The International Simutrans Forum

 

Author Topic: How to make line call at different platform when mirrored  (Read 3462 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline omikron

  • *
  • Posts: 110
  • Languages: EN, DE, NO, FR, EE
How to make line call at different platform when mirrored
« on: January 28, 2012, 03:49:29 PM »
I have a railway line with a two-platform station. How do I make the train call at one platform in one direction and on the other when mirrored?

Do I have to manually select the line both directions, or use platform choose signals or is there another way?

omikron

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18619
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: How to make line call at different platform when mirrored
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2012, 03:57:16 PM »
From what I understand (I did not write this feature), it is automatic.

Offline wlindley us

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 965
    • Hacking for fun and profit since 1977
  • Languages: EN, DE
Re: How to make line call at different platform when mirrored
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2012, 07:38:40 PM »
Either use a fully manual platform selection (instead of mirroring), or the choose platform signals.  As yet, the code cannot guess your intentions.  (I sure wish it would, having to set platform assignments is one of the few things I find bothersome in Experimental.)

Offline omikron

  • *
  • Posts: 110
  • Languages: EN, DE, NO, FR, EE
Re: How to make line call at different platform when mirrored
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2012, 08:31:08 PM »
Thank you for the clarification. I was afraid this would be the case...

Offline wlindley us

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 965
    • Hacking for fun and profit since 1977
  • Languages: EN, DE
Re: How to make line call at different platform when mirrored
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2012, 06:03:38 PM »
If you would like to propose an algorithm for how it would work, it surely meritss discussion.

Offline omikron

  • *
  • Posts: 110
  • Languages: EN, DE, NO, FR, EE
Re: How to make line call at different platform when mirrored
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2012, 06:26:17 PM »
Well, I can't say that I understand enough of the game's internal workings to be of much help. All I can think of is the following:

a. a box or something to check in the schedule window if the station has multiple platforms
b. the platforms should be made one-way with signals (as image)
c. the routing algorithm must (in this case) accept adjacent squares

Do you think that would work?

omikron


Offline wlindley us

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 965
    • Hacking for fun and profit since 1977
  • Languages: EN, DE
Re: How to make line call at different platform when mirrored
« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2012, 08:38:56 PM »
Wasn't there a patch somewhere, to the effect that if a train ran through a sufficiently large platform at its next station stop before reaching the specific platform in the schedule, that would count as the station stop?

Offline mwoodburn81

  • *
  • Posts: 81
Re: How to make line call at different platform when mirrored
« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2012, 04:46:05 AM »
I do believe that there was.   But obviously it is no longer working.   

Offline omikron

  • *
  • Posts: 110
  • Languages: EN, DE, NO, FR, EE
Re: How to make line call at different platform when mirrored
« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2012, 07:57:01 AM »
I made an error last night, the signals obviously would have to block the station exit, not the entrance....

The patch would be perfect, yes.

omikron

Offline sdog

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 2039
Re: How to make line call at different platform when mirrored
« Reply #9 on: January 31, 2012, 08:01:43 AM »
the algorithm also checks if the platform in the schedule can be reached within a set number of tiles. If it can, it won't call at the first platform but go through the specific platform in the schedule.

If the rail is connected after the platforms as in the drawing
--+X====+X----  <
----X+====X+--  >

X: point, connecting both directions
-  track
= platform
+ one-way signals (indicated by arrow)

The upper platform is the one in the schedule,
a train going right would call at the lower platform
but as there is a short enough way to the upper platform
it will turn around and go to that.


The screenshot you posted, looks like it could be at the edge, where what i described happens. (it looks a bit long though)

Offline omikron

  • *
  • Posts: 110
  • Languages: EN, DE, NO, FR, EE
Re: How to make line call at different platform when mirrored
« Reply #10 on: January 31, 2012, 08:27:31 AM »
Thanks, it actually works!


Offline Carl

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 1574
    • Website
  • Languages: EN
Re: How to make line call at different platform when mirrored
« Reply #11 on: January 31, 2012, 08:50:35 AM »
So this is already coded into Experimental?

the algorithm also checks if the platform in the schedule can be reached within a set number of tiles. If it can, it won't call at the first platform but go through the specific platform in the schedule.


What is the set number of tiles?

Offline jamespetts gb

  • Simutrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 18619
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: How to make line call at different platform when mirrored
« Reply #12 on: January 31, 2012, 10:53:50 AM »
Unless my memory fails me, this has been in Experimental for a while, although I cannot remember now the exact number of tiles, I am afraid.

Offline wlindley us

  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 965
    • Hacking for fun and profit since 1977
  • Languages: EN, DE
Re: How to make line call at different platform when mirrored
« Reply #13 on: January 31, 2012, 10:56:18 AM »
Cheers omikron for that -- works wonderfully!  and cheers james, this deserves a bigger highlight in some future gameplay handbook.