News:

Simutrans Sites
Know our official sites. Find tools and resources for Simutrans.

Permissions and other translation issues

Started by Zeno, August 13, 2012, 09:22:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Zeno

I want to ask for permission to modify and/or manage ca-Catalan language. As there is no Catalan community I think this is the right place to ask for it; by the way, I have already those permissions for Spanish, which is the other language that co-exist in my region. Thank you in advance.

The next question, which I can give in advance is, what can I do with those texts which lack master translation? In case I can do something, of course... Is it a pak dependant issue or a global one? Thank you in advance (again!).

Dwachs

You should be able to modify Catalan translations.

I am not sure, whether I understood you second question. In case of base texts, if the master translation is empty, then the string itself is its master translation.

I have no experience in translating paksets, but imho master translation (the English one) is a pakset issue.
Parsley, sage, rosemary, and maggikraut.

prissi

Generally, do not look too much at the master translation, especially for buildings and stuff. Within the translation rules ( http://forum.simutrans.com/index.php?topic=763.0 ) rather work creative.

ALso some of the english error message were really short and not very decriptive.

Zeno

Thank you Dwachs for the permissions, I'm now able to translate Catalan too :)

Thank you both for your suggestions. It seems I can translate objects that do not have master translation too, so I'll start translating a bit.
Anyway, I've seen sometimes the button "suggestion --> translation" decides to ignore me; I might have been inactive for a few minutes though, and probably I got logged out automatically, so I will double-check that before any complain.

prissi

This button does not work. Better just copy the suggestion into the translation field.