain blend repositories
« Reply #18 on: June 29, 2013, 11:40:48 PM »
Also the render settings on the roof aren't correct - if you search the forum you should find the tweak you need to make for it to be lit consistently.

Offline Junna

Re: pak128.Britain blend repositories
« Reply #19 on: June 29, 2013, 11:44:36 PM »
Also the render settings on the roof aren't correct - if you search the forum you should find the tweak you need to make for it to be lit consistently.

Been looking a bit, as I seemed to remember it, but I couldn't find it. I'll see what I can find.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 15689
  • Total likes: 395
  • Helpful: 174
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: pak128.Britain blend repositories
« Reply #20 on: June 29, 2013, 11:56:18 PM »
What you need to do is select the roof segments, go into edit mode, select all ("a"), go to mesh>faces>shade flat. You need to repeat that for both roof segments on this vehicle.
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline Junna

Re: pak128.Britain blend repositories
« Reply #21 on: June 30, 2013, 01:40:57 AM »
Well, no matter what we try - we tried both 2.63 and 2.65, we can't get it to be in the right place. The camera is simply too close to the object to render it at the desired proportion.

To test, this is BR 304 appended (excluding cameras and spheres, etc - tried with, too, but there was no improvement) to the template and rendered with no other changes:



And finally, a new attempt at the 4-COR (fixed the roof, at least...). But it's still the wrong proportions.



We're obviously doing something wrong here, but we're having trouble wrapping our heads around it. Do we need to change settings for the camera, and if so, to what?

Offline kierongreen

  • Dev Team, Coder/patcher
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2249
  • Total likes: 46
  • Helpful: 90
Re: pak128.Britain blend repositories
« Reply #22 on: June 30, 2013, 06:47:19 AM »
Is the camera orthographic scale set to 24?

Offline Junna

Re: pak128.Britain blend repositories
« Reply #23 on: June 30, 2013, 07:22:08 AM »
Is the camera orthographic scale set to 24?

Ah, that was the issue. It was set to 12. It works now! Thank you.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 15689
  • Total likes: 395
  • Helpful: 174
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: pak128.Britain blend repositories
« Reply #24 on: June 30, 2013, 11:47:15 AM »
Have you had any luck with the rendering scripts yet? It is vastly easier and quicker to use those than to render manually. I also recommend the use of Image Masker.
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.