The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: "No suitable depot could be found" ought to show what vehicle has issues  (Read 1630 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Junna

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1082
There is no way to tell what vehicle gives the message and where the problem is.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18745
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: "No suitable depot could be found" ought to show what vehicle has issues
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2016, 11:17:17 AM »
This is not the easiest of problems to solve, as it involves algorithmically unpacking a number of distinct things (for example, there is no satisfactory way of telling between the accidental deletion of a way/electrification tile to the correct depot and the accidental deletion of the correct depot in circumstances where there are other compatible depots on the map that are not linked to the convoy in question). Had you any idea as to how such a feature might work?

Offline Junna

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1082
Re: "No suitable depot could be found" ought to show what vehicle has issues
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2016, 04:32:56 PM »
It should say what vehicle is having difficulty finding a depot, so that action could be taken? I set some to replace. Some is not able to find a depot. I can't determine which.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18745
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: "No suitable depot could be found" ought to show what vehicle has issues
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2016, 05:47:20 PM »
Ohh, I see: it does not even tell you which vehicle cannot find a depot? That should in principle be easy to implement. I will add it to the list.

Offline zook2

  • *
  • Posts: 321
Re: "No suitable depot could be found" ought to show what vehicle has issues
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2017, 12:51:05 PM »
Just a reminder that having the convoy number displayed would help greatly.

Offline Ves

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1677
  • Languages: EN, SV, DK
Re: "No suitable depot could be found" ought to show what vehicle has issues
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2017, 10:18:52 PM »
I have modified the code to also show the convoy name. Unfortunately it would be a bigger task to make it also clickable to the right location, but the fix should at least make it possible to identify the convoy.

fix here: https://github.com/VictorErik/Simutrans-Experimental-Ves/tree/small-gui-fixes

Offline zook2

  • *
  • Posts: 321
Re: "No suitable depot could be found" ought to show what vehicle has issues
« Reply #6 on: December 15, 2017, 02:50:40 AM »
Thanks!

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18745
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: "No suitable depot could be found" ought to show what vehicle has issues
« Reply #7 on: December 17, 2017, 12:49:16 AM »
This has now been incorporated and should be available in to-morrow's nightly build.