The International Simutrans Forum

PakSets and Customization => Pak128.Britain => Topic started by: AP on January 18, 2009, 09:43:32 PM

Title: Where is PakGB?
Post by: AP on January 18, 2009, 09:43:32 PM
Hi all.

I have been trying to find a link to a copy of the pak- britain files. Can anyone help?
Title: Re: Where is PakGB?
Post by: vilvoh on January 18, 2009, 10:09:31 PM
I think you should ask kierogreen, the pak mantainer (at least it was in the old forum)
There is a pakGB board in the archive (link (http://archive.forum.simutrans.com/board/00118.0/index.html)) with some download link of pakGB for 0.99.14
Title: Re: Where is PakGB?
Post by: Frank on January 18, 2009, 10:25:36 PM

0.100.0 (http://www.simutrans-forum.de/forum/thread.php?postid=35524#post35524)
0.99.17.1 (http://simutrans-germany.com/wiki/wiki/tiki-read_article.php?articleId=48)
0.99.16 (http://simutrans-germany.com/wiki/wiki/tiki-read_article.php?articleId=43)
Title: Re: Where is PakGB?
Post by: AP on January 18, 2009, 11:54:05 PM
Cheers.  :)
Title: Re: Where is PakGB?
Post by: The Hood on January 19, 2009, 09:53:33 AM
I am planning a new release of PakBritain in a couple of months with some new features - unfortunately I can't give a date on this as I'm pretty busy and I don't want to release until it is significantly more complete than the existing download.

The plan is to include:
- British industry set (mostly complete)
- Updated rail set with wagons for all cargos in British industry set (to do)
- Truck set for all cargos in British industry set (to do)
- Bus set (to do drawings, dat files already supplied by jamespetts)

As ever I will keep posting updates on the forum!

This should make it less reliant on existing components of standard Pak128.  The new release may also take advantage of some of the coding features in patches by jamespetts, but this is still to be decided.

Officially Kieron is still the maintainer, but he has even less time than me and no internet connection...
Title: Re: Where is PakGB?
Post by: kierongreen on January 19, 2009, 05:03:09 PM
I have internet connection again :) Not a huge amount of time though (my evenings seem to be endlessly filled with meetings at the moment and I work during the day obviously...).
Title: Re: Where is PakGB?
Post by: jamespetts on January 20, 2009, 08:54:00 PM
Welcome back online, Kieron!
Title: Re: Where is PakGB?
Post by: [TSC] Miles on January 29, 2009, 03:18:53 PM
the pack GB is match whit windows XP? because i hate vista ==
Title: Re: Where is PakGB?
Post by: DirrrtyDirk on January 29, 2009, 03:22:12 PM
XP or Vista - it doesn't matter for Simutrans. And a pak (no "c"!) set doesn't care about the OS at all.
Title: Re: Where is PakGB?
Post by: vilvoh on January 29, 2009, 03:28:02 PM
Btw, the sources are available at SourceForge.net SVN repository altought there's only one object, a train... :-\
Title: Re: Where is PakGB?
Post by: IgorEliezer on January 29, 2009, 03:32:15 PM
Slight question?

{PakGB != PakBritain} = true or false
Title: Re: Where is PakGB?
Post by: DirrrtyDirk on January 29, 2009, 03:36:05 PM
False, I guess.

I think they both mean the same. It's just one more occurence of people not using the real names of things, and instead making up their own.
Title: Re: Where is PakGB?
Post by: jamespetts on January 29, 2009, 03:58:15 PM
From what I understand, the official name is PakBritain. "Pak128-GB" is a shortened name used for the folder. Thus, they are both the same thing. I do not know why there are two names used.
Title: Re: Where is PakGB?
Post by: vilvoh on January 29, 2009, 04:03:26 PM
So, finally it's pakBritain.128 codename Pak128-GB, isn't it? On for the releases and the other for development versions..
Title: Re: Where is PakGB?
Post by: The Hood on January 29, 2009, 05:37:50 PM
I have to admit partially causing the confusion with all the different names...

Official name is "PakBritain".  As it is a 128-scale pak, the SVN directory is PakBritain.128 at prissi's suggestion.  Pak128-gb is a directory name that the files have been in previous releases (ask kieron about that one!).  PakGB has never been used in any official stuff I don't think.

As to SVN only containing one train - that was just a test really.  I am hoping to add stuff over time.  I have hinted that may even be tonight, depending on how much time I get and if I do other stuff.  However, it won't be a complete stand-alone release for some time, and will still need parts of standard pak128.

Any questions just start a thread or PM me.
Title: Re: Where is PakGB?
Post by: wernieman on January 29, 2009, 06:12:07 PM
Will there be a automatik way to generate the PAK?

Like the make in pak64, or the pakmak.py in pak128?
Title: Re: Where is PakGB?
Post by: The Hood on January 29, 2009, 06:27:15 PM
Err... Don't know how to do that!  So not likely to start with.  I was planning on putting a pak/ subfolder with ready-made paks in for now.

At any rate it's not possible to run without the aid of standard pak128, (basically just standard pak128 with some replacement sets so far).  Once there is a standalone version, it might be a good idea to add the make thing you suggest - could you let me know how to do this?
Title: Re: Where is PakGB?
Post by: VS on January 29, 2009, 08:32:17 PM
You can have the system from 128, which werner learned to love ;D It is written in Python, fairly stable,...