News:

The Forum Rules and Guidelines
Our forum has Rules and Guidelines. Please, be kind and read them ;).

Managing city growth

Started by Osric, February 15, 2015, 07:10:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Osric

Hi guys. I'm hoping someone can help me with this. I have been playing for several years PAK128 Britain and love it, but always have a problem with sprawling city growth. Is there a way to say limit city growth to areas with station coverage? I have tried boxing cities in with electric wires but that is an unsatisfactory arrangement, and no good with eras prior to electrification. What I'd really like to do is say  manage city growth by setting up a new station with a road network and have the expansion occur only within the established road network and all further growth limited to increasing population density rather than endless low density urban sprawl. Perhaps this could be achieved by preventing the AI constructing its own roads? Any ideas to manage this issue would be gratefully received as dealing with an endless sprawl of low density housing always ruins the game for me.

prissi

You can have a modified tab of rules for city growth. However, then city growth will already fail at the start and you need to grow the city manually.

Spenk009

There is an option for preferring to replace existing buildings rather than build new ones. This is found in cityrules.tab, but not in the game windows.

# citys will not growth further along exiting roads, if the buildings density is lower (in percent)
minimum_building_desity = 33

Have a look at lowering this value. Less sprawling cities should result.

DrSuperGood

Quote from: Spenk009 on February 16, 2015, 10:35:48 AM
There is an option for preferring to replace existing buildings rather than build new ones. This is found in cityrules.tab, but not in the game windows.

# citys will not growth further along exiting roads, if the buildings density is lower (in percent)
minimum_building_desity = 33