The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Bored programmer  (Read 27372 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18745
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bored programmer
« Reply #70 on: December 31, 2014, 10:05:33 PM »
Could they not simply be set to ownerless so that anyone can delete them after a year instead?

Offline Ters

  • Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 5543
  • Languages: EN, NO
Re: Bored programmer
« Reply #71 on: December 31, 2014, 10:22:44 PM »
In the current pak64 server game I have noticed an issue regarding public stops. Currently public stops can only be deleted by the public service provider player making them hazards. Additionally public service provider players might not be available or want to go around the map deleting public stops placed there for various reasons (I am guessing either someone trying to abuse free maintenance or who does not understand their purpose).

Something was done related to this this year (still 2014 for me).

Offline Sybill

  • *
  • Posts: 74
Re: Bored programmer
« Reply #72 on: January 02, 2015, 11:07:15 PM »
I have an old wish, that was mentioned in the german forum before: more positions for signals!

It is very hard for a pakset designer to make nice looking signals without separate positions for slopes, especially when your way graphics is a bit uncommon.

Offline mad_genius

  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Languages: PT, EN, Java, XML, ...
Re: Bored programmer
« Reply #73 on: January 04, 2015, 11:31:21 AM »
Bored programmers are advised not to read this thread in case they want to remain bored. :D :D :D :D

Let me add one more small request that was first mentioned a while ago. Having the option to choose the city list to use on the "New Game" dialog instead of having the city list dependent of the game language selected in the "options" menu.

I'm currently trying to learn the Simutrans code, on my limited free time, in an attempt to implement this feature but it's taking much longer than what I expected initially. If someone wants to have a go at this feature feel free to go for it.
I don't care if the credits for this feature go to me or anybody else. The important thing to me is to improve the game the best we can for the whole comunity to have more and more fun playing it.

Offline Ters

  • Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 5543
  • Languages: EN, NO
Re: Bored programmer
« Reply #74 on: January 04, 2015, 11:43:41 AM »
Let me add one more small request that was first mentioned a while ago. Having the option to choose the city list to use on the "New Game" dialog instead of having the city list dependent of the game language selected in the "options" menu.

The biggest issue here is game portability. It is possible to create cities after map creation as well, and these cities should also use the same city name list (although there is a chance that players want to manually name these). The first idea can then be to store the name of the city name list file in the save game, but then there is a problem if the game is sent to someone else that doesn't have that file. This problem is similar to the dependency on pak sets, or perhaps more like add-on paks, since there aren't that many different pak sets. One just have to consider if it's a good idea to introduce another dependency that players must upload when sending in a save game for debugging. The dependency can be avoided by saving the city name list in the save game, just like the settings, but this makes it more difficult to add more names to the list after the game has been started.

Offline IgorEliezer br

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 4087
  • Cake recipes are cool... REALLY!
    • Igor Eliezer Architect and Urban Planner/Arquiteto e Urbanista
  • Languages: PT, EN, AutoLISP, Python
Re: Bored programmer
« Reply #75 on: January 06, 2015, 12:47:45 AM »
Since we almost managed to derail Markohs' topic (he and his minions are too strong), all posts related to rendering multiple Blender files, after this post, were split to this topic: http://forum.simutrans.com/index.php?topic=14279.0, in 3D Modeling board.