News:

Simutrans Wiki Manual
The official on-line manual for Simutrans. Read and contribute.

Addon's in central location

Started by grampybear, March 11, 2011, 04:34:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

grampybear

I have been playing ST now for several years, currently using Pak128 vs 110 modified with lots of addons, and truly love the game so please don't take this as a complaint. My French is bad and Portugues even worst but as I read thru the forums I have noticed a lot of development work being done in these forums concerning addons and other improvements but they don't seem to ever arrive in any central location. The official ST addon site has not been updated for a very long time. Items created for Pak128 are somewhat interchangeable but are scattered all over ST world, is this by design or simply a low priority to compile them in one place? 

vilvoh

Well, there's a addons site that includes some of them, but the point is that we usually don't include all addons released at the forum as some of them are unfinished, unbalanced or poorly painted. We could change the policy but there's a lot of stuff to test and ask for permission.

Escala Real...a blog about Simutrans in Spanish...

grampybear

I appreciate that and realize a lot of work goes into creating for ST but once an addon is approved by some one to be an acceptable product it seems to get lost or scattered in many locations making looking for them a task. It seems the guild lines are in place to control quality of addons that make it into a pak, but what about the addons that are good but not good enough, perhaps exposure and game play would make them better.
If this is a case of available time to keep track of approved addons, I would offer my service if someone could get me started in the right direction.

sdog

Quote from: vilvoh on March 11, 2011, 05:45:55 PM