The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Pak 128.Britain bridges  (Read 46599 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline The Hood

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2889
  • pak128.Britain developer
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #35 on: December 22, 2009, 04:36:26 PM »
Awesome!  And just in time for the next release too (assuming you are happy to have these released open source) :)

Offline wlindley us

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 979
    • Hacking for fun and profit since 1977
  • Languages: EN, DE
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #36 on: December 22, 2009, 04:51:43 PM »
Yes, all my Simutrans contributions are open source, creative commons, public domain even. 

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18763
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #37 on: December 22, 2009, 07:09:12 PM »
Very nice indeed! Although the one that you call "Macadam" is actually tarmac ("tar Macadam") - the plain Macadam surface is, in effect, the same as the "dirt" road of the normal Pak128.Britain. Is it possible to have a version in this colour/texture, too?

Offline wlindley us

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 979
    • Hacking for fun and profit since 1977
  • Languages: EN, DE
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #38 on: December 22, 2009, 07:42:39 PM »
Oh... pardon my confusion at the British words.  Never realized "tarmac"  was a portmanteau!  Then again, we say "pavement" for asphalt roads while I believe you use that word to mean what we call the "sidewalk."  Ain't linguistics fun?  (Care for a potato chip, I mean crisp?)

updated (might need browser refresh)

also uploaded gimp source image with layers

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18763
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #39 on: December 22, 2009, 08:04:33 PM »
Aha! Excellent work!

Offline The Hood

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2889
  • pak128.Britain developer
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #40 on: December 23, 2009, 04:08:48 PM »
Here's an in-game preview.  There are a couple of graphical glitches - could you look into these please wlindley? (some stray brown pixels still and some overlap problems).  I will still release as is as I am going away for Christmas soon, but if I could have a fix later that would be great.

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #41 on: December 24, 2009, 07:57:25 AM »
they look very nice!

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #42 on: December 31, 2009, 01:43:48 PM »
anyone who's well acquainted with google sketchup?
I've made a few more bridges, but not fully painted or entirely sure how to make them look like a pakbritain image rather than a pak192 comic.
I'm pretty sure I set the 'isometric' viewing cube properly so it's all a matter of cutting the bridges down to a proper size for front/back images.

steel? and concrete box girder, modern




beam/I-beam bridge.


steel lattice


files here:
free for anyone to use and modify. (because I obviously can't figure out how to complete them)
http://files.simutrans.us/files/get/oyw1nO2jit/sketchup-bridges-box-girder-and-beam.rar


steel lattice wasn't the proper file, but it is now.
http://files.simutrans.us/files/get/AsWXjZp0j9/sketchup-bridges-box-beam-lattice.rar
« Last Edit: December 31, 2009, 03:01:28 PM by AEO »

Offline The Hood

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2889
  • pak128.Britain developer
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #43 on: January 02, 2010, 03:30:30 PM »
The easiest way to get them to look like pak128.Britain bridges is to get them in blender and use the same blender setup as for all the existing bridges.  It is possible to import a .dae file from sketchup into blender, so I'd suggest doing it that way.  I think you already have the bridge blends, so I'd use those as a template.

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #44 on: January 03, 2010, 02:54:32 PM »
@The Hood.
unfortunately I can't quite figure out how to use blender, which is why I've resorted to sketchup.

I've made some progress with sketchup. I can now make them look like a pakbritain image, the only issue I have now is getting the slope angle correct for the ramps. I'll consult the blender bridges to try and get the angles off of those.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18763
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #45 on: January 03, 2010, 04:07:16 PM »
What I have found easiest is to load existing graphics in Blender then modify them, rather than create things from scratch.

Offline The Hood

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2889
  • pak128.Britain developer
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #46 on: January 03, 2010, 09:12:30 PM »
@The Hood.
unfortunately I can't quite figure out how to use blender, which is why I've resorted to sketchup.

If there's anything specific you want to ask blender-wise, I can try and help, but if you're getting good results in sketchup, then that's fine too.

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #47 on: January 04, 2010, 12:22:47 AM »
thanks for the offer of help, The Hood.

I think I have figured out the scale/slopes template for sketchup.
had to look back into trigonometry to figure it out :D

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #48 on: January 10, 2010, 12:07:15 AM »
how's this Iron Bridge? maybe a slightly different colour and better textures?


Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18763
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #49 on: January 10, 2010, 12:12:06 AM »
I'm impressed so far - but should be interested to see how well that it scales to 128x128 tiles. Also - best turn off the shadows when exporting.

Offline ӔO

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
  • Hopefully helpful
  • Languages: en, jp
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #50 on: January 10, 2010, 12:32:28 AM »
well, the shadows on the transparency blue can be cut out before resizing and the blue is only there so that the pictures can be scaled properly.
It just doesn't look like a simutrans isometric image with no shadows in sketchup.

I think I might have done the rotation wrong there... oh well, just a draft for now.

Offline The Hood

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2889
  • pak128.Britain developer
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #51 on: January 10, 2010, 01:03:46 PM »
Looking good, but again I'd agree with jamespetts and say take out the shadows.  None of the other graphics have such shadows, only darker/lighter shadings on faces.  Try it in game with and without the shadows next to other bridges, and you will see what I mean.

Offline AP

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1202
  • Languages: EN
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #52 on: January 13, 2010, 09:14:14 PM »
Hi TheHood, I see from your post in 'help' you've made an elevated rail way, just found myself curious which kind... south london type brick viaducts, Liverpool Overhead Railway, Docklands Light Rail ... ?
« Last Edit: January 13, 2010, 09:19:48 PM by AP »

Offline The Hood

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2889
  • pak128.Britain developer
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #53 on: January 13, 2010, 10:09:27 PM »
It looks identical to the existing brick viaduct, except you can make curves, slopes and points.  It's for heavy rail really (e.g. so you can do things like the lines into London Blackfriars or London Bridge, or Manchester Piccadilly through to Oxford road and beyond...)

Offline AP

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1202
  • Languages: EN
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #54 on: January 13, 2010, 10:19:24 PM »
Excellent, that will be quite an improvement for urban rail, I look forward to seeing that in-game!

Just an idea - maybe it's possible to do the clever graphical-merge-thing as with the pak-gb platforms, where adjacent tiles  alter/merge when the next is added - could a similar trick make parallel single viaducts appear as one 'double viaduct'?
« Last Edit: January 13, 2010, 10:24:49 PM by The Hood »

Offline The Hood

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2889
  • pak128.Britain developer
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #55 on: January 13, 2010, 10:34:24 PM »
It looks a bit like this:



I've asked before about doing something like you suggest with bridges e.g.:
http://archive.forum.simutrans.com/topic/06260.0/index.html

It's now possible with tunnels I believe, but I'm still hoping for someone to code up something similar for bridges.  Until then though, this is what we've got.

Offline AP

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1202
  • Languages: EN
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #56 on: January 14, 2010, 10:19:40 AM »
That still looks good, though, even like that. I like how the island platform covers the gap!

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18763
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #57 on: January 14, 2010, 03:55:00 PM »
Excellent! A major advance for Pak128.Britain!

Offline wlindley us

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 979
    • Hacking for fun and profit since 1977
  • Languages: EN, DE
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #58 on: January 14, 2010, 08:33:48 PM »
I believe this version of the viaduct file removes the extraneous bright pixels.  I'm not set up to remake the pakfile here, could someone check please?

Offline The Hood

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2889
  • pak128.Britain developer
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #59 on: January 14, 2010, 09:00:26 PM »
It doesn't seem much different to me...

There are also some remnant brown brick pixels on quite a few views that could do with being removed if you get time.

Offline wlindley us

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 979
    • Hacking for fun and profit since 1977
  • Languages: EN, DE
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #60 on: January 14, 2010, 09:46:09 PM »
OK... updated once more.  The main difference should be removal of had been partially-translucent pixels that turned into light blue.  Also reduced toward grey, most of the brown bits.

Offline The Hood

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2889
  • pak128.Britain developer
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #61 on: January 14, 2010, 10:24:52 PM »
Hmmm, still not 100% but I think I've managed to patch up the differences now.  A little tip - I usually pick a completely different colour (e.g. bright green) and replace all #e7ffff background with that, then any non-#e7ffff shows up nice and clear and you can zap them.

While we're at it, here's the snow graphics for the elevated way - showing the new style of snow graphics for rails, which I think look a bit better than the one I did before which was a 5-minute job in the gimp...

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18763
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #62 on: January 14, 2010, 10:32:03 PM »
Lovely look!

Offline AP

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1202
  • Languages: EN
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #63 on: January 15, 2010, 04:30:41 PM »
Just discovered this one in gameplay.

In pak128 standard, there is a lift-bridge, for both rail and road, which works on the flat. It works over canals and also rivers.

It, or an equivalent, seems not to yet be included in pak.britain, or yet have been replaced with something else. That's a bit of a gameplay issue, I've just discovered, albeit one corrected by borrowing the bridges from standard pak128 (copying "way.crossing.all.pak" does the job).

Wanted to mention it to make sure it's on the to-do list somewhere. I assume it's a fair way down (probably right next to gated level crossings).

It occurred to me that perhaps a bascule graphic might be the best for pak.britain, since a swing bridge would probably require more space to 'pivot' than a 1x1 tile graphically affords.

It also occurred to me that if the game can distinguish between navigable and impassible rivers, there could be a different, unchanging, graphic for fixed on-the-level bridges. But that's probably more work than necessary.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2010, 04:35:12 PM by AP »

Offline The Hood

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2889
  • pak128.Britain developer
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #64 on: January 15, 2010, 05:01:49 PM »
Yes they are missing, but low prioirity.  One issue in the code is that it is currently only possible to have one crossing between any two waytypes, so there is no way of distinguishing between passable and impassable rivers, or doing different points in the timeline. 

Besides, a fixed bridge does pretty well on the rivers given they are always in valleys...

Offline AP

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1202
  • Languages: EN
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #65 on: January 15, 2010, 05:26:23 PM »
I understand, that makes sense.  :)

Quote
Besides, a fixed bridge does pretty well on the rivers given they are always in valleys...
Game generated auto-rivers, yes. Rivers drawn on user-made maps, only if you carve the channel for them as well as drawing them on!

« Last Edit: January 15, 2010, 06:20:06 PM by AP »

Offline The Hood

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2889
  • pak128.Britain developer
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #66 on: January 15, 2010, 07:21:33 PM »
Here's a wooden trestle road bridge (adapted from the rail version)

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18763
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #67 on: January 16, 2010, 12:30:31 AM »
Nice!

Offline The Hood

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2889
  • pak128.Britain developer
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #68 on: January 17, 2010, 04:22:33 PM »
Didn't think it was quite worth starting a new topic just for this, and seeing as these will also be used as the basis for some elevated ways they're going here. 

I've now done diagonal roads for each of the 4 road types - not the most exciting I'm sure but a small graphical improvement for long distance diagonals!

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18763
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Pak 128.Britain bridges
« Reply #69 on: January 17, 2010, 06:07:08 PM »
Actually, this is a major improvement - thank you!