Author Topic: Password for nettool  (Read 2623 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline moblet

Password for nettool
« on: December 30, 2014, 08:48:52 AM »
I've downloaded nettool from here. I've never used it before. I can't run any commands because it asks for a password and it won't accept either my Linux user password or the game's public player/spectator passwords. Any ideas?

Also, the program identifies itself as being for Experimental. Will it also administer v120.0.1 games?

Offline Ters

  • Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4734
  • Total likes: 181
  • Helpful: 108
  • Languages: EN, NO
Re: Password for nettool
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2014, 09:27:31 AM »
Experimental will likely only be for experimental.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 15557
  • Total likes: 383
  • Helpful: 172
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Password for nettool
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2014, 11:19:21 AM »
You will need the Standard version of nettool to run with Standard.

Edit: Although, I notice that Moblet's link did not say that it was for Experimental. I wonder whether Vonjo has linked to an Experimental version in error...?
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline moblet

Re: Password for nettool
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2014, 08:10:55 PM »
Where do I find nettool for Standard? If it's available for download then it should be listed in the Tools & Resources section on the Simutrans website.

Offline Dwachs

  • DevTeam, Coder/patcher
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 4235
  • Total likes: 170
  • Helpful: 149
  • Languages: EN, DE, AT
Re: Password for nettool
« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2015, 10:39:46 AM »
Server password can be set by command line  '-server_admin_pw bla' or in simuconf.tab 'server_admin_pw=bla'

Which version of nettool do you need?
Parsley, sage, rosemary, and maggikraut.

Offline moblet

Re: Password for nettool
« Reply #5 on: January 01, 2015, 10:41:37 AM »
Any version that will administer v120.0.1.

Offline Dwachs

  • DevTeam, Coder/patcher
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 4235
  • Total likes: 170
  • Helpful: 149
  • Languages: EN, DE, AT
Re: Password for nettool
« Reply #6 on: January 01, 2015, 10:45:15 AM »
Here is a windows build: http://simutrans-germany.com/files/upload/nettool.zip

Hope it works.
Parsley, sage, rosemary, and maggikraut.

Offline moblet

Re: Password for nettool
« Reply #7 on: January 01, 2015, 11:17:05 AM »
My server is on Linux, my other machines run Windows. Will I be able to administer games from a machine other than the server or must I run nettool on the server machine?

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 15557
  • Total likes: 383
  • Helpful: 172
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Password for nettool
« Reply #8 on: January 01, 2015, 11:30:16 AM »
I think that it's possible to administer it remotely, as nettool takes a server address parameter on the command line. I have not tried doing it remotely, though, as I always log into a terminal session to administer my server and run nettool from there.
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline moblet

Re: Password for nettool
« Reply #9 on: January 03, 2015, 07:01:23 AM »
Thanks all. I have it all working now.

Offline Ters

  • Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4734
  • Total likes: 181
  • Helpful: 108
  • Languages: EN, NO
Re: Password for nettool
« Reply #10 on: January 03, 2015, 10:34:05 AM »
This makes me wonder: Why isn't nettool part of a standard Simutrans distribution?

Offline moblet

Re: Password for nettool
« Reply #11 on: January 03, 2015, 10:34:02 PM »
If it's not included in distributions then it would be very helpful if it could be easily found and downloaded.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8766
  • Total likes: 307
  • Helpful: 229
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Password for nettool
« Reply #12 on: January 06, 2015, 09:31:48 PM »
The standard version also does not distribute a server, since a server is best compiled for either a 32 bit or 64 bit machine with whatever settings you like (DEBUG, or for vserver heavily optimised).

If you can compile a server, then compiling nettol is trivial.

Offline Ters

  • Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4734
  • Total likes: 181
  • Helpful: 108
  • Languages: EN, NO
Re: Password for nettool
« Reply #13 on: January 07, 2015, 06:18:29 AM »
The standard version also does not distribute a server, since a server is best compiled for either a 32 bit or 64 bit machine with whatever settings you like (DEBUG, or for vserver heavily optimised).

If you can compile a server, then compiling nettol is trivial.

It's just that I get the impression playing multiplayer games is popular also among people who are not developers. And that people may want to set up private games. There is, or was, a concurrent discussion about making it easier to set up a server.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8766
  • Total likes: 307
  • Helpful: 229
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Password for nettool
« Reply #14 on: January 07, 2015, 09:55:56 PM »
You can use the windows executable on a server. The is the logical choice, if you want to join that game too. But then there is no need for nettool.

Otherwise, with all the windows restarts and such, I would use a more stable OS for a display-less server.

Offline Ters

  • Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4734
  • Total likes: 181
  • Helpful: 108
  • Languages: EN, NO
Re: Password for nettool
« Reply #15 on: January 08, 2015, 05:43:12 AM »
I almost restart my Linux server as often as some Windows machines at work. In both cases, it's because of updates, not stability. So the stability of Windows must have improved over the last decade. (Normally I don't run Windows for very long, but that's because the computer it is running on gets powered down during the night for purely physical reasons.)