Author Topic: Shades 6.0 first beta release  (Read 11411 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4849
  • Total likes: 25
  • Helpful: 63
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Shades 6.0 first beta release
« on: January 29, 2010, 09:33:14 PM »
Did it take half a year? Well, twice the goodness :D Finally got brushes working. No undo yet (next to do).

DOWNLOAD - 6.0 alpha2 - 622 kB

Please test - but don't discard the old version yet, it's alpha for a reason.
« Last Edit: February 02, 2010, 10:55:59 AM by VS »

My projects... Tools for messing with Simutrans graphics. Graphic archive - templates and some other stuff for painters. Development logs for most recent information on what is going on. And of course pak128!

Offline vilvoh

  • One of the good guys
  • Administrator (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 4504
  • Total likes: 2
  • Helpful: 14
  • I'm the constructor, the architect
    • Escala real
Re: Shades 6.0 second alpha release
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2010, 10:48:05 PM »
Seems that alpha's word is on vogue between Simutrans tools developers.. :::)

It works, at least for me..

Escala Real...a blog about Simutrans in Spanish...

Offline z9999+

Re: Shades 6.0 second alpha release
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2010, 11:12:13 AM »
Is it possible to change font of some control/tooltips text ?
Some control/tooltips don't allow to show 2 bytes characters.

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4849
  • Total likes: 25
  • Helpful: 63
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Shades 6.0 second alpha release
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2010, 12:51:16 PM »
Sorry, there is not much to do about this, except rewriting the whole program with a gui library which supports unicode. I'm still stuck with Delphi 7, which is 8 years old and apart from what can be imported from windows api, doesn't give a **** about languages and encoding.

I'm planning to switch to Lazarus, but this will be a long road... maybe once.

My projects... Tools for messing with Simutrans graphics. Graphic archive - templates and some other stuff for painters. Development logs for most recent information on what is going on. And of course pak128!

Offline z9999+

Re: Shades 6.0 second alpha release
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2010, 03:11:20 PM »
It's just a font problem, not unicode problem. Old FON font cause this problem.

But it's Okay, my main PC has no problem because I modified FontSubstitutes registry key.
Thank you for reply.

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4849
  • Total likes: 25
  • Helpful: 63
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Shades 6.0 second alpha release
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2010, 03:51:07 PM »
So... I could change font name and it would work?

My projects... Tools for messing with Simutrans graphics. Graphic archive - templates and some other stuff for painters. Development logs for most recent information on what is going on. And of course pak128!

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8764
  • Total likes: 307
  • Helpful: 229
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Shades 6.0 second alpha release
« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2010, 08:00:10 PM »
Actually you have to change the gui definition file, imho. But then it should work. (One could also eanle extended twxtservicea for incompatible programa in the properties (or so it should say), which can help sometimes too.)

Offline z9999+

Re: Shades 6.0 second alpha release
« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2010, 09:10:12 PM »
As to Microsoft document, using 'MS Shell Dlg' instead of 'MS Sans Serif' should work in any language on Windows 2000 and later versions. But I'm not sure.

Entry of 'MS Shell Dlg' is there in FontSubstitutes by default, and will be mapped to local font.

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4849
  • Total likes: 25
  • Helpful: 63
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Shades 6.0 second alpha release
« Reply #8 on: February 01, 2010, 09:03:33 PM »
OK, next alpha will have font translation. There are two fonts needed, one normal and one monospace.

Undo is progressing nicely...

My projects... Tools for messing with Simutrans graphics. Graphic archive - templates and some other stuff for painters. Development logs for most recent information on what is going on. And of course pak128!

Offline z9999+

Re: Shades 6.0 second alpha release
« Reply #9 on: February 02, 2010, 07:39:58 AM »
Thank yor for considering it and sorry for giving more work.

There are two fonts needed, one normal and one monospace.

If you are talking about 'Courier New', it is a TTF font and I believe it doesn't cause problem. Usually TTF font have auto font-link feature. ('Courier' is FON font.)

And if monospace font is only used for input box, there is no chance to input 2 bytes character in your application.  :)

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4849
  • Total likes: 25
  • Helpful: 63
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Shades 6.0 second alpha release
« Reply #10 on: February 02, 2010, 10:20:58 AM »
Monospace is for numerical entries - namely ARGB colours like FF00ABCD that look better with fixed width (I think...). Anyway, you can change both fonts to whatever you want :) And it wasn't much work once I knew what to do.



Beta for 6.0 is here! Undo now works in most common cases (dunno about external editing). Fonts are translatable (needs restart).

DOWNLOAD - 6.0 beta1 - 640 kB
« Last Edit: February 02, 2010, 10:53:04 AM by VS »

My projects... Tools for messing with Simutrans graphics. Graphic archive - templates and some other stuff for painters. Development logs for most recent information on what is going on. And of course pak128!

Offline z9999+

Re: Shades 6.0 first beta release
« Reply #11 on: February 03, 2010, 07:56:55 AM »
Fonts are translatable (needs restart).

Thank you, it worked.

I didn't know translation file can change font face of control.
I thought you need to change all resources.

I appreciate it. Thanks again.

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4849
  • Total likes: 25
  • Helpful: 63
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Shades 6.0 first beta release
« Reply #12 on: February 03, 2010, 10:51:42 AM »
Well, it's a loop over all components which sets their font to something :)



What brushes would be useful? I have these (24px), any comments?
« Last Edit: February 03, 2010, 06:37:35 PM by VS »

My projects... Tools for messing with Simutrans graphics. Graphic archive - templates and some other stuff for painters. Development logs for most recent information on what is going on. And of course pak128!

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4849
  • Total likes: 25
  • Helpful: 63
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Shades 6.0 first beta release
« Reply #13 on: February 03, 2010, 10:59:45 PM »
Last beta:
http://vs.simutrans.com/misc_files/shades_6.0_beta2.zip

If you have a new translation or can update old one, please, do it...

My projects... Tools for messing with Simutrans graphics. Graphic archive - templates and some other stuff for painters. Development logs for most recent information on what is going on. And of course pak128!

Offline z9999+

Re: Shades 6.0 first beta release
« Reply #14 on: February 04, 2010, 05:33:27 PM »
- Multiple undo feature seems not working well. Try fill bucket tool.
- When I click or drag to outside of image with pen tool, error window, 'Source rectangle is invalid.', continue to open even if I click within image until I change tool. And this error also forbid undo.
- Text 'Selected' on status bar is not translated when application started. If I select pen color again, it will change to translation.

Offline vilvoh

  • One of the good guys
  • Administrator (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 4504
  • Total likes: 2
  • Helpful: 14
  • I'm the constructor, the architect
    • Escala real
Re: Shades 6.0 first beta release
« Reply #15 on: February 04, 2010, 06:44:54 PM »
What brushes would be useful? I have these (24px), any comments?

Imho, only the first eight ones are useful. The rest would be good for a pure painting program.

Escala Real...a blog about Simutrans in Spanish...

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4849
  • Total likes: 25
  • Helpful: 63
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Shades 6.0 first beta release
« Reply #16 on: February 04, 2010, 11:10:51 PM »
z9999: Thank you :) I fixed the last 2 bugs, but I can't replicate first. I'll try more...

My projects... Tools for messing with Simutrans graphics. Graphic archive - templates and some other stuff for painters. Development logs for most recent information on what is going on. And of course pak128!

Offline MoTw

Re: Shades 6.0 first beta release
« Reply #17 on: February 06, 2010, 03:32:13 PM »
Is there going to be a Linux-Version? I didn't find one before.
world is like a parachute: it works better when it's open
whenever you feel lost and alone, always remember your calculator is something you can count on
pak96.comic addons

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4849
  • Total likes: 25
  • Helpful: 63
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Shades 6.0 first beta release
« Reply #18 on: February 06, 2010, 04:06:05 PM »
No.

My projects... Tools for messing with Simutrans graphics. Graphic archive - templates and some other stuff for painters. Development logs for most recent information on what is going on. And of course pak128!

Offline isidoro

Re: Shades 6.0 first beta release
« Reply #19 on: February 07, 2010, 01:24:42 AM »
Is there going to be a Linux-Version? I didn't find one before.

I tried it with wine (www.winehq.com) and seems to work ok.

Offline MoTw

Re: Shades 6.0 first beta release
« Reply #20 on: February 07, 2010, 09:31:31 AM »
I tried it with wine (www.winehq.com) and seems to work ok.

Yes, it does, but Wine is a bit slow on my computer and it creates lots of unnessecary files... A native version would be better, but if not...
world is like a parachute: it works better when it's open
whenever you feel lost and alone, always remember your calculator is something you can count on
pak96.comic addons

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4849
  • Total likes: 25
  • Helpful: 63
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Shades 6.0 first beta release
« Reply #21 on: February 07, 2010, 11:07:01 AM »
Re Linux, let's put it differently: if you restructure the code for new, cross-platform libraries and compiler, you're quite the hero. Because I can't do it in time shorter than a year at best.

The project started some 4 years ago and actually taught me a lot about programming... As you can imagine, the original was quite naive and messy. I spent a lot of time making it actually workable for further programming, and it's still not where I'd like to see it. Only then I can start resolving the library problem, and after that, finally try to port it.

This needs time, time, time, time... where can I buy it?
« Last Edit: February 07, 2010, 11:13:31 AM by VS »

My projects... Tools for messing with Simutrans graphics. Graphic archive - templates and some other stuff for painters. Development logs for most recent information on what is going on. And of course pak128!

Offline MoTw

Re: Shades 6.0 first beta release
« Reply #22 on: February 07, 2010, 01:10:23 PM »
OK, no Linux. ;) I'll be fine with Wine.

This needs time, time, time, time... where can I buy it?
Here you are: http://www.buytime.at/ :D  ;) (in german)
world is like a parachute: it works better when it's open
whenever you feel lost and alone, always remember your calculator is something you can count on
pak96.comic addons

Offline The Hood

Re: Shades 6.0 first beta release
« Reply #23 on: February 07, 2010, 01:16:18 PM »
I use shades under wine - it's not as slow as other programs as it's quite a simple tool.  Tilecutter is much slower under wine than shades, for example...

Offline MoTw

Re: Shades 6.0 first beta release
« Reply #24 on: February 07, 2010, 01:36:32 PM »
I use shades under wine - it's not as slow as other programs as it's quite a simple tool.  Tilecutter is much slower under wine than shades, for example...

I didn't mean that _Shades_ is slow, but running _wine_ makes my PC (Netbook) slow. Anyway, that's neither Linux' nor Shades' fault.
world is like a parachute: it works better when it's open
whenever you feel lost and alone, always remember your calculator is something you can count on
pak96.comic addons

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4849
  • Total likes: 25
  • Helpful: 63
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: Shades 6.0 first beta release
« Reply #25 on: February 07, 2010, 10:39:09 PM »
Mwahahaha, I just have to say for all that I'm a total idiot. The undo bugs were all just logical. Tomorrow is stable release, unless I'm incapacitated by the two hours of school.

My projects... Tools for messing with Simutrans graphics. Graphic archive - templates and some other stuff for painters. Development logs for most recent information on what is going on. And of course pak128!