Author Topic: IF you run a server with announce, please set your IP/name accordingly  (Read 1763 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8762
  • Total likes: 306
  • Helpful: 229
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
I have set up a serverlist again (for standard for the moment, until I can figure out how to run two instances on the same server without interfering one with the other). However, I noticed there are serveral announcements with invalid IP number. So if you run a local server, please switch off announcements. Or make sure your server has its correct IP/DNS set.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 15551
  • Total likes: 382
  • Helpful: 172
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: IF you run a server with announce, please set your IP/name accordingly
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2015, 10:06:33 PM »
It is splendid that this is going again, although it seems to be down at the moment (assuming that it is correctly at http://servers.simutrans.org/).
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8762
  • Total likes: 306
  • Helpful: 229
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: IF you run a server with announce, please set your IP/name accordingly
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2015, 10:23:54 AM »
Yeah, it seems to crash randomly. It ran for hours yesterday though.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 15551
  • Total likes: 382
  • Helpful: 172
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: IF you run a server with announce, please set your IP/name accordingly
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2015, 10:28:16 AM »
Ah, it is back now! Splendid. Do you think that you might be able to set up the server for Experimental too by the end of the year or so?
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8762
  • Total likes: 306
  • Helpful: 229
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: IF you run a server with announce, please set your IP/name accordingly
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2015, 01:05:21 PM »
I think this needs a second server. Not sure if you can redirect DNS to IPs with different prot numbers. If yes, then I can easily set up two of them.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 15551
  • Total likes: 382
  • Helpful: 172
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: IF you run a server with announce, please set your IP/name accordingly
« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2015, 11:40:56 PM »
I must confess, my knowledge of networking does not stretch this far. Do you have any idea how it used to be done before the servers went down?
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline DrSuperGood

Re: IF you run a server with announce, please set your IP/name accordingly
« Reply #6 on: October 21, 2015, 11:57:37 PM »
Quote
I think this needs a second server. Not sure if you can redirect DNS to IPs with different prot numbers. If yes, then I can easily set up two of them.
DNS servers should return IP addresses and not ports.

The simplest solution I would imagine is that Experimental be migrated to communicate server listings on a different port from standard (offset by 1?). That way you can run both on the same server.

A better solution would be to unify the listing between standard and experimental with a protocol. They both use the same listing server and the server then separates them.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 15551
  • Total likes: 382
  • Helpful: 172
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: IF you run a server with announce, please set your IP/name accordingly
« Reply #7 on: October 22, 2015, 09:28:47 PM »
I am happy to implement any necessary changes in the code of Experimental to allow either of these things, although I am afraid that I do not know enough about the low level elements of networking to write them myself.
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8762
  • Total likes: 306
  • Helpful: 229
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: IF you run a server with announce, please set your IP/name accordingly
« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2015, 09:58:36 PM »
The different port address is not so much an issue as the webserver to display the results (since those are usually bound to port 80). If I find some time, I may try to hack experimetnal support into it; the source are open, so any Javascript expert may be able to do this even faster than me.