The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Power line tunnels and underground transformers?  (Read 3414 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18425
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Power line tunnels and underground transformers?
« on: December 04, 2012, 11:20:04 PM »
May I ask - has consideration been given to producing graphics for these? They are both features of the new stable release of Standard, and the author of the code is Pak128.Britain's own Kieron.

Since much electrical power transmission in the UK is underground, it would be worthwhile considering these, at least the power line tunnels. I don't know how common that underground transformers are in the UK.

Offline kierongreen

  • Dev Team, Coder/patcher
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2269
Re: Power line tunnels and underground transformers?
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2012, 11:27:08 PM »
Small industries would usually have no visible transformer - graphics would probably be very plain for this, as they would for power line tunnels in general.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18425
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Power line tunnels and underground transformers?
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2012, 11:57:23 PM »
Perhaps only a consumer substation for industries allowed underground, in that case?

Offline The Hood

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2889
  • pak128.Britain developer
Re: Power line tunnels and underground transformers?
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2012, 08:08:04 AM »
I certainly coded this up a few weeks ago, but maybe I didn't include in SVN?

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18425
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Power line tunnels and underground transformers?
« Reply #4 on: December 05, 2012, 01:57:22 PM »
Alternatively, perhaps I missed them. Oops...

Offline greenling

  • Lounger
  • *
  • Posts: 1728
  • Simutransarchology it my hobby!
  • Languages: DE,EN
Re: Power line tunnels and underground transformers?
« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2012, 06:21:48 PM »
jamespetts
fabio work on new underground powerlines.

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Power line tunnels and underground transformers?
« Reply #6 on: December 05, 2012, 06:27:08 PM »
Yes, you could check Pak 128 svn r1077.
Tunnel object and hidden underground conduits for the underground part.

Offline The Hood

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2889
  • pak128.Britain developer
Re: Power line tunnels and underground transformers?
« Reply #7 on: December 05, 2012, 10:11:32 PM »
@jamespetts, check this:

Revision 1029 2012-11-12 21:29:33
thehooduk modified 5 items in /pak128.Britain
ADD: electrification and powerline removal tools; powerline tunnel

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18425
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Power line tunnels and underground transformers?
« Reply #8 on: December 05, 2012, 11:54:07 PM »
Splendid! I shall add these to the Experimental version when the latest Standard commits are merged in.

Offline The Hood

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2889
  • pak128.Britain developer
Re: Power line tunnels and underground transformers?
« Reply #9 on: December 06, 2012, 08:06:22 AM »
I must admit the graphics are basic (e.g. there are still pylon graphics underground) but at least the function is there.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18425
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Power line tunnels and underground transformers?
« Reply #10 on: December 06, 2012, 11:12:39 AM »
Hmm - any volunteers to draw actual tunnels...?

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Power line tunnels and underground transformers?
« Reply #11 on: December 06, 2012, 12:24:35 PM »
Hmm - any volunteers to draw actual tunnels...?

If you guys would like to use / adapt my underground power conduits, feel free to help yourself!

You can find .png and Gimp .xcf, as well as .dat, in SVN at r1077 (Pak128, of course!).


In r1077.

Offline The Hood

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2889
  • pak128.Britain developer
Re: Power line tunnels and underground transformers?
« Reply #12 on: December 06, 2012, 01:16:52 PM »
Are the pylons the same as the old ones (with a new graphic for tunnel entrance)? If so they will be easy to adapt as I just recoloured the old pak128 graphics for pak128.Britain.

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Power line tunnels and underground transformers?
« Reply #13 on: December 06, 2012, 01:53:30 PM »
Same pylons for a while.
By the way, I also edited the power lines pylons using offsets where they were truncated for tile reasons.

Tunnel entrances might be slightly improved over the next few days, though (see the other thread).