News:

Simutrans Wiki Manual
The official on-line manual for Simutrans. Read and contribute.

Distinguish between obsolete and outdated

Started by Ranran(retired), September 23, 2018, 06:55:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ranran(retired)

Hi. Ranran made a patch. (´・ω・`) 
The purpose of this patch is to distinguish between "obsolete" and "outdated". What's the difference of these words? I don't know... :-[
I am not good at English, so my intention is not sure that "obsolete" and "outdated" are correct. Please advise. (Also translatable text.)

My intention of "Outdated" is:
The successor model appeared or production is stopped, but they are still healthy and can keep on active, and maintenance costs have not yet increased.

In Extended, there are states, the one is the vehicle just stopped production and the other is the state further time has passed and obsolescence has started (then maintenance cost increases). Currently I think both of these are expressed by the word "obsolete".
Standard does not need this distinction because there is no element of aged deterioration. However, I think Extended needs this distinction.

Concrete example:
This patch separates the "Show obsolete" checkbox that is currently in the depot window into "Show obsolete" and "Show outdated".

I think "outdated" still has room for selection when purchasing.
For example, in the image above, new model list show only one type of diesel locomotive, but you may want to buy a little old but small and economical diesel locomotive.
However, rarely people think to buy an ancient locomotive whose maintenance cost has increased.

And I changed the status color bar to distinguish them.
The useful point is that you can check at a glance whether the vehicle you own is "obsolete" or not.
If it is displayed in dark blue, it means that the maintenance fee is increasing, so player is recommended to take some action if player had them.
The royal blue one, there is no hindrance even if you still use.