The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Food add-on  (Read 5633 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jameskuyper

  • *
  • Posts: 78
  • Languages: en
Food add-on
« on: October 07, 2012, 01:45:09 AM »
I've downloaded the Food add-on for pak64. I'd like to play a game using it. What do I need to do to make that happen? It seems like a trivial question that should be easy to answer, and I've found several different answers in various locations, but none of them worked.

Offline Combuijs

  • Web Team
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1392
  • Maintainer of maps.simutrans.com
    • Combuijs
  • Languages: EN, NL
Re: Food add-on
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2012, 10:33:22 AM »
Easiest solution is copying all *.pak files from the food pak in the directory where pak64 is stored. This is in your Simutrans directory, very likely to be named "pak".

A much better solutions is to put them in a special add-ons directory, but that is just that little bit more complicated.

Offline Ters

  • Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 5447
  • Languages: EN, NO
Re: Food add-on
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2012, 11:38:59 AM »
However, if you've installed Simutrans "properly", you won't have (direct) write access to the directory where Simutrans and pak64 is installed. In that case, I believe the add-on directory is in the simutrans subdirectory of your home/documents directory. Where that is, depends on the operating system. (As some sort of tester/consulting developer, I don't install these things properly.)

Offline jameskuyper

  • *
  • Posts: 78
  • Languages: en
Re: Food add-on
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2012, 05:21:25 PM »
Easiest solution is copying all *.pak files from the food pak in the directory where pak64 is stored. This is in your Simutrans directory, very likely to be named "pak".
I tried that before, but it didn't work. I just tried it again, and now it works. I must have done something wrong the previous times. Thanks!

However, if you've installed Simutrans "properly", you won't have (direct) write access to the directory where Simutrans and pak64 is installed. In that case, I believe the add-on directory is in the simutrans subdirectory of your home/documents directory. Where that is, depends on the operating system. (As some sort of tester/consulting developer, I don't install these things properly.)
I'm running Ubuntu Linux, and I have a system administrator account, so getting access was not a problem.
I tried putting them in /home/james/simutrans/add-on; I also tried the names  add-ons and pak for that subdirectory, which were other suggestions I found. None of those worked.

Offline Ters

  • Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 5447
  • Languages: EN, NO
Re: Food add-on
« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2012, 05:47:28 PM »
Does /home/james/simutrans contain your save games and settings? If not, then Simutrans has been installed in single-user mode where the game and all data are stored together.

Offline MagnusA

  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Languages: SV, EN
Re: Food add-on
« Reply #5 on: October 07, 2012, 06:01:43 PM »
Have you tried to name the folder to addons? See also http://forum.simutrans.com/index.php?topic=8990.0