The International Simutrans Forum

PakSets and Customization => Pak128 Add-ons and Graphics => Pak128 => Pak128 Incorporated Add-ons and Graphics => Topic started by: Fabio on January 28, 2009, 10:43:39 AM

Title: Rivers for pak128
Post by: Fabio on January 28, 2009, 10:43:39 AM
Rivers for PAK 128 are READY!!!

(http://photos-b.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2103/109/2/570648252/n570648252_1335961_1764.jpg)
(http://photos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2103/109/2/570648252/n570648252_1335962_2007.jpg)
(http://photos-d.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2103/109/2/570648252/n570648252_1335963_2237.jpg)
(http://photos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2103/109/2/570648252/n570648252_1335964_2477.jpg)
(http://photos-b.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2103/109/2/570648252/n570648252_1338361_2547.jpg)



They are new channel named river.
ATM i disabled the icon, so that they are used only when you generate a new map (ver. 101.1-2266 28/01/09 or newer); yet with no icon the player can't build his own river, but only canals. If possible, it would be nice to have its icon for Public Services, as it happens with cityroads.
Max speed and max weight are trivial and can be adjusted.

Here are the sources:
[ obsolete - removed ]



Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: sojo on January 28, 2009, 10:57:27 AM
yet with no icon the player can't build his own river, but only canals.
At the moment, there is a problem. If you delete the crossing, the first remove is for the river. So you can not build the river, only a channel.
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: Roads on January 28, 2009, 05:19:19 PM
Looking great!  Many thanks to all who are working on it.  If possible, it would be good if the names were posted.  They deserve recognition!
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: gauthier on January 28, 2009, 05:22:56 PM
Is it already implemented in nightlies ?
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: DirrrtyDirk on January 28, 2009, 05:37:02 PM
Should be.
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: VS on January 28, 2009, 05:42:24 PM
Yes.
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: whoami-test on January 28, 2009, 06:00:58 PM
If you delete the crossing, the first remove is for the river.
I assume that this needs to be changed in the program. Would you mind opening a bug report, or do you want this post to be moved there? Canals+rivers should be removed last, due to their high cost, and the low probability of an alternative route.

Actually, IMO rivers shouldn't be deletable tile by tile in their middle, because the water needs to flow somewhere.

EDIT: stupid me used the wrong account.
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: IgorEliezer on January 28, 2009, 06:33:19 PM
Actually, IMO rivers shouldn't be deletable tile by tile in their middle, because the water needs to flow somewhere.

I think rivers could be deletable tile by tile in their middle only if you have build an alternative way for its course first. Also, if a river crosses a city, you will want to "change" the river course.

EDIT: topic name changed... and, seems we have a problem: the discussion about river development has split up into 3 topics... :(

Please, keep the discussion here on graphic approach.
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: DirrrtyDirk on January 28, 2009, 06:51:07 PM
the discussion about river development has split up into 3 topics... :(

And that's only here... some of it is duplicated in the German forum as well... talk about keeping track of this whole topic  ???
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: VS on January 30, 2009, 09:02:30 AM
Since it's now possible to have multiple types of river for different sizes, could you please try to make some more? :)
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: Fabio on January 30, 2009, 09:12:14 AM
Sure, i will! but please tell me how should i code them in dats (i need te test them!!!)
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: sojo on January 30, 2009, 09:43:30 AM
At simuconf.tab:

Code: [Select]
river_type[x]=name
 x=0...9 the highest is the smallest river. Will be 2 river to 1 so will be used the next x. And so one.

For rivers is max speed 0.

This has prissi written in the german forum. I hope I have it translated corectly.

Edit: My english is bad :(
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: wernieman on January 30, 2009, 10:30:31 AM
Or look at the PAK64 SVN. I think prissy code some river....

Or if you have some grafik, I could look of I could write the dat and pak it for you ...

@sojo:
My english is baaaaaaad tooooooooo  >:(
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: Fabio on January 30, 2009, 11:31:20 AM
Or look at the PAK64 SVN. I think prissy code some river....

I have access only to pak 128 svn... can you provide me with a .dat file?
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: vilvoh on January 30, 2009, 11:46:09 AM
The SVN is public... you can access to it through Simutrans SF.net website: http://simutrans.svn.sourceforge.net/ (http://simutrans.svn.sourceforge.net/)

Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: Fabio on January 30, 2009, 11:55:13 AM
stupid me, i just realised this now...

anyway, thanks!!!
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: whoami on January 30, 2009, 05:31:59 PM
For rivers is max speed 0.
Apparently, this is not required (pak64 waterways.dat (http://simutrans.svn.sourceforge.net/viewvc/simutrans/pak64/way/waterways.dat?view=markup)), but by this, a river can be coded to be unusable by ships.
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: VS on January 30, 2009, 05:55:05 PM
Well, the way you made the first river was just what it needed. Now there is possibility to have more types, so it might be good to have more of them with varying sizes. The only requirements  for "rivers" (and not really enforced) are:
1) water waytype obviously
2) player can't build (probably better)
3) added in simuconf.tab as a river

I updated 128 to match this specification and added your river. If you update your wc (working copy of svn), it should be there... also check out the pak64 repo, as suggested, it uses two river sizes.

One thing that I wanted to tell you about your first river was, the end (start?) tile does not have to be covered completely with sand or what it is. Oh and one more. It is straight, straight, straight... Natural foramtions are all but that. For the largest river size it is fine, but smaller ones should have a bit more jagged edges, so that they don't look as abandoned canals.
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: Fabio on January 31, 2009, 10:02:05 PM
thank you for your suggestion, i started working exactly the way you told me now...
i hope i'll manage to finish it next week (i'm a bit caught these days, but i'm working on it)
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: VS on February 01, 2009, 07:15:16 PM
Don't hurry, I prefer quality. Take as long as you need :)
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: IgorEliezer on February 03, 2009, 07:42:56 PM
2) player can't build (probably better)

If a river crosses through a city and I want to change its course. How could I do it? ;D
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: VS on February 03, 2009, 07:50:07 PM
As a public service... Frank enabled their icons and made them special item (system_type=255) and I just now changed menuconf to show them in editor toolbar for PA.
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: wernieman on February 05, 2009, 09:06:42 PM
I don't want to make you angry but ....

Have you the river next week?
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: hApo on February 07, 2009, 03:25:50 PM
Rivers...
And what about the lakes or waterfalls?
Title: New rivers for pak128 - screenshots
Post by: Fabio on February 09, 2009, 02:02:37 PM
The work is almost done, i want to test them better.

Lighter water is for streams (not navigable), darker (= canals and sea) for navigable rivers.

(http://photos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2268/109/2/570648252/n570648252_1391628_3580.jpg)
(http://photos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2268/109/2/570648252/n570648252_1391629_3804.jpg)
(http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2268/109/2/570648252/n570648252_1391630_4018.jpg)
(http://photos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2268/109/2/570648252/n570648252_1391631_4222.jpg)


TODO list:
- some ice for winter images
- some shadows
- small details at stream source (maybe also in rapids?)

Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: gerw on February 09, 2009, 02:09:19 PM
Very nice!
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: VS on February 09, 2009, 02:10:05 PM
Excellent!

/jumps on bandwagon
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: Combuijs on February 09, 2009, 02:10:46 PM
Lovely!
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: jamespetts on February 09, 2009, 02:51:20 PM
I love the streams! Very nice. Any possibility of slightly reducing the contrast between streams and rivers to produce a smoother transition?
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: Ashley on February 09, 2009, 02:55:59 PM
Suggestion - Add white water/flowing animation (not sure if this is possible for ways nowadays) for the slope bits.

Otherwise this looks very nice :)
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: VS on February 09, 2009, 03:00:36 PM
Oh, one idea (perhaps for after this is done) - it might be possible to add some stuff in turns where is enough empty space. Like reed or such... putting that on straight sections is not good because of repetitions. But that is just cherry on top :) For now, thee streams absolutely rock as they are.
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: Fabio on February 09, 2009, 03:32:47 PM
Thank you all, guys!

Any possibility of slightly reducing the contrast between streams and rivers to produce a smoother transition?
I could, painting the streams lighter than rivers - yet LESS light than they are now

Suggestion - Add white water/flowing animation (not sure if this is possible for ways nowadays) for the slope bits.
I would put animations for ALL, if it were possible...

it might be possible to add some stuff in turns where is enough empty space. Like reed or such...
I'll look into something like this...
Title: RIVERS 2.0 FOR PAK128 - release
Post by: Fabio on February 12, 2009, 12:10:34 PM
There are 5 types of river: 2 streams and 3 navigable rivers.
I fixed the winter images and the source.
I smoothed the colour difference between streams and rivers and i smoothed the edges of rivers' intersections.
I didn't add reeds or bushes as intended: i wasn't pleased with the outcome.

Here are the sources:
river_2_0_src.zip (http://gonella.eu/public/simutrans/river_2_0_src.zip)

and here the paks to test:
river_2_0_pak.zip (http://gonella.eu/public/simutrans/river_2_0_pak.zip) NEW

Some screenshots:
(http://photos-d.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2268/109/2/570648252/n570648252_1403363_3819.jpg)
(http://photos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2268/109/2/570648252/n570648252_1403364_4115.jpg)
(http://photos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2268/109/2/570648252/n570648252_1403365_4315.jpg)
(http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2268/109/2/570648252/n570648252_1403366_4524.jpg)
(http://photos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2268/109/2/570648252/n570648252_1403367_4740.jpg)
(http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2268/109/2/570648252/n570648252_1403368_4959.jpg)
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: Christiansen on February 12, 2009, 12:14:19 PM
Not Found

The requested URL /public/simutrans/way.river.pak was not found on this server.
Apache/2.2.3 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.2.3 OpenSSL/0.9.8b DAV/2 PHP/5.1.2 Server at gonella.eu Port 80

this write
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: Fabio on February 12, 2009, 12:27:42 PM
Sorry, fixed the link  ::)
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: prissi on February 12, 2009, 03:28:23 PM
Very nice. WHy no completely frozen in winter for the smallest?

(I wish somebody would make nice rivers like those for pak64 ... )
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: wernieman on February 12, 2009, 03:32:26 PM
Could we put it in the official PAK128?
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: vilvoh on February 12, 2009, 03:44:39 PM
IMHO, some of them are too sinuous, with a lot of curves, specially narrow ones (see last three images). However, the frozen ones are simply cool...I'll take a look at the sources to see if I can do some tests for a possible pak64 version. Are they animated?
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: Fabio on February 12, 2009, 04:13:16 PM
Thank you all

WHy no completely frozen in winter for the smallest?
This was my first choice, but they almost disappeared and i was unpleased. But it would be very easy to make them freeze, if requested ;)

IMHO, some of them are too sinuous, with a lot of curves, specially narrow ones
streams are intended to be like this. they are much better when they don't go in a straight line, though...

Are they animated?
no is it possible to make animated ways? How? i would be VERY interested...

I'll take a look at the sources to see if I can do some tests for a possible pak64 version.
Would you like the GIMP source as well? it's multilayer, it could help you...

Could we put it in the official PAK128?
This is what i hope, ihihihihihihih 8)
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: vilvoh on February 12, 2009, 04:40:14 PM
streams are intended to be like this. they are much better when they don't go in a straight line, though...

Well, I'm not telling they must be straight, but less curved. Sometimes look like blue skinny snakes.. :)

no is it possible to make animated ways? How? i would be VERY interested...

(http://www.greensmilies.com/smile/smiley_emoticons_verlegen.gif)...I didn't know they were coded as ways. In that case, I'm afraid it's not possible....yet.

Would you like the GIMP source as well? it's multilayer, it could help you...

As you prefer, could you please upload them in graphics.simutrans.com?
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: zengrath on February 12, 2009, 06:00:45 PM
This is very cool, good job. I just started playing again and downloaded latest nightly and the rivers was first thing i noticed.

Very cool :)
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: sojo on February 12, 2009, 07:02:26 PM
Can you send me the GIMP source for pak96.comic too?
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: Fabio on February 12, 2009, 07:46:15 PM
As you prefer, could you please upload them in graphics.simutrans.com?
Can you send me the GIMP source for pak96.comic too?

Here you have!
River.zip (http://gonella.eu/public/simutrans/River.zip) ~1MB UPDATED

layers select river and select back use simple colours (blue and grey), you can scale them and use whatever texture you like better.
there is also a shadows layer. If you use them, please, credit me.
(I forgot to credit MHz for pak64 rivers, as i used part of its image for the sources, and the author of groundobjects, from where i took the rocks used in rapids).
Enjoy it!

(the link will work when upload is ended...)
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: jamespetts on February 12, 2009, 07:58:15 PM
Looking very impressive!
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: PatrickN on February 12, 2009, 08:00:55 PM
Oh...my...goodness!

I am looking forward to my interest in simutrans returning this summer. :)
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: sojo on February 12, 2009, 08:06:41 PM
Thank you. I will it use as a template. This grafics are wonderfull.

But next time you can make a zip. That will be only 1MB. So you have not so a big upload.
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: Dwachs on February 12, 2009, 08:16:11 PM
good work ! I like these rivers.
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: Frank on February 12, 2009, 08:45:31 PM
...
and here the paks to test:
river_2_0_src.zip (http://gonella.eu/public/simutrans/river_2_0_src.zip)
...

oh, paks for self create  ;)

pleace changed to pak file zip
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: Fabio on February 13, 2009, 06:31:04 AM
But next time you can make a zip. That will be only 1MB. So you have not so a big upload.
pleace changed to pak file zip

Done both, i'm sorry for the inconvenience.

And thank you all for your feedback
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: VS on February 13, 2009, 11:51:24 AM
Ok, they are in next nightly!
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: Mac_#71 on February 15, 2009, 01:32:36 PM
I apologize, but I downloaded the pak for the rivers and I put them in / pak128, I edited simuconf.tab but does not create the rivers!
I have sim-wingdi 102 r2325, help!
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: Fabio on February 15, 2009, 04:42:49 PM
nevermind the download, the latest nighlies have them by default
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: Silver on February 16, 2009, 05:32:34 PM
I do not see any the river and i got the latest update of nightly

Code: [Select]
# now river stuff
# first river type (should be defined in pak dependent file)
# The highest number is the smallest. A river with max_speed==0 is not navigavable by ships.
#river_type[0] = river
#river_type[1] = small_river
#river_type[2] = just_the source

# river number (16 gives a few nicely branched rivers)
#river_number = 16

# min length
#river_min_length = 16

# max length
#river_max_length = 320

Any error in the code?
Why not work?

I try this but not working!
Code: [Select]
# now river stuff
# first river type (should be defined in pak dependent file)
# The highest number is the smallest. A river with max_speed==0 is not navigavable by ships.
river_type[0] = river
river_type[1] = small_river
river_type[2] = just_the source

# river number (16 gives a few nicely branched rivers)
river_number = 16

# min length
river_min_length = 16

# max length
river_max_length = 320
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: VS on February 16, 2009, 07:41:50 PM
"latest" nightly of pak is now 458, same version where is the last change making rivers really work. I downloaded it from the page and used in game. Works nice.

Maybe you are missing also program nightly and using 101.0 ?
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: Silver on February 16, 2009, 09:52:11 PM
I use this program and if the 101.0 but does not work

I do not see the river
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: wernieman on February 16, 2009, 10:02:49 PM
Use a newer version than the 101. See at the nightly-Page
Title: Re: Rivers for pak128
Post by: Silver on February 16, 2009, 11:00:49 PM
o.k.
I download this:

Windows/SDL Version: 102-2325
with the PAK128 Version: 458

O.K.  :award: work!!!!