The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: patch for earlier freight stations  (Read 4402 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dannyman

  • *
  • Posts: 182
patch for earlier freight stations
« on: October 13, 2009, 02:17:24 AM »
Hello,

I tried running an earlier game, but after building a line I found I couldn't build a freight station, so I dug in and built this patch:

Code: [Select]
Index: stations/goods-rail-stations.dat
===================================================================
--- stations/goods-rail-stations.dat (revision 208)
+++ stations/goods-rail-stations.dat (working copy)
@@ -12,6 +12,7 @@
 BackImage[1][0][0][0][0][0]=goods-siding.0.1
 icon=> goods-siding.0.3
 cursor=goods-siding.0.2
+intro_year=1825
 ------------------------------------------------
 Obj=building
 Name=GoodsSidingCrane
@@ -43,6 +44,7 @@
 level=3
 enables_ware=1
 retire_year=1940
+intro_year=1825
 
 BackImage[0][0][0][0][0][0]=goods-shed-old.0.2
 BackImage[1][0][0][0][0][0]=goods-shed-old.0.0
@@ -81,6 +83,7 @@
 level=2
 enables_ware=1
 retire_year=1930
+intro_year=1825
 
 BackImage[0][0][0][0][0][0]=bulk-loading-old.1.2
 BackImage[1][0][0][0][0][0]=bulk-loading-old.1.3

When is that next SVN commit, Hood? :)

-d

Offline wlindley us

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 965
    • Hacking for fun and profit since 1977
  • Languages: EN, DE
Re: patch for earlier freight stations
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2009, 03:44:24 AM »
Curiously, "rail" horses and early rail goods carriages are available from 1750, and the Puffing Billy from 1813, yet there are no station facilities of any sort until 1825.  (I tried starting a game in 1820.) Are we awaiting new graphics or is that an oversight?

Offline The Hood

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2889
  • pak128.Britain developer
Re: patch for earlier freight stations
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2009, 07:47:03 AM »
Thanks for the spot.  Goods stations should be available from 1750 (at least the most basic ones).  It's an oversight if they aren't available then.  Quite a few different things seem to be not showing up with the timeline on - initially I assumed that leaving intro_year blank meant always available but it seems to work as never available, so I've been fixing them as I find.  Any more reports like this are very welcome!

The next SVN commit is once I've finished the trucks (two to go), and then I'll have a look at balancing before doing another binary release.

EDIT: As promised, in r209.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2009, 08:35:38 PM by The Hood »

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9472
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: patch for earlier freight stations
« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2009, 09:16:05 PM »
blank just means 1900, as you could not set games to earlier times.

Offline dannyman

  • *
  • Posts: 182
Re: patch for earlier freight stations
« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2009, 09:21:54 PM »
blank just means 1900, as you could not set games to earlier times.

Maybe we can change the default value to 1750 or whatever?  (Or like 1CE, because someday someone is going to . . .)

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18618
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: patch for earlier freight stations
« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2009, 10:59:51 AM »
In the next version of Simutrans-Experimental, the default introduction date will be the 1st of January 1492. In Simutrans-Standard (and current versions of Simutrans-Experimental), the default introduction date is the 1st of January 1900.

Offline Maragil

  • *
  • Posts: 249
Re: patch for earlier freight stations
« Reply #6 on: October 22, 2009, 02:06:24 PM »
In the next version of Simutrans-Experimental, the default introduction date will be the 1st of January 1492. In Simutrans-Standard (and current versions of Simutrans-Experimental), the default introduction date is the 1st of January 1900.

What's the point of intro. date being in 1492, surely no pak sets have things there?

Offline kierongreen

  • Dev Team, Coder/patcher
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2269
Re: patch for earlier freight stations
« Reply #7 on: October 22, 2009, 03:00:09 PM »
In 1492 Christopher Columbus sailed the ocean blue...

That's the only plausible reason I can think of anyway! There was transport around at that time - only really horse and cart on land and sailing vessels at sea for sure but it's a start!

Offline Fabio

  • Devotee
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 2898
  • The Pak128 Guy
    • Visit me on Facebook
  • Languages: EN, IT, RO, FR
Re: patch for earlier freight stations
« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2009, 03:38:48 PM »
carts and vessels would make a nice scenario... and i would like to challenge some brave player to play a map from 1492 to 2050... :::)

Offline DirrrtyDirk

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • JR 700 Series Shinkansen
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: patch for earlier freight stations
« Reply #9 on: October 22, 2009, 05:04:00 PM »
and i would like to challenge some brave player to play a map from 1492 to 2050... :::)

Yes, and with bits_per_months set to 24...  ;D