News:

Simutrans Wiki Manual
The official on-line manual for Simutrans. Read and contribute.

What skills required to help develop simutrans?

Started by davidh, September 07, 2009, 02:52:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

davidh

Hi Guys

I've been a simutrans player for some years, started back on version 86.x I think. I've been a software engineer for a lot longer and I was wondering about contributing some code. Most of my career has been working with databases and I've not done any raw code hacking for a good while so I was wondering what skills are you looking for in contributors? I tried to checkout the source to take a look at it; but I needed a username / pw to get at it.

Cheers

David

vilvoh

Several references about the issue:

Btw, to contribute with code, you at least need to know some programming, specially C++.

Mod edit: Fixed broken link. "Source Code article" is now in a new wiki.
~IgorEliezer

Escala Real...a blog about Simutrans in Spanish...

davidh

userfriendly

The "Source Code article at the wiki" link seems to be broken.
What are the skill requirements to contribute?
Just be good to each other.

jamespetts

The skill requirements depend on what kind of feature that you want to contribute - for adding more basic features to the code, a basic understanding of C++ (and a willingness to learn) will suffice. For more advanced features, a more in-depth understanding of programming is helpful.

For working on paksets (graphics, data) no programming knowledge as such is required, but depending on the pakset workflow, some graphical knowledge and ability to balance/research is needed.
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Y5mpF3