News:

Simutrans Sites
Know our official sites. Find tools and resources for Simutrans.

Standard & experimental

Started by Parachute, November 29, 2014, 12:46:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Parachute

Since a few weeks I'm playing Simutrans again, its been a while.
One thing I don't understand about the game at the moment is the following:

There are two versions of the game now. A economically and more realistic version (Exp) and the Standard version, which hasn't been changed so much for years. Why not? Why can't the standard version be a bit more realistic? Some Exp-features can be easily implemented in Standard (I'm not a coder, but I guess that the code is not that much different).
The Standard version should not be more complicated (that would discourage new players), but it could be more realistic (which would attract and preserve some new players, I'm sure of that).

For example: (from this list),
- Journey time tolerance
- Transfer time
- Cornering
- Reversing
- Loading time
- Scheduling features (<- would make Standard so much easier + realistic to play)
- Good & passenger loading
Etc.

Ters

Many of the features in Experimental is very computationally expensive, and many Simutrans players have relatively old computers. There is also a difference of opinion as to whether the changes in Experimental are for better or worse in terms of how they want Simutrans to be.

Each player of Simutrans seems to have their own idea of what kind of game Simutrans is or should be. That has led to a multitude of options to configure some behaviour in Simutrans (both of them). But at some point, the difference becomes too big to control with options without making the code a complete mess of conditional statements and data structures that are only used when certain settings are enabled.