The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Stuck on Exp-DRC 3 length-parameter  (Read 2974 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AvG

  • *
  • Posts: 308
Stuck on Exp-DRC 3 length-parameter
« on: April 10, 2010, 10:12:30 AM »
I have problems with small early rail-vehicles.
Can't get them running in a nice "row".
I varied the lenght parameter between 1-8, but saw no influence.
Are there somewhere instructions for that matter?
AvG

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18058
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Stuck on Exp-DRC 3 length-parameter
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2010, 10:58:50 AM »
AvG,

I have moved this post to the Pak128.Britain board, as this issue does not seem to be specific to Simutrans-Experimental, but rather is a Pak128.Britain issue. Can you post a screenshot to explain the problem that you are having with the vehicles? I must confess, I am not intimately familiar with the calibration of the length parameter (you should no longer mis-spell "length" as "lenght", as that has all been corrected in the source code in both Standard and Experimental) in paksets; when I produce vehicles for Pak128.Britain, I just adapt existing vehicles.

I don't know whether this is relevant to your particular problem or not, but there has recently been a change to the Simutrans graphics engine to reduce graphics errors: see here for details. It is currently available in the latest nightly builds of Simutrans-Standard, and should be incorporated in the next release (7.3) of Simutrans-Experimental.

Offline AvG

  • *
  • Posts: 308
Re: Stuck on Exp-DRC 3 length-parameter
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2010, 12:25:30 PM »
Hi James,
Thanks for the quick responses.
I checked the length-spelling in the dat-files and indeed : WRONG. Very, very stupid mistake.
Will have to redo the time-consuming trial-run I did before.
At the moment I am running the Exp6.6 complete, without any changes.
A train consisting of SDR "Locomotion" and and 3* LMR 4 Wheel Open Coach.
In S and W directions the distances between loc-coach and coach-coach are quite different from N and E directions.
In general it's not looking very beautifull.
Maybe I fall back to my old solution: Small wagons exist only in pairs of 2. Looks quite well.
Back to the trial runs.
AvG

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18058
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Stuck on Exp-DRC 3 length-parameter
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2010, 12:40:27 PM »
Hmm. Not sure quite what's causing this. When I release 7.3 and 0.6, have another go and let me know whether it gets any better?

Offline AvG

  • *
  • Posts: 308
Re: Stuck on Exp-DRC 3 length-parameter
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2010, 12:07:16 PM »
Hi James,
Before I switch to 7.3, here a result of my latest experiment with the length parameter.
It is only the S-direction, but it is IMHO promissing.
Comments are welcome.
AvG

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18058
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Stuck on Exp-DRC 3 length-parameter
« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2010, 12:23:16 PM »
Ahh, that does indeed look correct! Are those your new vehicles for the Dutch pakset? They're quite a different style to the Pak128.Britain vehicles, but they look interesting all the same!