The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: acceptable "goods" determination  (Read 2130 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline grampybear

  • *
  • Posts: 176
acceptable "goods" determination
« on: June 05, 2010, 09:49:34 PM »
I am playing Pak128vs102.2.2 with the addition of papermill and forest saw mill calling for woodchips "goods"from pak128Britain and also PM factory and hobby shop from pak128Japanese calling for modelkit "goods.
Neither of these "goods" are on the Pak128 approved goods list but they work just fine, so my question, what determines usable goods name and how can new items be added? My goal is to create more inner city end users being supplied by large factories in the country side. Example, current electronics factory ships electronics to large dept store in big numbers but could it also ship just computers to a small store in the city?
If this is not the right forum for this issue please move. Thank you for your time.

Offline VS

  • Senior Plumber (Devotee)
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 4855
  • Vladimír Slávik
    • VS's Simutrans site
  • Languages: CS,EN
Re: acceptable "goods" determination
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2010, 10:10:58 PM »
If you know how to make a factory into pak file, then you already know more than needed for goods :) Goods are pak-ed objects like everything else. From there it also logically follows that you can extend a pakset with new/addon goods types just like with houses etc... The only impossible action is that you can't "externally" modify a factory in an existing pak-file, so you'll always need new factories for new goods types.

Code: [Select]
obj=good
name=Sand
copyright=none
metric=tonnen
catg=2
value=34
speed_bonus=0
weight_per_unit=1000
« Last Edit: June 05, 2010, 10:14:50 PM by VS »

Offline grampybear

  • *
  • Posts: 176
Re: acceptable "goods" determination
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2010, 10:59:11 PM »
Thank you. Does that mean I can add "computers" as an additional output to electronics factory but I must change the name of the factory or can I just delete the original from the pak game and replace it with modified one? Also is necessary to have the end user added to pak game at same time to complete supply chain?

Offline The Hood

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2889
  • pak128.Britain developer
Re: acceptable "goods" determination
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2010, 11:13:58 PM »
@grampybear

simutrans places industry-chains from consumer down.  If you have no end-consumer, no chains of that industry will ever get generated.

Offline grampybear

  • *
  • Posts: 176
Re: acceptable "goods" determination
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2010, 11:29:43 PM »
I have added outputgood[1]=computers to the electronics factory and changed its internal name to electronics factory2 to keep it separate from original also created an end user "computer store", when I try to start game I get message" unable to resolve "computers. What dis I miss?
« Last Edit: June 05, 2010, 11:44:23 PM by grampybear »

Offline DirrrtyDirk

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 1253
  • JR 700 Series Shinkansen
  • Languages: EN,DE
Re: acceptable "goods" determination
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2010, 11:53:07 PM »
You need to create a goods file for Computers as well. See VS' posting above (with the example of sand)

Offline grampybear

  • *
  • Posts: 176
Re: acceptable "goods" determination
« Reply #6 on: June 06, 2010, 12:01:52 AM »
now I got it.. Thank you all.

EDIT: suffering from severe brain cramp.. I have a"good dat file" now how do I get it into game as a Pak file? Also mine seems to be much larger than others in game.
« Last Edit: June 06, 2010, 11:04:38 AM by grampybear »

Offline grampybear

  • *
  • Posts: 176
Re: acceptable "goods" determination
« Reply #7 on: June 06, 2010, 08:40:27 PM »
EDIT: suffering from severe brain cramp.. I have a"good dat file" now how do I get it into game as a Pak file? Also mine seems to be much larger than others in game.