News:

Simutrans Chat Room
Where cool people of Simutrans can meet up.

Creating Pak Files: DAT file & PNG image corralation

Started by odst23, September 03, 2011, 08:47:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

odst23

My question is how do I tell the DAT file what parts of the PNG image are which, and how to merge the two together. I looked in your wiki manuals for PNG image creation, they ether weren't links or the pages were blank. I am kinda new to the development of pak files, but I've cached on with a few things. I've got the DAT file down, I think, here it is:

obj=vehicle
name=(don't want my name stolen lol)
copywrite=FV_inc.
intro_month=5
intro_year=2200
runningcost=850
cost=650160
weight=9
gear=1
power=6582
speed=385
payload=0
freight=none
vehicle=8
waytype=rail
engine_type=hydrogen

Unfortunately, I also don't know how to post my PNG picture on here, but I will use an example PNG image from the simutrans wiki manual (DAT file creation) as a representation:

My PNG image is kinda like that, only that every angle of my vehicle is in a single row, if it makes any difference, and that I want mine in pak128 format.

Here's the example image's example DAT file:

obj=vehicle
name=Güterwagen_1850
waytype=track
freight=Kohle
payload=5
speed=45
cost=25000
weight=4
RunningCost=1
intro_year=1850
intro_month=1
retire_year=1875
retire_month=7
EmptyImage(S)=wg.0.0 ##
EmptyImage(W)=wg.0.1 ##
EmptyImage(SE)=wg.0.2 ##
EmptyImage(SW)=wg.0.3 ##
FreightImage(S)=wg.1.0
FreightImage(W)=wg.1.1
FreightImage(SE)=wg.1.2
FreightImage(SW)=wg.1.3

I'm curious as to what unit of measurement the ## lines are using. I have the following programs you guys said I need to have:

-Gimp
-Pakmaker
-Makeobj
-Pakhelper

I learn quickly, so If anyone can briefly explain how to correlate the PNG image to the DAT file, and also use Pakhelper to 'pak' it all together, that'll be awesome!

vilvoh

The layout is the following: