News:

Simutrans Forum Archive
A complete record of the old Simutrans Forum.

feedback from new guy

Started by phillyj, February 25, 2014, 04:58:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

phillyj

Hi,
I started playing simutrans recently. I like it, especially the money management aspect. For example, I like looking for ways to reduce operation expenses and increase profits or making unprofitable ventures go "into the black".

Now, I read a few forums posts here from new users and also read some blog post reviews.

• I will say that this game has a gaming curve but the documentation is seriously lacking. For example, while it is obvious, a common reason that your train or truck "can't find route" is because your road or track is not linked. I made a track but I didn't notice that the track was not linked. The error message was vague and internet search provided very few clues. This put me off train building cause it just wouldn't work. I wonder how many people just gave up after an hour or so? Or what about the issue of multi-trailer trucks not being able to fit into the loading bay? The simple fix is to add a bus stop to extend the dock. I found one post that provided a solution. They're very silly problems but there is no help documentation, other than what things do.
  • Next, while install is easy to do, I had no idea at first what these paks were. I downloaded 2 paks and am playing with comic96 now. And I'm not really sure what the differences are. It seems to me from reading the forums that paks are more than "skins". I chose comic pak because it looked the nicest. These things are not clearly explained on the pak website.

Overall, a fun game, once you figure out how to solve the errors. By the way, do you play single player mode with multiple AI competitors?

Ters

Feedback is always useful.