News:

Want to praise Simutrans?
Your feedback is important for us ;D.

9.2: severe bug with waiting times

Started by Carl, January 17, 2011, 04:58:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Carl

Hi all,

I finally decided to switch to 9.2 -- but I've had some very strange experiences with a large map created in 8.2. It ran fine for a month or two, but now almost all of the waiting times at stations have increased to implausible amounts (e.g. Peterborough, 50 mins. travelling, 2479 mins waiting). Obviously this causes chaos with the network. The problem seems only to be getting worse with each passing game-month.

I've made some in-game changes to the Settings menu -- reducing the passenger-factor and increasing the distance_per_tile -- but I don't see how that could have caused the problem.

Any idea what could be causing this trouble? I can upload a save if that would help.

Many thanks!

jamespetts

Jha4ceb,

thank you for your report. Firstly, can I check - are you running the 32-bit Linux binary with 64-bit Linux? If so, that is quite likely a cause of your problem (the 64-bit binary works now).

If not, then can you upload your saved game (preferably the game as saved by 8.2 if you have it as well as the new one from 9.2) so that I can investigate? Thank you for your help, and sorry that you have had problems.
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Carl

I'm running the Windows binary on a 64-bit system.

Here's the offending file:
http://simutrans-germany.com/files/upload/UK3-9.sve

And here's a version created and saved in 8.2.
http://simutrans-germany.com/files/upload/UK3-aargh.sve

Here's my pak folder for add-ons, etc:
http://simutrans-germany.com/files/upload/jha4ceb-pak.rar

The 9.2 version is a couple of months along from the 8.2 version -- that's how long it took for the problem to appear.