The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Bridges in half height pak  (Read 4355 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Andyh

  • *
  • Posts: 74
Bridges in half height pak
« on: December 07, 2013, 05:12:07 AM »
Don't know if this is a bug or a feature, but thought I would inquire.  When I create a road bridge over a way that's at the same level there is a drop between the top of the pier and the flat part of the bridge (see file 'Bridge1').  It doesn't prevent traffic from crossing the bridge but looks weird because vehicles appear to go over a precipitous drop when they reach the top of the bridge.  I can get around the issue by building artificial slopes on either side of the bridge but this requires 2 extra tiles and feels unnecessary.  Is this behavior intentional?


Offline kierongreen

  • Dev Team, Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2269
Re: Bridges in half height pak
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2013, 05:53:14 AM »
Bridge should be higher if there are single and double height ramps. I did have a patch at one point to allow different height bridges if shift was held down but don't think that was ever added.

Offline Andyh

  • *
  • Posts: 74
Re: Bridges in half height pak
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2013, 06:03:36 AM »
Yes, the default behavior at the moment seems to be to generate double height ramps with a single height bridge and no obvious means of altering that behavior unless you, in effect, build your own ramps by using the 'Build artificial slopes' tools.

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Bridges in half height pak
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2013, 07:06:47 AM »
My bad
Road bridges haven't been completely converted yet.
I'll fix it ASAP

Thank you for reporting though!



Edit: just checked; the problem should affect bridges with speed of 55, 70, and 90 km/h in latest nightly. All the other bridges are supposed to work ok.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2013, 07:23:51 AM by Fabio »

Offline Andyh

  • *
  • Posts: 74
Re: Bridges in half height pak
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2014, 06:32:37 PM »
I'm just checking in to see whether there have been any developments as to this thread.  I downloaded nightly r7000 a couple of days ago and the problem is still there.
Fabio: I didn't quite follow your edit (I'm probably misunderstanding something) as there don't seem to be bridges of 55 or 90 mph in the HH pak128.  However, I did test all the rail and road bridges and this seems to be the current situation: Rail: 60, 120, 140 and 160 kph bridges work as they should; the other 2 bridges (80, and 100 kph) have the center height problem.  Road: none of the bridges work correctly, all have the center height issue.
Is there anything I can do to help resolve this?

Offline Andyh

  • *
  • Posts: 74
Re: Bridges in half height pak
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2014, 05:54:26 PM »
Just checking in again to see whether anyone could advise a way to resolve this bridge issue in the pak128 half height pak.  If anyone could give me some general instructions on how to convert the remaining bridges I'm happy to work on this myself.

Offline kierongreen

  • Dev Team, Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2269
Re: Bridges in half height pak
« Reply #6 on: January 19, 2014, 09:58:21 AM »
It will require someone to redraw some images. For consistency that should probably be Fabio. I'm sure he'll do this as soon as he has some time :)

Offline Andyh

  • *
  • Posts: 74
Re: Bridges in half height pak
« Reply #7 on: May 04, 2014, 06:24:25 PM »
I'm coming back to Simutrans after a bit of a hiatus.  Does anyone know if this issue with half height bridges has been fixed?  In general, what's the status of the half height pack?

Offline kierongreen

  • Dev Team, Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2269
Re: Bridges in half height pak
« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2014, 02:02:13 PM »
Last I heard it was nearly there. pak64 and pak128.Britain should be fully ready.

Offline greenling

  • Lounger
  • *
  • Posts: 1728
  • Simutransarchology it my hobby!
  • Languages: DE,EN
Re: Bridges in half height pak
« Reply #9 on: May 10, 2014, 01:18:54 PM »
Hello Andyh
The Update of the Pak128 in half high do in momnent not work.
Fabio have no freetime!