The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Great Britain simulation in Simutrans Experimental  (Read 259269 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Taurus

  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Languages: DE, EN, FIN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #455 on: May 03, 2016, 11:30:44 AM »
In the version I have there is also a blockade at the ECML exit of Edinburgh. Also, have you considered adding freight? Or new lines such as the Borders Railway? Thanks a lot though for letting me use your map to rebuild it in pak192.comic.

Offline NoMorePacers

  • *
  • Posts: 185
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #456 on: May 03, 2016, 06:11:44 PM »
The full GB map is mostly a finished project now, and is available 'as is'. Carl didn't add freight because his computer could only just about manage the passenger services, and freight would kill the CPU. If you can get the information for the Borders Railway, and the timetables, then you can add it. Also, do you have a link for pak.192 experimental. Carl was working on a London map, but i'm not sure he still is. His little time has been concentrated on the Balkans and S.E. Europe map.

Offline Taurus

  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Languages: DE, EN, FIN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #457 on: May 04, 2016, 06:57:59 AM »
I am building it in Standart Simutrans and the pakset is pretty much just the standart full height one with the british addons.

Offline 123abc

  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #458 on: May 05, 2016, 09:47:42 AM »
So I managed to install it and I've been running the savefile for a while, and it's fascinating. However I did actually managed to come across a blockage in Sheffield. The southern entrance to the station was completely clogged up and it seemed that it was the Mars 2004 train from London St Pancras that caused it.
I think I found that one as well

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1592
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #459 on: May 07, 2016, 02:33:27 PM »
I remember last time I checked this out I couldn't reproduce the Edinburgh problem, but I'll try again.

This map is pretty much a finished entity as NoMorePacers said. I tend to binge on Simutrans for a couple of weeks every 3 months or so, with either London, Balkans or USA NE maps receiving the attention.

Offline Lewis

  • *
  • Posts: 99
  • Languages: EN, ES, FR, RU
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #460 on: May 07, 2016, 03:07:17 PM »
And my HST?  ;)

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1592
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #461 on: May 07, 2016, 03:53:55 PM »
I have a short memory and haven't touched the London map since I posted that, but I will get around to it :D

Offline NoMorePacers

  • *
  • Posts: 185
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #462 on: May 07, 2016, 05:35:20 PM »
Does the London map get built when you have done the rolling stock one carridge-per-tile?
Also, how do you make the trains?

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1592
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #463 on: May 08, 2016, 09:07:27 AM »
Edit 2: Found and fixed a blockage at Leeds on the full UK map. No link yet as Manchester has its own problems...

The Leeds issue was caused by using a mixture of HSTs and Voyagers on the CrossCountry route. The HSTs can only just keep the timetable, and on one occasion a HST was missing its departure time and waiting for two hours at Leeds, causing chaos. I've solved this by bumping up the XC HST power output a bit (a fudge, for sure), which should make its timekeeping less marginal. This might have consequences elsewhere but I'm hoping not. Let me know if you find anything else.

NoMorePacers: I draw the one-carriage-per-tile trains as required - when I start to build a line that needs particular rolling stock, that's when I'll draw it.

I'm making these ones by adapting the sprites I made for the big UK map. As for how I got started in the first place - I looked at existing source files to see how people approached drawing trains, and gradually adapted this into my own drawings. It takes a while to get used to making things look realistic and when I look back over my maps, I can certainly see how I've improved on my initial poor attempts! :)
« Last Edit: May 08, 2016, 12:56:50 PM by Carl »

Offline Sirdagen

  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Languages: EN, DE, SV
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #464 on: May 08, 2016, 04:14:09 PM »
Did you find the Sheffield blockage?

Offline NoMorePacers

  • *
  • Posts: 185
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #465 on: May 08, 2016, 05:12:11 PM »
I haven't, but the 400% waiting times have caused jams. The key suspects for me are the through platforms at Manchester Piccadilly, and Portsmouth Harbour. At Piccadilly, it's usually the ATW services at the Mayfield Loop, where a train waiting for a loop slot is waiting for another train to exit the loop, which on one point, caused delays going as far back as Marsden. Portsmouth Harbour is due to the fact that it only has three platforms (I think it has 4 or 5, but those extra 1or 2 platforms are probably only used at peak times), and two trains are scheduled to be at the same platform at the same time. This caused backups as far as Basingstoke and Guildford. But it's a very authentic showing of real life, delays and all!

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1592
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #466 on: May 08, 2016, 05:25:36 PM »
Yes, blockages are almost always caused by the wait-for-400%-load instruction, which is necessary to timetable a route. Thanks for the tips on where to look.

Offline NoMorePacers

  • *
  • Posts: 185
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #467 on: May 08, 2016, 06:53:05 PM »
Imagine doing a map where the Beeching II cuts happened.

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1592
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #468 on: May 10, 2016, 07:43:13 PM »
New savegame:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/61716/UK2016.rar

I've run the game for 20 in-game hours and not experienced any new blockages. This hopefully means that problems at Portsmouth, Sheffield, Manchester and Edinburgh were by-products of problems that are now fixed.

If you do find a new blockage, some useful information to help me track it down is as follows. Don't worry if you can't be bothered - this is just for the keen :)
  • Where and when (in-game-clock) did you notice it?
  • How severe (how many trains blocked) was it when you found it?
  • Has it had a knock on effect nearby?
These last two questions help to detect whether you've found the source of the blockage or just a downstream effect. If you find a blockage and have the inclination, you can load up the file again and see if you can spot the first train to cause a problem - that's what I need to track down in order to fix it.

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1592
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #469 on: May 13, 2016, 03:35:43 PM »
And my HST?  ;)

Lewis - here's the East Coast HST in the grey livery, as requested! There's a dat, png and a pak compiled with the Experimental makeobj. Sorry it took so long!
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/61716/hstec.rar

Offline Lewis

  • *
  • Posts: 99
  • Languages: EN, ES, FR, RU
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #470 on: May 15, 2016, 12:34:04 PM »
 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Thank's, Today I dont think im going out, Simutrans all day!!!

Offline mspljd1990

  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #471 on: July 08, 2016, 11:08:10 PM »
This is incredible. You've clearly put a lot of time and effort into it and have a clear attention to detail. I'm actually in awe of how good this is.

I might add some modifications to the savegame I have - no disrespect to you, because you have done a stellar job. Adding the new Virgin East Coast trains, building the new Apperley Bridge and Kirkstall Forge stations, and perhaps adding aircraft to airports - just for eye candy.

Great stuff mate! :)

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1592
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #472 on: July 09, 2016, 09:12:04 AM »
Thanks for that! The file is definitely ripe for some additions as it mostly reflects the situation in 2014. There are new liveries all over the place. I did think about adding some eye candy planes but it was something I never got around to doing.

Offline NoMorePacers

  • *
  • Posts: 185
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #473 on: July 10, 2016, 06:04:42 PM »
In case you're interested, here:
http://forum.simutrans.com/index.php?topic=11781.msg152434#new]
is a Northern-liveried 319, for use on the Liverpool-Manchester via Chat Moss, and the newly-electrified Liverpool-Wigan/Preston/Blackpool North (When the wires go up that far).

Offline mspljd1990

  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #474 on: July 10, 2016, 09:02:24 PM »
Thanks for that! The file is definitely ripe for some additions as it mostly reflects the situation in 2014. There are new liveries all over the place. I did think about adding some eye candy planes but it was something I never got around to doing.

No problem, been enjoying checking out a lot of the routes!

Do you know which aircraft sets would work with pak.ngb?

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1592
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #475 on: July 11, 2016, 08:44:50 PM »
Any pak.64 ones should work.

NoMorePacers - I had seen those - nice work. I probably won't update the whole map with new stuff because lots of liveries and timetables are changing all the time. It's quite a burden to keep updating that. More likely that I would repeat the project (or something like it) in a few years time with better hardware, updated versions of Simutrans, etc.

Offline NoMorePacers

  • *
  • Posts: 185
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #476 on: July 15, 2016, 06:26:43 PM »
That will represent a whole new challenge, especially with 12.0 of Experimental, which could possibly be out by then. You'll have to think about signal boxes as well, which will be a whole new challenge.

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1592
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #477 on: July 15, 2016, 06:30:23 PM »
Yes. I'm not really looking forward to that. Still, it won't be anytime soon. With other projects on the go and real life taking up almost all of my time, it'll be some time before I get around to it!

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18688
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #478 on: July 15, 2016, 07:31:54 PM »
The requirement to have signalboxes is pakset dependant in the forthcoming release, so continuing to use this pakset would be possible without them.

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1592
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #479 on: July 15, 2016, 07:48:51 PM »
Thanks for the info James. I haven't looked into what it would entail yet - it may add an interesting new dimension!

Offline Llandudno

  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #480 on: July 18, 2016, 07:28:04 PM »
Sorry to be a pain, but I've noticed a new block - this time in Portsmouth (I think it's Southsea). When I simulated a game year, one of the trains refused to depart and created a tailback all the way to Petersfield on the PDL (I can'r remember the other queues). Could this be fixed if you're sill working on this?

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1592
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #481 on: July 18, 2016, 08:10:55 PM »
Sure, I will take a look.

That said - I think I've been unable to reproduce some blocks that others have found in the past, including at Portsmouth. If you are able to identify the root cause, and when it occurs, that would be very helpful in fixing it.

Offline thegamer7893 england

  • *
  • Posts: 787
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #482 on: July 23, 2016, 07:46:38 PM »
The London lines out of Liverpool Street are taken over by TFL. The line to Shenfield is operated by TFL (Cross)Rail, the other lines towards Chingford, Chesnut via Seven Sisters and Enfield Town are operated by London Overground.

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1592
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
[London Update] Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #483 on: July 24, 2016, 08:23:55 AM »
Thanks fam621. I'm not updating the full UK map now since things are changing all the time - both liveries and timetables. It's more fun to build new stuff than be constantly updating old stuff. So the UK map reflects the situation from 2014.


I am building a bigger-scale map of London, though, which has more up to date services. I was just coming here to post an updated version of that, so here it is:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/61716/LondonJul16.rar



Since I last posted about this, I've added the C2C Southend lines, the rest of the Great Eastern Main Line, the Great Northern Lines, and the Piccadilly Line. There are still some gaps and issues to iron out. The Northern Line will be next.

You'll notice that the Shenfield/Chingford/etc lines are still Greater Anglia on here too. That's because I built that part of the map before the lines went over to LO. But I will change those in due course...

Offline thegamer7893 england

  • *
  • Posts: 787
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #484 on: July 24, 2016, 11:16:22 AM »
Ok Carl.

There's trains missing, can I have them in a pack please? :)
« Last Edit: July 24, 2016, 08:47:56 PM by Isaac.Eiland-Hall »

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1592
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #485 on: July 24, 2016, 12:28:00 PM »
Which ones are missing?

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1592
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #486 on: July 24, 2016, 04:26:39 PM »
Ah - yes, you need to use the pak.ngb folder that comes in the archive above (here's the link again): https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/61716/LondonJul16.rar

Offline thegamer7893 england

  • *
  • Posts: 787
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #487 on: July 24, 2016, 05:07:50 PM »
I've got the pak.ngb pack but its just the long trains I need, Carl.

Could it be possible if you can make a new updated GB map using these trains please? :)
« Last Edit: July 24, 2016, 08:49:04 PM by Isaac.Eiland-Hall »

Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1592
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #488 on: July 24, 2016, 05:23:37 PM »
The link above has all the files you need to open the LondonJul16.sve. The pak.ngb folder in there is updated with all the long trains and you'll need to copy it over what you have already.

I'm sticking with the London map for now (alongside my other projects) but I might consider doing the UK again sometime in the future. I wouldn't be able to use the long versions of the trains without hugely increasing the size of the map, though.

Offline NoMorePacers

  • *
  • Posts: 185
  • Languages: EN
Re: Great Britain rail network in Simutrans Experimental
« Reply #489 on: July 24, 2016, 06:18:04 PM »
Sorry to be a pain, but the link seems to be broken.