News:

Want to praise Simutrans?
Your feedback is important for us ;D.

Get coordinates "z"

Started by Yona-TYT, March 09, 2017, 10:02:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Yona-TYT

I do not know if it is possible, but I would like to get the height of a tile (even if it is empty).

jameskuyper

I've carefully studied the documentation, but I have not had time to do any testing, and I have no actual experience with scripting for simutrans. However, since no one better qualified than me has answered yet, I'll give it a shot.

tile_x is derived from coord3d, and is therefore supposed to have a member named z that gives the height. If you don't already have a tile_x object, and what you want is to know the ground-level height for a given value of x and y, I think you can construct a square_x object using x and y, and then call get_ground_tile() to obtain a tile_x object describing the ground-level tile in that square.

Dwachs

Parsley, sage, rosemary, and maggikraut.

Yona-TYT

Thanks, this saves me a few lines of code.  ;)

jameskuyper

Note: while checking this out, I noticed that <http://dwachs.github.io/simutrans-sqapi-doc/classtile__x.html> describes the second and third parameters of the tile_x constructor as both being named 'y', and in the description below, it describes both 'y' parameters as having the same meaning: "z-coordinate".  Someone needed some sleep when they wrote that.  :-)

Dwachs

I also noticed this :) Should be correct now.

Yona-TYT

Is it possible to get the height of the underground slope?  ???

jameskuyper