News:

Simutrans Wiki Manual
The official on-line manual for Simutrans. Read and contribute.

Helping hand for a beginner

Started by tykemalcolm, May 15, 2015, 12:09:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

tykemalcolm

I'm completely new to Simutrans, I only installed it about 3 days ago. I'm using the British pak and have created a rail connection between a coalmine and a power station. The line runs 1 train and 7 coal cars. I'm making money on the deliveries, but the maintenance costs are causing an overall loss. Does anyone have any suggestions? Should I play using a different pak?

Ters

You might be using the wrong locomotive. Some locomotives are made for speed, and will only be profitable when hauling passengers at high speed. Coal doesn't usually mind much about speed, and can use a slower and cheaper locomotive. You might also have built a costly track meant for high speed trains. Finding the correct combination of vehicles and infrastructure for a certain cargo is one of the central parts of the game. (At least until you've built enought profitable lines to begin drowning in money.) Detours can also be costly, as each tile you drive across costs money in running costs, but you only get paid for the straight distance between stations.

tykemalcolm

Thanks - that's possible. Is there any way to preview the locomotives and rolling stock prior to laying track so that you determine the best way to go? Also, is there any way to see what the maintenance cost of a building is prior to contruction - for instance, the train depot. How does the game determine payment for goods delivered? You said in your response that payment is calculated based on a stright line distance - so is each good rated differently? I'm assuming they are?

DirrrtyDirk

You only need two tiles of track and a depot to see a available vehicles - other than that, there is no other option in game that I know of.

The number in () is maintenance cost.