News:

Simutrans Wiki Manual
The official on-line manual for Simutrans. Read and contribute.

Nice station and network build in Experimental

Started by waerth, September 01, 2013, 03:00:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

waerth

First of all apologies if this is not the right place for this. I thought a small ode and thank you to James and the others working hard on experimental and pak britain are in order.

This is about my 10000th simutrans game by now. I started playing when Hajo was still developing it alone and there were barely any graphics, trains, busses etc. I cannot remember how long ago that was I think 2000 or thereabouts.

Anyway this is the biggest possible map 4369*3840 that is possible in Simutrans exp unfortunately :( (my pc can handle much more than that I am sure). With the 4 GB memory patch.

The map has 2000 towns. I set all population numbers to as low as possible. So the biggest town was like close to 5000 inhabitants, which is where I started, Yeringport. The area of Yeringport has quite a few other towns. I started with 10,000,000 credits in 1907 (because that is when the necessary electric units become available). The goal is to build an Electric and Diesel unit only network. It will suffer from heavy losses in the beginning also because I build double track from the start. I usually separate commuter/regional rail from intercity rail.