Author Topic: Trams without roads  (Read 1029 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline accord2

Trams without roads
« on: December 20, 2017, 07:53:55 PM »
I have seen in other paksets and in real life too, that trams can be "used" without a road under it. I think it would be a cool feature, tram tracks independent from roads. What do you think?
Son of a railroad man,  growing up in train stations, lover of trains

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 17011
  • Total likes: 554
  • Country: gb
  • Helpful: 187
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Trams without roads
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2017, 08:34:06 PM »
This is already possible: just use an ordinary railway line: it can connect to the tram tracks.
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline ROCAMBOLER529

Re: Trams without roads
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2017, 08:58:57 PM »
but if u use a tram without a route... Is not the same if u use a railway with the same speed limit?

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 17011
  • Total likes: 554
  • Country: gb
  • Helpful: 187
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Trams without roads
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2017, 09:05:40 PM »
I do not understand.
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline Leartin

Re: Trams without roads
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2017, 08:10:18 AM »
Wait, is there a way to force trams to be buildt on road? Is that a feature in Standard? Afaik trams can always be buildt on empty ground - and need to, since you can't place the tram depot on roads.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 17011
  • Total likes: 554
  • Country: gb
  • Helpful: 187
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Trams without roads
« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2017, 11:44:09 AM »
Wait, is there a way to force trams to be buildt on road? Is that a feature in Standard? Afaik trams can always be buildt on empty ground - and need to, since you can't place the tram depot on roads.

In Extended, tram lines proper can only be built:
(1) on roads; or
(2) on one tile of ground being not a road that is connected to a tram track on a road.

Thus, to build a segregated section of track for trams, one would build the tram track one tile out of a road, and then connect an ordinary railway line to it.
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline Isaac.Eiland-Hall

  • Benevolent Dictator
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3497
  • Total likes: 384
  • Country: us
  • Helpful: 92
  • PanamaCityPC.com/support/
    • Facebook Profile
  • Languages: EN
Re: Trams without roads
« Reply #6 on: December 21, 2017, 04:30:06 PM »
OR from the sound of it - as long as the tiles could be connected - one could build a road tile every third tile and lay tram track. :D

Offline HarrierST

Re: Trams without roads
« Reply #7 on: December 22, 2017, 02:05:44 AM »
In Extended, tram lines proper can only be built:
(1) on roads; or
(2) on one tile of ground being not a road that is connected to a tram track on a road.

Thus, to build a segregated section of track for trams, one would build the tram track one tile out of a road, and then connect an ordinary railway line to it.

But in Blackpool trams were not on roads (in most cases) from near the Airport to Fleetwood (quite a few miles). They were  on parallel tracks on the promenade.  They only entered the towns roads from the depot or near the center of town.  Most of those town center road tracks were scrapped in mid 60's (due to traffic congestion), except for a route around a sea front hotel.

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 17011
  • Total likes: 554
  • Country: gb
  • Helpful: 187
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Trams without roads
« Reply #8 on: December 22, 2017, 11:53:19 AM »
But in Blackpool trams were not on roads (in most cases) from near the Airport to Fleetwood (quite a few miles). They were  on parallel tracks on the promenade.  They only entered the towns roads from the depot or near the center of town.  Most of those town center road tracks were scrapped in mid 60's (due to traffic congestion), except for a route around a sea front hotel.

No doubt - but segregated tram tracks are most usually made of ordinary rails rather than tram rails. Tram rails only make sense when they are sunk into a road-like surface: where there is no road, ordinary rails protruding from the ground held in place by sleepers have to be used. It is possible in theory for a segregated section to be concreted in using tram rails: this is equivalent in Simutrans terms to the player building a road, putting no entry signs at either end to stop any motor vehicles using it, and then putting tram tracks on it.
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.

Offline accord2

Re: Trams without roads
« Reply #9 on: December 22, 2017, 12:07:28 PM »
And you think tram signalling was possible to add?
Son of a railroad man,  growing up in train stations, lover of trains

Offline jamespetts

  • Simitrans-Extended project coordinator
  • Devotee
  • *
  • Posts: 17011
  • Total likes: 554
  • Country: gb
  • Helpful: 187
  • Cake baker
    • Bridgewater-Brunel
  • Languages: EN
Re: Trams without roads
« Reply #10 on: December 22, 2017, 12:16:19 PM »
And you think tram signalling was possible to add?

Trams traditionally used drive by sight, which in any event is the most efficient signalling system for vehicles with low top speeds, such as early trams. It is possible, however, to use any available signalling system with trams in Simutrans-Extended.
Download Simutrans-Extended.

Want to help with development? See here for things to do for coding, and here for information on how to make graphics/objects.

Follow Simutrans-Extended on Facebook.