News:

Do you need help?
Simutrans Wiki Manual can help you to play and extend Simutrans. In 9 languages.

Can I create a realistic simulation of Delhi City

Started by dilipdamle, November 07, 2009, 03:14:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dilipdamle

Hello everyone,

I am not a gamer,

I am Dilip Damle (50)  based in New Delhi, India
I am a freelance Engineer.
I have expertise in Cad , and related fields.

I am interested to know if "Simutrans" can be used for a real
simulation of a complete city.

I am interested in simulating DELHI.
Can somobody point me in the right direction.

Rgds

Dilip Damle

DirrrtyDirk

From what I believe you mean... I'd say no.

First of all Simutrans really is a game. It is made for entertainment and fun - it's not a realistic, scientific or engineering simulation.

Also it is a transportation game, not a city simulator - i.e. your role in Simutrans is that of the head of a transportation company. You're not a mayor or city planner (although some editor tools allow you to actually fulfill some of their functions as well, but it is just a rudimentary set of tools and actions, a way of "cheating" in the actual game as some would call it.)

So, if you look for something that provides fun and entertainment, Simutrans is indeed a good option. But if you look for something that works as a simulator for the real world (maybe something you could even use for your job as an engineer) - no way! Cities in Simutrans are much too simplified for that.

***** PAK128 Dev Team - semi-retired*****

colonyan

This game is oriented toward construction and management of
public transportation. City only grows generally and only player's
performance affect there growth speed.

Not that specific city specialize in certain type of industry by any coding,
they just are placed randomly.

Also it is more the simulation of whole region/country than each city or
urban area.

So I see mainly three type of players
-Managers:Control of fleet