Author Topic: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?  (Read 9680 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AP

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 856
  • Helpful: 7
  • Languages: EN, FR
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #35 on: December 31, 2012, 05:05:41 PM »
It could send back to the server some basic commands (e.g. Add a vehicle to a line cloning existing ones) which would executed if possible or ignored.
I suppose there are two sides to an app for server games - one as a remote viewer (which I think is a valid proposition by itself, even without a minimap) and the other allowing remote interaction with the server game (possibly being a more complex undertaking?).

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Experimental project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 11713
  • Helpful: 90
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #36 on: December 31, 2012, 05:15:41 PM »
I suppose there are two sides to an app for server games - one as a remote viewer (which I think is a valid proposition by itself, even without a minimap) and the other allowing remote interaction with the server game (possibly being a more complex undertaking?).

Yes, allowing remote interaction would be a very useful thing, in fact, for players to undertake management tasks without having to be beside a full-blown desktop client. This might well be a fairly complicated undertaking, but it ought not be beyond the pale in principle. The issue is whether there are enough skilled Simutrans programmers ready to implement this feature, I think, rather than whether it is feasible in principle, and that will depend in part, but not entirely, on whether enough people think that it is worthwhile.

As for the map, I wonder whether it would be possible for the server to generate some sort of simplified version of the game map, showing just land and water areas, town hall locations and town names, and for the statistics to be able to identify stations by co-ordinate such that they might then be shown on a simplified version of the map based on that just described to give people something of a graphical representation of the game world without all the computationally intensive detail required for the full game. It would be useful to get some idea, for example, of where a rival has built, or where graphically on the map that problems on one's own network have occurred.
James E. Petts

Download the experimental version of Simutrans and help to test lots of new features here.

Download Pak128.Britain here.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 7599
  • Helpful: 180
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #37 on: December 31, 2012, 07:47:06 PM »
The computer intensive operation is not the display of the map. Most expensive are the connections and moving stuff around. Ironically, also the minimap is the most compute intense display, as it shows most of the map ;)

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2867
  • Helpful: 91
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #38 on: December 31, 2012, 08:16:30 PM »
But calculating a mini map, maybe even with different displays, every month and caching it to be retrieved by query and not calculated on demand would impose a small overhead to the server processing.

Offline sdog

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1849
  • Helpful: 30
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #39 on: March 06, 2013, 01:53:50 AM »
There's a new version of an android up in the google play store. Developer is TMN Trend Media Network.

Edit:
just noticed this is the wrong android thread.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2013, 01:21:11 AM by sdog »

Offline Bricktop

  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful: 0
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #40 on: March 07, 2013, 11:17:06 PM »
 did You make it?
it looks kinda suspicious.

Offline IgorEliezer

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3643
  • Helpful: 63
  • Proud of nothing
    • Igor Eliezer Architect and Urban Planner/Arquiteto e Urbanista
  • Languages: PT, EN, AutoLISP, Python
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #41 on: March 08, 2013, 03:54:10 AM »
it looks kinda suspicious.
And why does it look suspicious?

EDIT:

Topic renamed from "Android" to "Simutrans for Android: is it possible?".

Offline Bricktop

  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful: 0
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #42 on: March 08, 2013, 10:48:19 PM »
I tried that tmn group version and:
Its kinda unplayable, looks ugly, and actually doesnt fit the tablet screen. (even with the tablet option selected), the on screen controls doesnt do nothing other than obscuring the view. Also there is a giant ad bar.

Only positive at the moment : the porting is possible.

Offline sdog

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1849
  • Helpful: 30
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #43 on: March 09, 2013, 04:13:14 AM »
i tested it too today, the only thing i was able to click were the ad banners. Nothing else worked.

Offline ӔO

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Helpful: 66
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #44 on: March 09, 2013, 01:28:49 PM »
There was something odd about the cursor accuracy, but once it loaded the starting map, I could easily tell my TF101 was not up to the task.
My Sketchup open project sources
various projects rolled up: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/17111233/Roll_up.rar

Colour safe chart:

Offline Lmallet

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 704
  • Helpful: 10
  • 128 on the brain...
  • Languages: FR, EN
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #45 on: March 10, 2013, 04:26:02 AM »
I managed to get past the language selection screen on my Galaxy S3, but the cursor control is so bad I quit without managing to start a game.

Offline Yona-TYT

  • *
  • Posts: 411
  • Helpful: 12
    • Simutrans-BLOG
  • Languages: ES
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #46 on: March 10, 2013, 01:06:45 PM »

I managed to get past the language selection screen on my Galaxy S3, but the cursor control is so bad I quit without managing to start a game.
Woe that recognize that "simutrans" was originally designed to run on a desktop PC.
I am surprised that can open in the  Galaxy S3 :o

Offline Lmallet

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 704
  • Helpful: 10
  • 128 on the brain...
  • Languages: FR, EN
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #47 on: March 10, 2013, 07:54:47 PM »
Woe that recognize that "simutrans" was originally designed to run on a desktop PC.
I am surprised that can open in the  Galaxy S3 :o
I recall Prissi saying a few times that Simutrans should run on either a 486 or an early Pentium (that was a while back).  With a dual-core 1.5GHz CPU and 1.5GB of RAM, I think the S3 is powerful enough.

The real problem is the screen size and the button layout.  On one hand the developer of the Android version seems to have used some sort of emulator/virtual machine to make it work, and the built-in controls are not the greatest.  On the other hand Simutrans has a lot of small buttons, which is ok on a PC but not on a smartphone.  I tried openTTD on my S3 as well and it is suprisingly quite playable, mostly due to a better implementation on the Android side, but also the button layout makes it easier to hit them on the small screen.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 7599
  • Helpful: 180
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #48 on: March 12, 2013, 02:05:07 PM »
Simutrans with not too large maps should run on a 600 MHz arm qithout troubles.

Simutrans can easily scale up the buttons. The problems are the dialoge, which are not completely dynamical (only a few of them are). On the other hand openTTD had awful scrolling (on Android) and required a lot of modifier keys (while simutrans could be used with only left mouse button and some scrolling support).

Alasdair Green

  • Guest
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #49 on: June 09, 2013, 01:38:49 PM »
Hi,

I've just got an Acer D270, and thinking of changing it to Android, would Simutrans run on this? It's a conventional netbook, so no touchscreen play issues.

Thanks,

Offline Isaac.Eiland-Hall

  • Benevolent Dictator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2742
  • Helpful: 71
  • PanamaCityPC.com/support/
    • Facebook Profile
  • Languages: EN
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #50 on: June 09, 2013, 03:22:56 PM »
No current release on Android, I'm afraid.
For server and hosting problems and requests, please open a ticket at http://PanamaCityPC.com/support/

Offline Yona-TYT

  • *
  • Posts: 411
  • Helpful: 12
    • Simutrans-BLOG
  • Languages: ES
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #51 on: June 09, 2013, 07:17:48 PM »

I hope someday we can play from an Android device


It would be very nice ....... Regards ;)

Offline Ters

  • Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2972
  • Helpful: 63
  • Languages: EN, NO
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #52 on: June 09, 2013, 08:15:10 PM »
Some of you Android users just have to figure out how.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 7599
  • Helpful: 180
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #53 on: June 09, 2013, 08:38:27 PM »
There is a simutrans (obsolete version) for Android, which is absolutely unsuable with a touchscreen. It may work with the mouse tough. Unfourtunetaly most ports did not distributed the source code and hence violated the Artistic Licence of Simutrans. Thus I have to note google whenever I find them.

Offline Yona-TYT

  • *
  • Posts: 411
  • Helpful: 12
    • Simutrans-BLOG
  • Languages: ES
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #54 on: July 16, 2013, 08:36:59 AM »

seems those from Open-TTD you they won us in this





It has an Android version
Google Play https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.openttd.sdl&hl=es_419

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 7599
  • Helpful: 180
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #55 on: July 16, 2013, 09:47:00 AM »
There is also a simutrans version, with is as unplayable as the OpenTTD version.

Offline Yona-TYT

  • *
  • Posts: 411
  • Helpful: 12
    • Simutrans-BLOG
  • Languages: ES
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #56 on: July 16, 2013, 10:06:29 AM »
GUI patch Theme can improve that, is not it?

Offline kierongreen

  • Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2036
  • Helpful: 78
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #57 on: July 16, 2013, 10:24:52 AM »
Potentially it could. It would also need somone with a tablet with a bit of time to port Simutrans.

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • Helpful: 70
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #58 on: July 16, 2013, 10:33:46 AM »
Topical: Chris Sawyer is creating a new tablet version of Transport Tycoon.
http://www.polygon.com/2013/7/15/4524242/transport-tycoon-sim-heads-to-mobile-this-year

Offline Ters

  • Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2972
  • Helpful: 63
  • Languages: EN, NO
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #59 on: July 16, 2013, 02:20:45 PM »
Considering how imprecise touch devices are, I have a hard time imaging that this could really be playable unless the touch screen is 20 inches or more. It's hard to hit the right place even when using a touch pad, where my finger doesn't obscure where I'm pointing and the cursor has a more well-defined hot spot than my finger.

Offline kierongreen

  • Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2036
  • Helpful: 78
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #60 on: July 16, 2013, 03:10:19 PM »
With a larger button theme and a reasonable size pakset I don't think placing the cursor would be a huge issue. Of course using pak32 is probably asking for trouble...

Offline Markohs

  • DevTeam, Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1447
  • Helpful: 82
  • Languages: EN,ES,CAT
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #61 on: July 16, 2013, 03:34:23 PM »
The UI has to be changed a lot, it's a first step, but there's a need to change the tools mechanics, all the dialogs, maybe even using the android dialogs to replace some of the simutrans one. It's doable ofc, but needs a team of people expert and with experience in mobile app design. Also some game mechanics might need a change.

 Whould be nice if we had the inner simutrans code decoupled and modularized even more, in a plugin fashion, so we could just use the minimum simutrans code and replace some parts with touch-designed components.

Offline Ters

  • Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2972
  • Helpful: 63
  • Languages: EN, NO
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #62 on: July 16, 2013, 03:36:27 PM »
Bigger GUI means less room fot the world. Increasing the tile size makes it easier to hit a tile, but harder to see where that tile is in relation to everything else. One would have to zoom or pan a lot, and build in tiny steps. That would certainly ruin the appeal for me. But there are as many ways to enjoy the game as there as Simutrans players it seems.

Offline kierongreen

  • Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2036
  • Helpful: 78
Re: Simutrans for Android: is it possible?
« Reply #63 on: July 16, 2013, 03:38:40 PM »
Well all the gui stuff is in that subdirectory, and all the interaction is dealt with in simwerkz already isn't it?


Edit:
And yes, I prefer a smaller gui which is why I'm keen that any theme code allows this as well as a more touch friendly large button gui.