News:

Simutrans.com Portal
Our Simutrans site. You can find everything about Simutrans from here.

Zero City Growth --> SimutransCity

Started by Isaac Eiland-Hall, November 01, 2012, 08:12:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Isaac Eiland-Hall

Hidden buildings:

Shown buildings:

Detail of N/S Freeway interchange with main E/W artery:

Detail of N/S Freeway street interchange:

Detail of E/W Artery in front of city hall:

I've got an extension request here: http://forum.simutrans.com/index.php?topic=10699.0

Now that I can turn city growth off and safely build roads that won't be taken over by the city, I need a tool to help rebuild the patches that I have to destroy while working with my city... We need tools to build a random building (res/com/ind), then a +1 and -1 that applies to a single tile. :)

One final one with buildings near the edge of the city - E/W artery split by a tile (took over two city streets):

Sarlock

Beautiful!  From the moment I started playing again a few months ago I realized the potential that Simutrans had as a city simulator with very little changes.  It has everything already: buildings, roads, transportation networks... it just needs a few little tools to make it easier to run a city manually instead of automated and it opens a huge door.

I look at projects like Carl's simulation of the British rail network and see what huge potential this game has as not just a simulation but as a model maker's dream come true.  To be able to make a scale model of a city complete with its transit network is an amazing thing... and this game is already capable of doing it without any changes!  A few extra tools will just make it easier to accomplish and a bit less tedious.