The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Industry Growth  (Read 16986 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Colin

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 663
  • Certa Cito
Re: Industry Growth
« Reply #35 on: December 20, 2010, 10:31:54 PM »
That must be done by modifying the menuconf.tab file inside your pak128/config folder. Post  your file here and I will modify it for you, then you will be able to look for that change if you wish, or simply  play with it.

Thank you Zeno at last a sensible solution.

Offline railfan727

  • *
  • Posts: 83
Re: Industry Growth
« Reply #36 on: December 21, 2010, 05:05:09 PM »
I am starting to get new industries, but the only things being built are solar power plants!

Are new industries chosen at random, or is there some factor within the game that determines the specific type of industry to be built?

What does it take to get an industry that produces cargo?

Offline Zeno

  • ENASSA Designer
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1997
    • Zeno's Simutrans Creations
  • Languages: ES, EN, CAT
Re: Industry Growth
« Reply #37 on: December 21, 2010, 10:07:59 PM »
Here you are the modified file, colin. Just copy it back over the old one and it's done. To open the dialog, select the last icon in the "special construction tools" menu. The tooltip will show "settings". I hope you will not have any problem with this.

I've experienced though, that once created a game in 102.2 savegame version it can't be changed to 102.4, where the industry_increase_every setting is saved. Thus I have to open the settings dialog and change this value back to 0 each time I load my game, in order to avoid new industry spawnings.

Offline Colin

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 663
  • Certa Cito
Re: Industry Growth
« Reply #38 on: December 22, 2010, 12:24:29 AM »
Thank you Zeno, I will try this out today. In the mean time I've been using a work around provided very kindly by Knightly.
Best Regards
Colin

Hi Zeno, sorry but it doesn't make any difference. Here is what I have to do. I open Simutrans click Start a New Game, Change the Factory settings to say 30000. Open the new game. Save it, call it anything. Load my game (without exiting out of Simutrans) then it works fine. The one problem, I have to do this everytime I exit out of Simutrans and restart.

I had hoped that the PAK  release on the 20th/21st would have fixed this problem. Anyway I'll keep my fingers crossed that the next one does. Thanks again for your help.
« Last Edit: December 22, 2010, 06:11:01 AM by Colin »

Offline Zeno

  • ENASSA Designer
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1997
    • Zeno's Simutrans Creations
  • Languages: ES, EN, CAT
Re: Industry Growth
« Reply #39 on: December 22, 2010, 06:28:59 PM »
Colin: About the savegame version, the bad news are that each time you save you must open same dialog and select 102.4 savegame version, so that industry increase value is saved in the file. Buuuuuut, the savegame version parameter is not saved so we are at the same point than we started. Well, for me the best workaround is:

 >> Open game, select settings, set industry_increases_every=0 (which is what I do, much better than removing zillion of buildings from time to time). Do that every time you open simutrans and load the game. It's done only once (when I load), so it's better than having to deal with spawned industries...

Btw, may I ask: should/can the savegame version be stored in config file so I don't have to change it every time? Thanks!

Offline railfan727

  • *
  • Posts: 83
Re: Industry Growth
« Reply #40 on: January 02, 2011, 11:18:03 PM »
I'm getting new industries added at regular intervals now.

But the bad news is, it's always either one of two different types of solar power plant.  Which does not create any additional goods to be hauled.

So, how do I get it to build other types of industries other than solar power plants?

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9477
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Industry Growth
« Reply #41 on: January 03, 2011, 09:34:29 AM »
It depends on the electricity already produced on this map. In default setting, it tries to have 33% of total production as electricity. Since pak128 has some industries producing like crazy (i.e. ore mines) you will need many power stations to equalize this. (Or set electric promille to zero in the map settings).

Offline railfan727

  • *
  • Posts: 83
Re: Industry Growth
« Reply #42 on: January 03, 2011, 10:41:46 AM »
What about other types of power plants (coal, oil, etc.)?  Why does it always choose types that don't generate any traffic?

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9477
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Industry Growth
« Reply #43 on: January 03, 2011, 11:17:53 AM »
Which year are you in? Maybe they expired or have lower chances. It is up to the pak set make to set the chances of those. Default is 100, but usually they are manually set much lower.

Offline Colin

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 663
  • Certa Cito
Re: Industry Growth
« Reply #44 on: February 08, 2011, 09:16:06 AM »
Going back to early December. It would seem that the Industry Building problem has still not been resolved.

New installation: Latest PAK128: Latest nightly as per 6Th Feb. Industry Growth set to 300000 in the Settings Dialog, also in the Simuconf.tab. First city enlarged to 3rd Townhall enlargement app 18500. Second city enlargement 2500, at least 7 industries built. Can we please have this setting put back where it was originally?

I can not play the game the way I like to which to me means I can no longer play it at all. Sad as it seems I may have to leave Simutrans, it's not much point my being here if I cant play my favourite game the way I want.

EDIT: I forgot. It only happens when I load a saved game, I can enlarge 75 cities providing I enlarge them before saving and closing the game. Once I close the game I can't enlarge anymore cities. It would appear then that the saves are not saving the settings.


@Isaac, Mate I'm sorry for the delay in answering your PM, unfortunately I've been pretty crook for the last two months, however, I'm ok now. So here is my open reply. 1. I humbly apologise for my remarks about James and Experimental I'm sorry if I over stepped the rules of the forum.2 I'm sorry if I upset anyone else 3. I stand by my remarks that in my opinion Experimental will never work, not in my lifetime anyway. Having said that, I will not comment further on the subject except to say, I thought PM's were PRIVATE obviously I was wrong.
« Last Edit: February 08, 2011, 10:55:59 AM by Colin »

Offline TurfIt

  • Dev Team, Coder/patcher
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1324
Re: Industry Growth
« Reply #45 on: February 08, 2011, 09:14:10 PM »
EDIT: I forgot. It only happens when I load a saved game, I can enlarge 75 cities providing I enlarge them before saving and closing the game. Once I close the game I can't enlarge anymore cities. It would appear then that the saves are not saving the settings.

industry_increase_every setting is only saved in savegames with version >=102.3. The nightlies are set to 102.2.
Set the savegame version to 102.5 in the settings dialog every time you start Simutrans, or self compile your own with a different default, or hang tight for a new stable...

Offline Colin

  • Devotees (Inactive)
  • *
  • Posts: 663
  • Certa Cito
Re: Industry Growth
« Reply #46 on: February 09, 2011, 01:14:30 AM »
Thank you Turfit I'll give that a go. A new stable release is probably due anytime soon. I hope.

I think my friend knightly mentioned your name to me the other day. I beleive you've just recently joined the Dev Team. If so, congratulations, heres hoping you can make things hum along. :)