News:

Simutrans.com Portal
Our Simutrans site. You can find everything about Simutrans from here.

Pak64.USAunofficial

Started by Asdfe, October 06, 2016, 11:00:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Asdfe

pak64.USAunoffical

I have little modding experience, but when I saw a new post on this subforum after not logging in in months, I was intrigued. I took a look at the zip file, and thought that it was a shame that it wasn't a full blown pak. So, I took pak64 and the existing graphics from this project to create what I call pak64.USAunoffical!

This pak has a huge amount of trains from American history and includes new industries and buildings. Here are some screenshots:

The 2-10-4 Texas pulling a passenger line.

New locomotives.

New industries. Can't have a USA pak without convenience food and outlet malls!

Two zip files are attached. One is a full-blown pak, and the other is a pak64 addon with just the new trains.

The credit I can take for this is minimal, as the real credit goes to the following who were originally involved:

Packer
Fifty
Pikkabird
DanMack
Lifeblood
Aegier
Oz
Alexthegreater
Raven

And a host of others I am surely forgetting.

After I cobbled all these files into a pak, I debated releasing it, but in the end I did. If this doesn't gain traction again, it will still be an amazing addon, and if it does, even better. If anyone is interested in contributing, by all means do! All contributions are welcome.

State of the pak

Vehicles:
Trains- 90% done, but smoke is needed. This is highest priority.
Other- 0% done, but the default ones are reasonably American. Some semis would be nice.

Ways: 20% done. Plenty of roads, but tracks and airports are still default. I'd consider this low priority.

Buildings: 30% done. Decent number of buildings, but more will be needed before ditching the pak64 ones. Maybe there is a TTD grf that can be converted? Might be a grf for American trucks too. Medium priority.