News:

Want to praise Simutrans?
Your feedback is important for us ;D.

Startup in 128

Started by trianglemoon, November 12, 2010, 05:06:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

trianglemoon

I'm relatively new to Simutrans, but was making good progress on Pak64.

I've been trying Pak128 now for a while, and struggling.  I usually start in 1940, and use the timeline.  What I'm finding is that the profit margins are so low (when I'm even able to get one), that to "pay off" my equipment purchases and construction costs, it would take, in one case, 43 years, just to pay off the locomotive!

I feel like I must be doing something wrong.  Overall, I like the balance of industries in 128.  And of course more choices for locomotives, etc., is nice.  But starting a train to move coal or oil 30 squares to a power plant, then letting that auto-run for a simulated 43 years isn't fun.

Is there a primer I can look at, or is there a general flaw in this PAK?

Thank you,

tm

Zeno

Pak128 difficulty is a bit high, but not that much  ;)
Actually not 43, but 5 to 10 years are common payback times for a locomotive. You should start with cheap locos, despite they use to have low power, and that way you can branch your income sources (the cheaper you build, more lines you will be able to build). With time you will get some some money to your pocket, which can be used to improve old locomotives and increase their line income.

Hope this helps :)

trianglemoon

Thank you, I'll give it another try.  It seems to do anything other than oil -> power plant or coal -> power plant, though, is just too expensive.

Take Food Factory.  You need meat, fish, flour, grain.  Plus a supermarket.  That's 5 lines.

Zeno

You are right. Don't ever think of a complex industry chain in your begginings! Btw, also passengers between big cities are a good start, but starting with passengers is only recommended for advanced players.