The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: drive thru truck loading dock  (Read 4838 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline grampybear

  • *
  • Posts: 176
drive thru truck loading dock
« on: April 08, 2010, 01:13:54 PM »
Using PAK128v102.2.2 and as my industries become more congested with trucks coming and going all trying to enter and exit a loading dock road way and causing major backups I often would like to have the option to have a drive thru dock similar to bus stop where trucks would enter and exit in one direction

Offline jonasbb

  • Web Team
  • *
  • Posts: 167
Re: drive thru truck loading dock
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2010, 01:27:15 PM »
If you are enabling goods for a station by placing a cargo bay beside a normal passenger station the whole station can load goods. So you can then build a drive through station by using the passenger stations.

Offline grampybear

  • *
  • Posts: 176
Re: drive thru truck loading dock
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2010, 01:37:24 PM »
thank you. Could this be made to work for a non passenger stop? for example a furniture factory with three loading bays all entering and leaving on one road way.

Offline jonasbb

  • Web Team
  • *
  • Posts: 167
Re: drive thru truck loading dock
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2010, 01:47:49 PM »
It is possible to do this also for a non passenger stop but I assume that the graphics for the stop are missing.

Maybe you find here what you are searching for: http://addons.simutrans.com/

Offline MoTw

  • *
  • Posts: 137
  • ~ Mister Kanister ~
    • Depp-City
Re: drive thru truck loading dock
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2010, 03:33:40 PM »
Although you seem to prefer pak128: ;)
In pak96.comic, there already is a drive-through bay for trucks:

Offline Combuijs

  • Web Team
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1392
  • Maintainer of maps.simutrans.com
    • Combuijs
  • Languages: EN, NL
Re: drive thru truck loading dock
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2010, 05:23:00 PM »
I've made one as well for pak64...

Offline grampybear

  • *
  • Posts: 176
Re: drive thru truck loading dock
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2010, 07:18:06 PM »
Thank you both  and while both Paks have some nice features I am not ready to convert  ;D

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9460
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: drive thru truck loading dock
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2010, 08:06:17 AM »
In the archive (http://archive.forum.simutrans.com/topic/01740.0/index.html) there are also drive through loading bays ...

Offline grampybear

  • *
  • Posts: 176
Re: drive thru truck loading dock
« Reply #8 on: April 09, 2010, 12:44:43 PM »
Unless I have miss read the archive forum the drive Thur there are for PAK 64. There is talk about scaling down PAK128 bus stops to fit PAK 64 but I find nothing about a truck drive Thur loading bay. Still looking

Edit:  Found a way around drive thru. By placing a simple bus terminal next to normal truck loading bay the road will pass thru, next schedule truck pickup or delivery to bus terminal instead of truck loading bay, also a one way sign is needed at entrance to bus terminal or truck will turn around and exit same way it came in.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2010, 01:48:35 PM by grampybear »

Offline PatrickN

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 90
    • Patrick's Creations
Re: drive thru truck loading dock
« Reply #9 on: April 09, 2010, 02:16:10 PM »
I think I made an open version of the loading dock for pak128 by taking out the back wall, but I'm not sure if it was ever included or not.

Offline Milko

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 828
Re: drive thru truck loading dock
« Reply #10 on: April 15, 2010, 10:06:54 AM »
Hello

Here you can find a loading area where you can drive through

http://japanese.simutrans.com/index.php?Addon128%2FRoadTools%201

Giuseppe