The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: Does Simutrans Auto-Update?  (Read 2666 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Bub

  • *
  • Posts: 51
Does Simutrans Auto-Update?
« on: July 18, 2011, 02:45:39 PM »
     I was wondering if Simutrans Auto-updates, because I had version 102.2.2, and it seemed that I missed version 102.5, now, I have version 110.0.1, and I would like to know if my game can auto-update, and if it can, how can I enable auto-updating?

Offline Václav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3266
  • formerly VaclavMacurek
  • Languages: CZ, EN
Re: Does Simutrans Auto-Update?
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2011, 02:53:17 PM »
You did not miss version 102.5 - because this number of version was not used. But if am not wrong, Simutrans has not self-update mechanism.

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 18688
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Does Simutrans Auto-Update?
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2011, 12:57:20 PM »
Vaclav is correct - Simutrans does not auto update. Watch out for new versions on the Information and Announcements board.

Offline arnoud

  • *
  • Posts: 54
Re: Does Simutrans Auto-Update?
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2011, 01:48:03 PM »
It'll be a nice extension.

Offline Václav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3266
  • formerly VaclavMacurek
  • Languages: CZ, EN
Re: Does Simutrans Auto-Update?
« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2011, 05:44:29 PM »
I am not programmer but regardless of it I am worried about that it is not so easy to prepare auto update mechanism when game has been for more than one OS.

Offline transporter

  • *
  • Posts: 136
Re: Does Simutrans Auto-Update?
« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2011, 08:51:11 PM »
Would it have to be for all OSs? There's already a downloader to install simutrans for windows, would it be possible to add to that a "check for new executable" extension that replaces (and maybe archives to another folder) the older file?

Offline Václav

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 3266
  • formerly VaclavMacurek
  • Languages: CZ, EN
Re: Does Simutrans Auto-Update?
« Reply #6 on: July 19, 2011, 09:27:54 PM »
???
I know about that Windows utility for Simutrans - but it is not auto-update too. It only makes downloading Simutrans simplier.

-->
Admins, I think this topic would fit to Help requests board.

Offline arnoud

  • *
  • Posts: 54
Re: Does Simutrans Auto-Update?
« Reply #7 on: July 20, 2011, 11:37:02 AM »
(and maybe archives to another folder) the older file?
And what if you didn't have enough space?

Offline Lmallet

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 727
  • 128 on the brain...
  • Languages: FR, EN
Re: Does Simutrans Auto-Update?
« Reply #8 on: July 21, 2011, 02:52:09 AM »
Um, I will let a dev give a better answer, but from my experience, some upgrades are actually so important that old saved games will stop working.  In this case, auto-update would be a bad idea...

Offline transporter

  • *
  • Posts: 136
Re: Does Simutrans Auto-Update?
« Reply #9 on: July 21, 2011, 05:38:39 AM »
That's a good point...if only there was someone who archived the complete sets as they get replaced.

And the simutrans executable is small enough that it shouldn't matter for a while. If it becomes implemented, maybe there could be an option to either keep or delete the old one

Offline prissi

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9512
  • Languages: De,EN,JP
Re: Does Simutrans Auto-Update?
« Reply #10 on: July 21, 2011, 07:26:24 PM »
Auto update would be only relevant for servers, since simutrans has no network functionality that can be used for braking into a computer and most known bugs are rather minor for years. And as soon as you do onlyine games, you need to have a curretn client that matches the server.