Author Topic: Simutrans crashes when I use custom heightmap  (Read 1815 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline emirkir se

  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Languages: EN, SV, FI
Simutrans crashes when I use custom heightmap
« on: March 26, 2018, 03:04:43 PM »
Hello again! I've started using heightmaps, and I think they're really fun to use.
But, I have a problem... When I start to build rails and modify terrain it crashes. My most recent crash was when I turned the map...
Why does it crash? I use this heightmap: http://maps.simutrans.com/maps/swissalpes.jpg
I use a lot of "fake" terrain, and not so much terrain modification, I think that looks better.
The game runs well otherwise and doesn't run slower or anything just before a crash.

I use the Steam-version of Simutrans (on Windows 10 x64) and some addons for subway station and Swedish trains, always in .pak128.
« Last Edit: March 26, 2018, 06:59:45 PM by emirkir »
Swedish Simutrans player

Offline uci

  • *
  • Posts: 118
  • Without owner
  • Languages: EN, RO
Re: Simutrans crashes when I use custom heightmap
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2018, 07:07:34 PM »
That is not a heightmap. You must use a .ppm or .bmp grayscale image.

Try this one instead
https://simutrans-germany.com/files/upload/nw-italy_t500_h250_w-2.zip

Please set 'water_level=-2' and make sure 'height_conversion_factor = 2' in your config file.

Offline emirkir se

  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Languages: EN, SV, FI
Re: Simutrans crashes when I use custom heightmap
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2018, 07:13:59 PM »
Oh, not the .jpg-file, it is a .ppm my map is... I only linked that so you could see what map I use, if you go back and download the "Swiss Alpes" map you get it in .ppm.  :)

I'll try your linked map...

Water level and Height Conversion Factor was set to your values as deafult.
Swedish Simutrans player

Offline emirkir se

  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Languages: EN, SV, FI
Re: Simutrans crashes when I use custom heightmap
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2018, 03:00:08 PM »
Hey! Sorry for very long response but...

I used your map for a while and it runs smoothly, I've not experienced any bigger lag or something and the map loads up quickly too.
The map i linked, Swiss Alpes loads slowly and lags when using... But I've wanted to try to make a mountain land with trains and roads going crazy uphill! :(

Does someone know any good map that runs smoothly, or is it my system that can't handle it?

See included .txt file where I wrote down system specs and game info.
EDIT: Link to map: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1SwYeQPR-B913LZEndNAUYMP4fyP3tXB_/view?usp=sharing

Offline An_dz

  • Web Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2672
  • D'oh
    • by An_dz
  • Languages: pt, en, it, (de)
Re: Simutrans crashes when I use custom heightmap
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2018, 04:05:37 PM »
It plays super smooth here and my computer is worse than yours.

Offline uci

  • *
  • Posts: 118
  • Without owner
  • Languages: EN, RO
Re: Simutrans crashes when I use custom heightmap
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2018, 07:15:22 PM »
Your linked map is a .bmp image with a .ppm extension.
I also noticed some lag when zooming in/out and the cursor is on steep walls.

Offline emirkir se

  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Languages: EN, SV, FI
Re: Simutrans crashes when I use custom heightmap
« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2018, 02:07:52 PM »
So is it the map that's wrong or my computer? I'm new with heightmaps...
Is there some way to get it to work properly?

Offline uci

  • *
  • Posts: 118
  • Without owner
  • Languages: EN, RO
Re: Simutrans crashes when I use custom heightmap
« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2018, 10:14:17 AM »
I think the map is too sloppy. Do you have problems with other maps?

Offline emirkir se

  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Languages: EN, SV, FI
Re: Simutrans crashes when I use custom heightmap & other map stuff
« Reply #8 on: May 13, 2018, 10:11:20 AM »
Thanks uci... I must go and find another very high up map for me to make the mountainland.... :)

I thought of something else now about a week ago, I wanted to make my own city as a Simutrans game. Is it a good start to use a heightmap of it? BTW I've never created one... It's a city in Sweden called Ă–stersund that I want to build in Simutrans. I have seen others make like New York and other bigger cities..
Can you give me a headstart?

Offline emirkir se

  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Languages: EN, SV, FI
Re: Simutrans crashes when I use custom heightmap
« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2018, 02:56:33 PM »
New information about the "sloppy" map, when I loaded it up today a handful of error messages appeared...
Check the screenshot here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1doWdHwPNzr3fNWZ4zra_ttYYV4_sUxwl/view?usp=sharing