Author Topic: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)  (Read 44633 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DrSuperGood

  • Dev Team
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2170
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #175 on: April 12, 2018, 01:29:27 AM »
No problem, I will begin testing in ~5 hours when the nightly rolls over.

Will change back one of my lines to using choose signals. Will also start a new line with choose signals. Will also observe the trouble spots where trains currently run too slowly.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 17034
  • Country: gb
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #176 on: April 12, 2018, 01:45:59 AM »
Splendid, thank you.
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline DrSuperGood

  • Dev Team
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2170
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #177 on: April 12, 2018, 07:40:21 AM »
Crash is fixed.

Offline Ves

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1409
  • Languages: EN, SV, DK
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #178 on: April 12, 2018, 08:04:36 PM »
Server crashed when I tried to place a new signalbox at location (327,842). So it needs restart...  :)


edit:

The game is up and running again!  :)

Offline DrSuperGood

  • Dev Team
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2170
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #179 on: April 13, 2018, 09:14:14 AM »
Pushed a commit for pakset revision up to 1850.

The future trains will cost considerably more to run than currently. This is because trains are excessively profitable at the moment, with just 5 passenger lines of my company on the server generating more profit than all other companies combined. They will still be cheap enough to make good profit from, but no longer as good as free.

For how the numbers were derived...
Due to a lack of overhaul/maintenance feature, I have factored in the cost of the trains into their monthly and running costs. Every ~1,600,000km one will effectively buy the train again. Every 1200months (100 years) one will also effectively buy the train again.

Fuel economics is currently at 0.01 per kW per km. Trains have an efficiency divisor of 0.5, with tanks 0.6 and inefficient trains 0.4. I am aware this probably is kind of nonsense, however without an actual fuel efficiency model it is likely good enough.

Each person is paid 10 per month. With trains using either 3, 5 or 7 people at the moment depending on size and power. Obviously this would be replaced by an employment system eventually.

So a 80kw train will now cost ~1-2 per km and ~70 per month. Before they had numbers like 0.2 per km and 6 per month.

Offline DrSuperGood

  • Dev Team
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2170
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #180 on: April 13, 2018, 09:45:01 PM »
Same error/crash as before...

Error:
7koord3d index out of bounds: 111 not in 0...110.

Offline Ves

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1409
  • Languages: EN, SV, DK
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #181 on: April 13, 2018, 09:50:20 PM »
I think it was me who crashed it. It happened the moment I reassigned a train to another line.

Worth noticing:

The train was part of a schedule which demonstrated the "ignore choose signal" bug. I had already tried manipulating the schedule to see if I could solve it that way, I had rebuilt the signals but to no luck. So I figured I would solve it by creating a new line, reassigning all convoys to the new line. It worked fine for 8 out of 10 convoys, the two rest being held for departure, hence their schedule could not be modified. To circumnavigate that I pressed the "go to depot" button to make it go to the depot. After the 5 minute reversing session, I opened the schedule of the first train and attempted to reassign it to the new schedule, but upon closing the schedule window, the server crashed.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 17034
  • Country: gb
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #182 on: April 13, 2018, 11:19:01 PM »
I am having trouble reproducing this: I am circa 30 minutes into May 1845, and this crash has not recurred (on my local machine using the saved game from the server). Is this crash recurrent on the server?

Thanks to Dr. Supergood, incidentally, for the provisional balancing work: it is much appreciated.

Offline Ves

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1409
  • Languages: EN, SV, DK
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #183 on: April 13, 2018, 11:21:03 PM »
Nope, it didnt happen again, server is happily running.

I forgot to mention that the depot was part of the old schedule because I had already pressed "send to depot".

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 17034
  • Country: gb
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #184 on: April 13, 2018, 11:43:51 PM »
It will not be possible for me to find and fix this bug unless I have a means of reproducing it reliably. If anyone is able to find such a means, I should be grateful if that person could upload the saved game in which it can reliably be reproduced and open a new thread with a bug report.

Offline DrSuperGood

  • Dev Team
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2170
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #185 on: April 14, 2018, 06:10:15 AM »
Server randomly crashed. The synchronization model meant the client never reached that state so I am not sure of the error or if the client would even have crashed.

I also had recently messed around with a time interval choose signal repeatedly deleting and replacing it. However the crash occurred several minutes after.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 17034
  • Country: gb
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #186 on: April 14, 2018, 10:54:28 AM »
The server seems to be back online now. I am afraid that I have no way of fixing a crash that I cannot reproduce reliably.

Online Rollmaterial

  • *
  • Posts: 442
  • Country: fi
  • Languages: EN, FR, DE, FI, SE
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #187 on: April 14, 2018, 10:17:49 PM »
The server now reliably crashes with an Out of bounds error shortly after connecting.

Offline Ves

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1409
  • Languages: EN, SV, DK
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #188 on: April 14, 2018, 11:41:01 PM »
Crashes for me too, just like rollmaterial describes. Connect, wait a few minutes and then crash.

Offline Speedbus

  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Languages: DE, EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #189 on: April 15, 2018, 06:42:04 AM »
Same behavior with today's new exe file (#a529a46).

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 17034
  • Country: gb
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #190 on: April 15, 2018, 02:19:28 PM »
Apologies for the trouble: I have now restarted the server with a version which should fix the crash. I should be grateful if anyone could confirm whether this helps or not.

Online Rollmaterial

  • *
  • Posts: 442
  • Country: fi
  • Languages: EN, FR, DE, FI, SE
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #191 on: April 16, 2018, 09:24:50 PM »
We can now announce the first railway running powers agreement! The Crandon and Lakes Railway now serves Ves Transport Agency's Netstoke Southern Harbour with an hourly service to Green Lewisby and Selford Gay.


Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 17034
  • Country: gb
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #192 on: April 16, 2018, 10:17:27 PM »
How wonderful! This may be a Simutrans first.

Offline Ves

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1409
  • Languages: EN, SV, DK
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #193 on: April 16, 2018, 11:26:54 PM »
Appears to work fine too! Although, you have one train currently at the station that cannot find a route!
How did you get that player color view?

Online Rollmaterial

  • *
  • Posts: 442
  • Country: fi
  • Languages: EN, FR, DE, FI, SE
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #194 on: April 16, 2018, 11:34:22 PM »
How did you get that player color view?
By pressing Shift+o.

Offline DrSuperGood

  • Dev Team
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2170
  • Languages: EN
Re: Bridgewater-Brunel no. 1 - Great Britain sized map (no. 2)
« Reply #195 on: April 16, 2018, 11:57:14 PM »
How can you people manage with hourly services... People in the East seem to want quarter hourly services! If the trains would start on time...