News:

Simutrans Tools
Know our tools that can help you to create add-ons, install and customize Simutrans.

Recovery of savegames

Started by Taurus, July 24, 2015, 04:27:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Taurus

I overwrote a savegame with another by accident. Is there any way of recovering the overwritten save file?

Ters

Quote from: Taurus on July 24, 2015, 04:27:33 PM
I overwrote a savegame with another by accident. Is there any way of recovering the overwritten save file?

Not using Simutrans itself. You can look into recovering lost files in general, but the only reliable way of recovering lost files is to take backups before they are lost. I have no experience with recovery software since the undelete command in MS-DOS back in the early/mid 1990s, and that was for deleted files, not overwritten files. The most important thing when something needs to be rescued on a file system, is to stop using that file system. Continued use will eventually result in the data being physically overwritten. At that point, I'm not sure even a professional data recovery company can recover it, and they are seriously expensive.

There are two kinds of people: those who have lost data, and those that are going to lose data.

Taurus

Thanks for the help. Was able to recover the savegame with Piriform Recuva.

Ters

Good to hear. Consider yourself lucky, although it's probably not quite pure chance that the data was still hanging around on the disk somewhere. It also shows that deleting a file doesn't mean the data is gone, if anyone ever wants to get rid of something forever.

DrSuperGood

QuoteIt also shows that deleting a file doesn't mean the data is gone, if anyone ever wants to get rid of something forever.