News:

Do you need help?
Simutrans Wiki Manual can help you to play and extend Simutrans. In 9 languages.

usage of public service

Started by dwpvdk, August 22, 2013, 11:29:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dwpvdk

In my maps I never use public service to build ways and grow cities. That said I look at everyone else's maps and they look amazing compared to mine. (I recently started playing; I may not know all the tricks yet) Is the disparity there because all of you use public service? Am I just ignorant? I guess I want to know how everyone plays: use of public service, things you use public service for...
Check it out: http://dwpco.weebly.com

Sarlock

There are lots of different play styles, some that use the public service extensively some that refuse to open up that menu even once during a game.

I use the public player all the time, but I view the game more as a simulation than a game so I like to tailor the look of each area to be exactly what I want it to look like.  I treat Simutrans like a giant train set that is much too large for my basement than as a competitive video game.
Current projects: Pak128 Trees, blender graphics

dwpvdk

So that said, are you always trying to make a profit, or do you not care about the in-game finances?
Check it out: http://dwpco.weebly.com

sdog

I typically use the public service player at the beginning of a game to fine-tune the map. change cities, remove obstructions that keep them from growing, introduce new ones to hinder them, make mountains or lakes more interesting, connect lakes to provide new options, build more interesting rivers systems, move industry to reflect reality (coalmines to hills, steel mills to rivers), rename the largest cities to geographically sensible ones (easier to remember glasgow and edinburgh are in the north, and Shrewsbury is the most important capital in the world)

after that initial phase i rarely use the public player: