News:

Simutrans Sites
Know our official sites. Find tools and resources for Simutrans.

Newcomer greetings and questions

Started by SirTurtleton, November 24, 2016, 06:19:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SirTurtleton

Hello all,
I am new to Simutrans Standard and Experimental. I played a bit of the former but decided to switch to the latter as it offers more challenges. I have some experience with OTTD but I find that it doesn't apply to much n this game. While configuring out the game's mechanics and good way to set up passenger and goods lines, I saw the " Base profit per km" on details window of train's cars. It differs in each type of car so I wonder what it means and how it fits in the profit calcultion. Also, for details of locomotives, is there any tutorial or guide to calculate tractive effort, power,etc in order to find suitable and efficient machine for different convoys and tasks?
Also, I find it a bit difficult to calculate distance between stations/stops . I play on Britain pak so I presume that 1 tile= 125m but the pricing of roads and tracks seem to be off. For example, n 1850, wrought iron track 7t 85 km/h is listed at 320$ per km but when I tested it on 1km (8 tiles), it costs 464$. Did I do something wrong? Also, how do I calculate distance with curved ways? or it's better to build the track, create a line, buy a cheap vehicle and let the computer figures it out?
So far, I find Simutrans Experimental satisfying and a true simulation. I thank you for the game!

jamespetts

Hello! Welcome to the forums and Simutrans. I am glad that you are finding the game interesting. I answer your questions under subheadings below.

Base profit per km