The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: [120.3r8054] Sound Effect Button Alway Mute  (Read 395 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline keito940

  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Languages: JP
[120.3r8054] Sound Effect Button Alway Mute
« on: July 07, 2018, 06:26:41 AM »
Hello. I am keito 940.
Actually, at 120.2, a sound effect appeared, but if you update to 120.3 it will not produce a sound effect for some reason. I thought that it was a bug in pak128, but there are sound effects even if you look at the sound folder ....
I noticed that the sound effect mute button was locked.
Is this a bug?

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9102
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: [120.3r8054] Sound Effect Button Alway Mute
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2018, 01:47:35 PM »
There will be no sound, when there is no noise for the cash sound. When using nosound, then upon reload sounds are not loaded. You could delete your settings.xml to have sound again or use the -r 8540 and up

Offline keito940

  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Languages: JP
Re: [120.3r8054] Sound Effect Button Alway Mute
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2018, 07:50:59 AM »

You could delete your settings.xml to have

ok. My Simutrans File Not Have settings.xml

Offline Ters

  • Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 5173
  • Languages: EN, NO
Re: [120.3r8054] Sound Effect Button Alway Mute
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2018, 08:16:51 AM »
ok. My Simutrans File Not Have settings.xml

If you've run Simutrans, you have a settings.xml in your Simutrans user directory. Where that directory is depends on installation method and operating system.

Offline keito940

  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Languages: JP
Re: [120.3r8054] Sound Effect Button Alway Mute
« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2018, 08:45:42 AM »
you have a settings.xml in your Simutrans user directory.
ok. ...But even if setting.xml is deleted, no sound effects will come out.

Offline ACarlotti

  • *
  • Posts: 165
Re: [120.3r8054] Sound Effect Button Alway Mute
« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2018, 04:10:58 AM »
I'm confused about the intention of r8540. Does it change the meaning of the -nosound command line flag from "Don't load any sound files" to "Start the game with sound muted"? If so, then that change could have a severe impact on the memory requirements, and hence ability to play the game, for certain paksets.

For instance, pak128.britain currently has a size of around 600MB, of which about 300MB is sound. Since I am generally running close to the limits of my RAM+swap (2GB each), not loading those 300MB of sound assets is very important to me, particularly when I am frequently restarting the game during testing.

Offline Ters

  • Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 5173
  • Languages: EN, NO
Re: [120.3r8054] Sound Effect Button Alway Mute
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2018, 05:07:54 AM »
300 MB is between about 1/6 and 1/10 of the memory space available to Simutrans under normal conditions (nearly 2-3 GB).

Offline ACarlotti

  • *
  • Posts: 165
Re: [120.3r8054] Sound Effect Button Alway Mute
« Reply #7 on: July 13, 2018, 05:38:11 AM »
300 MB is between about 1/6 and 1/10 of the memory space available to Simutrans under normal conditions (nearly 2-3 GB).
You assume (incorrectly) that I make all of my memory available to Simutrans while playing. I don't. Usually I will have several other applications open, including a web browser; before I discovered the "-nosound" flag I generally needed to close the web browser to be able to run Simutrans properly.

In any case, not loading sound also reduces the startup time by a factor of two (only half as much data to read into memory).

Offline Trenomor

  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: [120.3r8054] Sound Effect Button Alway Mute
« Reply #8 on: July 13, 2018, 11:05:42 AM »
Hello. I am keito 940.
Actually, at 120.2, a sound effect appeared, but if you update to 120.3 it will not produce a sound effect for some reason. I thought that it was a bug in pak128, but there are sound effects even if you look at the sound folder ....
I noticed that the sound effect mute button was locked.
Is this a bug?

I had the same problem, using Windows.
The GDI installer from the download section worked for me.

Offline Ters

  • Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 5173
  • Languages: EN, NO
Re: [120.3r8054] Sound Effect Button Alway Mute
« Reply #9 on: July 13, 2018, 02:16:35 PM »
You assume (incorrectly) that I make all of my memory available to Simutrans while playing.

No, I didn't. I was strictly speaking of the amount of virtual memory given to a 32-bit process, which Simutrans traditionally is. Even someone with infinite amount of RAM isn't much better off than you when it comes to memory available for the rest of Simutrans.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9102
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: [120.3r8054] Sound Effect Button Alway Mute
« Reply #10 on: July 14, 2018, 02:59:07 PM »
To elaborate on that: The sounds will sit in the page file but will not affect your performance (unless you have a very small harddisk).

Offline Ters

  • Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 5173
  • Languages: EN, NO
Re: [120.3r8054] Sound Effect Button Alway Mute
« Reply #11 on: July 14, 2018, 06:27:24 PM »
To elaborate on that: The sounds will sit in the page file but will not affect your performance (unless you have a very small harddisk).
There is still 300 MB of virtual address space (out of 2048 MB, which is 15%) that can not be used for images, the map or other game data. And ACarlotti has claimed only having 2 GB of swap file space, meaning that the sounds use up almost a 7.5% of the total allocatable memory on the whole system without being used. That is unless Simutrans memory maps the sound files, which I do not think is the case for any sound back-end.

Loading 300 MB into RAM only to write it back out to disk also takes time, at least on the kind of systems that tend(ed) to have 2 GB RAM.

Offline Matthew

  • *
  • Posts: 98
  • Languages: EN, some ZH, DE & SQ
Re: [120.3r8054] Sound Effect Button Alway Mute
« Reply #12 on: July 14, 2018, 08:18:45 PM »
Hello. I am keito 940.

Welcome to the International Simutrans Forum, keito 940!

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9102
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: [120.3r8054] Sound Effect Button Alway Mute
« Reply #13 on: July 15, 2018, 02:35:30 PM »
That is why the pak64 sounds are encoded as 8 bit 11 kHz mono, which saves a factor of 16 in space ...

Offline An_dz

  • Web Admin
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2791
  • D'oh
    • by An_dz
  • Languages: pt, en, it, (de)
Re: [120.3r8054] Sound Effect Button Alway Mute
« Reply #14 on: July 15, 2018, 02:54:00 PM »
So the solution is to use crap sound? That doesn't 'sound' right.

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9102
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: [120.3r8054] Sound Effect Button Alway Mute
« Reply #15 on: July 16, 2018, 01:06:55 PM »
These sounds are usually never playerd at full level (so 8 bit is ok). Also they have no direction, so mono is fine. These two are already 4x saving without imposing on quality in the game. The GDI version could also play mp3 coded wavs, but linux cannot (at least the last time when I tested, which might be already ten years ago ... )