The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: "Token block signal" working incorrectly in some case  (Read 974 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ranran jp

  • *
  • Posts: 230
  • Languages: ja
"Token block signal" working incorrectly in some case
« on: May 09, 2018, 02:50:41 PM »
I separate this thread from another thread.

"token block signal does not make an intermediate reservation" issue has been fixed.
However, I think "Token block signal" is still not working correctly.

I updated my testing saved game file. Check this new .sve out.

I put some station on that track and I created a new scheduled line as "line (7)" which stops at all stations.
See the reservation behavior of "scheduled line (7)"'s case. Some are working correctly, but some are not.

Incorrectly example: "B to A" and "B to D"
The front of the train is not reserved in these sections.

However, for example (1) and (2), it works correctly when the train passes through these intermediate stations.

EDIT: edit the thread title (´・ω・`)
« Last Edit: May 10, 2018, 11:29:36 AM by Ranran »

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18030
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: "Token block signal" working incorrectly in some case
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2018, 10:51:46 PM »
Thank you for the report. Initial testing shows that the issue when the train is travelling from B to A can be worked around by placing the token block signal at Station B in the station itself rather than beyond the station. In most cases, this will be the correct signalling layout. I will look into the cause of this not working correctly in this somewhat unusual configuration when I have a moment.

Offline Ranran jp

  • *
  • Posts: 230
  • Languages: ja
Re: "Token block signal" working incorrectly in some case
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2018, 10:27:19 PM »
Thank you for your signal placing advice.
Certainly, when traveling from B to A it works properly by placing the signal at the station.
However, "B to D" will not work properly even if placing in such way.
It seems canceling the reservation of "c to D" after making the reservation of "B to D"...


I made a new saved game, please check it out.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18030
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: "Token block signal" working incorrectly in some case
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2018, 12:21:35 PM »
Thank you for posting that, and my apologies for the delay. There appears to be a problem with Simutrans-Germany at present such that I cannot download your saved game file. Are you able to upload it anywhere else so that I can test it?

Offline Ranran jp

  • *
  • Posts: 230
  • Languages: ja
Re: "Token block signal" working incorrectly in some case
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2018, 12:57:42 PM »
I uploaded it to google drive.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18030
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: "Token block signal" working incorrectly in some case
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2018, 09:38:58 AM »
Thank you. I am now away from home for the week, without access to the computer on which I have a graphical debugger set up, and so will have to look at this next week now.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18030
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: "Token block signal" working incorrectly in some case
« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2018, 11:58:24 AM »
Thank you for this report. I think that I have now managed to fix the issue in which the train would, as in your animated .GIF, incorrectly unreserve beyond station C when leaving station B bound for station D. I should be grateful if you could re-test and confirm with to-morrow's nightly build when you have a moment.

Offline Ranran jp

  • *
  • Posts: 230
  • Languages: ja
Re: "Token block signal" working incorrectly in some case
« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2018, 10:56:56 AM »
Token block signaling behavior is broken as reported in this thread.

Following pictures are the state of token block signaling in Ranran_testing_signal-3.sve




However, the action to cancel the reservation of "c to D" has been fixed.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18030
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: "Token block signal" working incorrectly in some case
« Reply #8 on: June 12, 2018, 08:18:30 AM »
Thank you for the report - there was an issue in yesterday's nightly build affecting a number of different signalling systems, which has now been fixed. Can you re-test with the current nightly build to check whether the original error reported in this thread has now been fixed?

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18030
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: "Token block signal" working incorrectly in some case
« Reply #9 on: June 17, 2018, 01:23:18 PM »
Can I check whether this can any longer be reproduced?

Offline Ranran jp

  • *
  • Posts: 230
  • Languages: ja
Re: "Token block signal" working incorrectly in some case
« Reply #10 on: June 19, 2018, 05:10:56 PM »
Sorry for my late reply. I could not back home for few days.(´・ω・`)
In the case of line (1), the block reservation of B to A does not be canceled and remain.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18030
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: "Token block signal" working incorrectly in some case
« Reply #11 on: July 08, 2018, 03:47:57 PM »
Thank you for the report and apologies for not having had a chance to look into this earlier. I am afraid that I am having trouble reproducing this with Ranran_signal_testing-2.sve or Ranran_signal_testing-2.sve - are you sure that these are the correct saved games for testing this?

Offline Ranran jp

  • *
  • Posts: 230
  • Languages: ja
Re: "Token block signal" working incorrectly in some case
« Reply #12 on: July 08, 2018, 09:40:42 PM »
That's odd. In my environment this will happen at any time if I change the schedule to line (1). I reconfirmed with build #c6654e6, but it still happens.
I have created a new saved game that is occurring.
This situation occurs every time the locomotive passes through this place.
« Last Edit: July 08, 2018, 09:50:56 PM by Ranran »

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18030
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: "Token block signal" working incorrectly in some case
« Reply #13 on: July 09, 2018, 08:00:09 PM »
Thank you for that - I have been able to reproduce it now with the updated saved game - I am not sure what the problem was originally. I have pushed what I think is a fix to this; I should be grateful if you could re-test with to-morrow's nightly build.

Offline Ranran jp

  • *
  • Posts: 230
  • Languages: ja
Re: "Token block signal" working incorrectly in some case
« Reply #14 on: July 10, 2018, 12:02:25 PM »
I confirmed that it has been fixed in today's nightly build(#0088b46).
Thank you for fixing this. (´・ω・`)b