News:

Simutrans Forum Archive
A complete record of the old Simutrans Forum.

Investing

Started by EvanBGood, December 10, 2009, 11:05:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

EvanBGood

I'm still rather new to Simutrans, but in my short time with the game, I think I know exactly what I'd like more influence over.

People seem to dislike the idea of adding more city or industry growth control to the game, as this is a game that you're supposed to be a transportation tycoon, not a city developer, and the well being of the cities really isn't your concern other than their transportation needs. I agree! However, if it were possible to influence these things without directly controling them, I think it would still fit into the theme of the game. Thus, my idea.

It would be interesting if there was a way to invest your money in other parts of the game. For example, a player could invest some of their company money in the growth of a nearby town, or could invest in the development of more tourism attractions in that area. Similarly, they could invest in a particular industry to help boost production (either temporarily, permanently, or, what I think would work best, permanently with a recuring cost), or perhaps even encourage the growth of a new factory. I don't think this would be out of character for a tycoon who would experience a symbiotic return on the investment in a city or industry that supplies them with money.

Of course, none of this would involve actually telling the "city planners" what to do, but rather, it would influence the "under the hood" numbers that effect growth. It would almost be like using one of the public service buttons to "grow city" or "increase industry", only without such an instant and powerful effect. I would think the system would also call for some amount of randomization, so growth could be "influenced" and not "purchased".